Skip to content
$5

County radon report

Get it

Locations and reports

Radon Levels in Clearfield County, Pennsylvania

Zone 1Highest predicted potential1,153 square miles · 8 bordering counties

What this means for you

  • Your area: EPA rates Clearfield County Zone 1, the highest of its three radon zones. That is a prediction for the whole county, and homes with elevated levels occur in all three zones.
  • Local tests: Of 394 radon tests reported to CDC for Clearfield County (2020), 47.5% were at or above 4 pCi/L, EPA's action level.
  • Your home: The only way to know your home’s level is to test it.

pCi/L (picocuries per liter) is the unit radon is measured in. EPA recommends fixing a home at 4 pCi/L or above, its action level.

In 2020, 47.5% of the radon tests reported to CDC for Clearfield County, Pennsylvania came back at or above the EPA action level of 4 pCi/L, and the median result was 3.6 pCi/L. EPA's Map of Radon Zones places the county in Zone 1, highest predicted potential. Radon levels vary from home to home, so only a test measures the level in yours.

Predicted: EPA radon zone

EPA Zone 1: highest predicted potential

EPA predicts an average indoor of greater than 4 pCi/L (greater than 150 Bq/m³) across the county as a whole.

This is a county-level geologic prediction. It is not a measurement of any address, and houses with elevated radon are found in all three zones.

USGS geologic potential: Low across 83% of the county's land area

Predicted: EPA Map of Radon Zones

Measured: tests reported to CDC

Radon tests reported for Clearfield County, 2020

Tests reported
394
At or above 4 pCi/L
47.5%
Median result
3.6 pCi/L
Reported results by concentration band, Clearfield County, 2020
Under 2 pCi/L: 29%2 to 4 pCi/L: 23%4 pCi/L and above: 48%

Of 394 pre-mitigation tests reported to CDC, not homes in this area. CDC publishes the share in each band, not a count per band, so the per-band counts in the table are calculated by Radon411 and rounded to add up to the published total.

Reported results by concentration band, Clearfield County, 2020: data table
Result bandTests Calculated by Radon411Share Measured
Under 2 pCi/L11529.2%
2 to 4 pCi/L9223.4%
4 pCi/L and above18747.5%

Distribution of tested buildings, not this house. People testing before a sale, or because they suspect a problem, are over-represented in any reported testing data.

Measured: CDC tracking data. Figure above: 2020. Measured data period: 2005 to 2020 (every CDC figure on file).

Clearfield County, In figures

Clearfield County in figures

What the published data says about Clearfield County, in words. A zone and a share of tests describe an area, never the level in any one home.

    • Predicted

      Predicted

      EPA places Clearfield County in Zone 1, highest predicted potential, as it does 48 other counties of Pennsylvania's 67.

      Of the 8 bordering counties, EPA places Blair County, Cameron County, Centre County, Clinton County and Indiana County in Zone 1 and Cambria County, Elk County and Jefferson County in Zone 2.

  • Reported tests

    Measured

    CDC has annual figures for Clearfield County for 7 years, 2014 to 2020. In 2020, 47.5% of 394 reported tests were at or above 4 pCi/L.

    Across those years the share ranged from 47.5% (2020) to 54.9% (2017). Few tests in a year can move it a long way.

  • Local record

    Pennsylvania's radon program is the Radon Division, run by Department of Environmental Protection; its contacts are under Local resources.

    The county's largest incorporated places are DuBois, Clearfield and Curwensville; the figures here cover them as part of the county.

Clearfield County, Reported testing

Reported testing over time

Measured
Reported radon test results by year, Clearfield County, pCi/LLogarithmic scale: each step up the axis multiplies the level, so the median and the single highest result can share one chart. The darker gridline is EPA's action level, 4 pCi/L.
Median reported resultHighest reported result
Reported radon test results by year, Clearfield County, pCi/L: data table
YearMedian reported resultHighest reported resultShare of tests at or above 4 pCi/L
20143.6 pCi/L131.3 pCi/L48.4%
20154.3 pCi/L318.0 pCi/L53.7%
20164.6 pCi/L216.6 pCi/L54.4%
20174.5 pCi/L104.0 pCi/L54.9%
20184.0 pCi/L134.1 pCi/L50.4%
20194.0 pCi/L141.8 pCi/L50.6%
20203.6 pCi/L224.6 pCi/L47.5%

What these figures count

Every percentage here is a share of radon tests reported to CDC for Clearfield County in 2020. It is not a share of homes in Clearfield County, and it is not a random sample: it counts only the tests people chose to run and that were reported.

The shares and the median are calculated from pre-mitigation tests (394 for 2020). CDC also reports the number of buildings tested (231), a different count, so the two totals are not interchangeable.

Clearfield County, State data

Pennsylvania's own radon test data

Measured

What Pennsylvania's own agencies publish about radon tests in Clearfield County, with their period. These are not CDC's figures and are never added to them.

MeasuredState figures, not CDC's

What Pennsylvania DEP reports for the ZIP codes in Clearfield County

Pennsylvania DEP publishes its figures by ZIP code, not by county. These are the 51 ZIP codes that lie wholly or partly in Clearfield County, each with the state's own figures for it. Period: Period not stated by DEP.

ZIP codes in Clearfield County
ZIP codeWhat the state reports
15721Basement: figures not shown; First floor: figures not shown
15724Basement: average 12.9 pCi/L, 72 tests; First floor: figures not shown
15742Basement: average 19.3 pCi/L, 52 tests; First floor: figures not shown
15753Basement: figures not shown; First floor: figures not shown
15757Basement: average 10.5 pCi/L, 34 tests; First floor: figures not shown
15767Basement: average 13.4 pCi/L, 843 tests; First floor: average 7.6 pCi/L, 111 tests
15801Basement: average 10.9 pCi/L, 4,275 tests; First floor: average 5.6 pCi/L, 270 tests
15824Basement: average 8.4 pCi/L, 318 tests; First floor: average 4.3 pCi/L, 31 tests
15840Basement: average 8.1 pCi/L, 122 tests; First floor: figures not shown
15848Basement: figures not shown; First floor: figures not shown
15849Basement: average 5.1 pCi/L, 30 tests; First floor: figures not shown
15856Basement: average 9.7 pCi/L, 48 tests; First floor: figures not shown
15865Basement: average 9.0 pCi/L, 67 tests; First floor: figures not shown
15866Basement: figures not shown; First floor: figures not shown
16616Basement: figures not shown; First floor: figures not shown
16620Basement: figures not shown
16627Basement: average 9.8 pCi/L, 38 tests; First floor: figures not shown
16639Basement: figures not shown; First floor: figures not shown
16645Basement: figures not shown; First floor: figures not shown
16646Basement: average 13.3 pCi/L, 90 tests; First floor: figures not shown
16651Basement: average 9.2 pCi/L, 152 tests; First floor: figures not shown
16656Basement: figures not shown; First floor: figures not shown
16661Basement: figures not shown; First floor: figures not shown
16666Basement: average 7.1 pCi/L, 106 tests; First floor: figures not shown
16671Basement: figures not shown; First floor: figures not shown
16680Basement: figures not shown
16692Basement: figures not shown; First floor: figures not shown
16821Basement: figures not shown
16825Basement: figures not shown; First floor: figures not shown
16830Basement: average 7.0 pCi/L, 802 tests; First floor: average 6.3 pCi/L, 97 tests
16833Basement: average 12.2 pCi/L, 166 tests; First floor: average 6.8 pCi/L, 44 tests
16834Basement: figures not shown; First floor: figures not shown
16836Basement: figures not shown; First floor: figures not shown
16837Basement: figures not shown
16838Basement: average 11.6 pCi/L, 82 tests; First floor: figures not shown
16839Basement: figures not shown
16840Basement: figures not shown; First floor: figures not shown
16843Basement: figures not shown
16845Basement: figures not shown; First floor: figures not shown
16847Basement: figures not shown; First floor: figures not shown
16849Basement: figures not shown; First floor: figures not shown
16855Basement: figures not shown; First floor: figures not shown
16858Basement: average 9.7 pCi/L, 146 tests; First floor: figures not shown
16860Basement: figures not shown; First floor: figures not shown
16861Basement: figures not shown
16863Basement: figures not shown; First floor: figures not shown
16866Basement: average 9.9 pCi/L, 642 tests; First floor: average 2.6 pCi/L, 109 tests
16876Basement: figures not shown; First floor: figures not shown
16878Basement: average 10.5 pCi/L, 61 tests; First floor: figures not shown
16879Basement: figures not shown; First floor: figures not shown
16881Basement: average 10.8 pCi/L, 51 tests; First floor: figures not shown
  • DEP's report gives the number of tests, the highest result and the average result for each floor tested; it states no period.
  • DEP says the smartest thing to do is to test your home for radon, no matter where you live.
  • A ZIP code that crosses the county line is listed whole; its figures cover all of it.

Measured: Pennsylvania DEP data, Period not stated by DEP.

Clearfield County, Comparison

How Clearfield County compares

Measured

Clearfield County's own published CDC figures beside those of the counties that border it, for the same period.

Share of reported tests at or above 4 pCi/L

Measured

2020, highest first. Each county’s own published CDC figure.

  1. Cameron CountyPA4 tests75.0%
  2. Clinton CountyPA133 tests54.1%
  3. Clearfield CountyThis page394 tests47.5%
  4. Elk CountyPA66 tests47.0%
  5. Cambria CountyPA329 tests44.7%
  6. Indiana CountyPA228 tests44.3%
  7. Blair CountyPA424 tests42.0%
  8. Centre CountyPA670 tests39.3%
  9. Jefferson CountyPA254 tests38.6%

Median reported result

Measured

2020, highest first. Each county’s own published CDC figure.

  1. Cameron CountyPA4 tests4.8 pCi/L
  2. Clinton CountyPA133 tests4.5 pCi/L
  3. Clearfield CountyThis page394 tests3.6 pCi/L
  4. Indiana CountyPA228 tests3.6 pCi/L
  5. Elk CountyPA66 tests3.5 pCi/L
  6. Cambria CountyPA329 tests3.3 pCi/L
  7. Blair CountyPA424 tests3.2 pCi/L
  8. Jefferson CountyPA254 tests2.6 pCi/L
  9. Centre CountyPA670 tests2.3 pCi/L

Each figure is that county’s own published CDC figure for 2020, counting radon tests reported to CDC, not homes. Clearfield County is this page. Nothing is averaged or combined across counties. The test count beside each county is CDC’s published number of pre-mitigation tests behind its figures. Figures from few tests can swing widely from year to year. Every Pennsylvania county’s own figure is in the Pennsylvania county table.

CDC publishes this figure only for counties here, so there is no state or national number to compare Clearfield County, Pennsylvania with.

Clearfield County, Bordering counties

Counties bordering Clearfield County

Calculated by Radon411

Clearfield County, Local resources

Local resources in Pennsylvania

Who to ask in Pennsylvania: the state's radon program, test kits and professionals.

Radon Division

Department of Environmental Protection

Pennsylvania’s radon program answers questions about testing, mitigation and the rules where you live.

Phone
800-237-2366
Licensing of radon professionals
The Radon Certification Act requires DEP to establish by regulation, a certification program for persons conducting radon gas and radon progeny testing, laboratory analysis and mitigation...
Visit the program's page(opens in a new tab)

Test kits

The program says: Through an EPA-funded program, hospitals give parents of newborn children a packet of information which includes a coupon for a free radon test kit from the DEP.

Radon professionals

755 professionals are listed in Pennsylvania.

Professionals in Pennsylvania

Clearfield County, Cities and towns

Cities and towns in Clearfield County

The radon figures on this page are for Clearfield County as a whole. They do not differ by city or town.

  • DuBois
  • Clearfield
  • Curwensville
  • Osceola Mills
  • Falls Creek (part)
  • Chester Hill
  • Houtzdale
  • Irvona
  • Ramey
  • Coalport
  • Brisbin
  • Grampian
  • Westover
  • Wallaceton
  • Mahaffey
  • Troutville
  • Burnside
  • Glen Hope
  • Newburg
  • New Washington

20 incorporated places, as listed in the U.S. Census Bureau’s 2020 place reference files. “(part)” marks a place that extends into another county.

Clearfield County, Questions

Questions about radon in Clearfield County

Common questions8 questions, answered from the figures above

Are radon levels high in Clearfield County?

In 2020, 47.5% of the radon tests reported to CDC for Clearfield County, Pennsylvania were at or above 4 pCi/L, and the median reported pre-mitigation result was 3.6 pCi/L. That is a share of reported tests, not of homes. EPA places Clearfield County in Zone 1, highest predicted potential, a predicted average indoor screening level greater than 4 pCi/L. Homes with elevated levels occur in all three zones, so the figures describe the area, not your house. Testing is the only way to know the radon level in a specific building.

What a radon level meansRadon in Pennsylvania

How do I get a radon test in Clearfield County?

EPA says you can test your home yourself or hire a qualified radon test company, and that either approach takes only a small amount of time and effort. No certified tester listed on Radon411 names Clearfield County as a service area yet. The Pennsylvania radon program is the place to ask about certified testers and any test kit offer it runs.

How to test a homeTest kits comparedFree and low-cost kits by statePennsylvania radon program

Who does radon mitigation in Clearfield County?

No listed mitigator names Clearfield County as a service area yet; the Pennsylvania directory lists 755 companies. EPA recommends having a qualified contractor fix a home with a radon problem, because lowering high radon levels takes technical knowledge and special skills, and some states require the work to be done by a licensed or certified professional. Your state radon program is the place to check whether Pennsylvania requires one.

How radon mitigation worksWhat mitigation costsMitigators in Pennsylvania

What EPA radon zone is Clearfield County in?

EPA places Clearfield County, Pennsylvania in Zone 1, which EPA describes as highest predicted potential for the area. A zone is a prediction for the whole county and never determines whether a particular home should be tested. EPA recommends testing every home regardless of zone.

Should I test my home in Clearfield County?

Yes. Testing is the only way to know the radon level in a specific building. EPA recommends fixing a home when the radon level is 4 pCi/L or higher. EPA recommends considering a fix when the level is between 2 and 4 pCi/L. How to test a home.

When is the best time of year to test?

EPA says short-term tests stay in the home from 2 to 90 days and that all radon tests should run a minimum of 48 hours; long-term tests stay more than 90 days. EPA's guides do not name a best season: they say radon levels tend to vary from day to day and season to season, so a long-term test is more likely than a short-term test to tell you the year-round average.

What does it cost to test?

EPA's Citizen's Guide calls testing easy and inexpensive, and EPA's Home Buyer's and Seller's Guide says passive short-term and long-term devices are generally inexpensive, while active devices may cost more. No national average price is published for this, so Radon411 does not give one. What testing costs.

Which counties border Clearfield County?

Clearfield County borders 8 counties, derived from Census county geometry. Radon potential follows geology rather than county lines, so a bordering county's report can be relevant.

What these figures mean if you own, buy, sell or rent

The reported-test figures on this page describe Clearfield County, Pennsylvania in 2020. They describe tests other people carried out in other buildings, and none of them measures yours.

  • If you own your home

    Test the lowest lived-in level; a short-term kit screens in days, a long-term kit reflects the year.

    How to test a home
  • If you are buying

    Ask for past results and any system's post-mitigation test, and test during the sale.

    Buying a house: radon guide
  • If you are selling

    Testing before you list puts the timing in your hands; disclosure rules differ by state.

    Selling a house: radon guide
  • If you rent, or rent out a home

    A tenant can test; a fix is the owner's to make, and duties differ by state.

    Radon in rental homes

How long a test has to run, under what conditions, and what EPA says a result means: the testing standard, in full.

Clearfield County, Products

Testing and mitigation products

Whatever the figures for Clearfield County show, only a test tells you about one home.

Clearfield County / Next steps

What to do next

Informational. Follow EPA guidance. EPA says all radon tests should be taken for a minimum of 48 hours, with windows and doors closed from 12 hours before a short-term test.