Skip to content

Locations and reports

Radon Levels in Cambria County, Pennsylvania

EPA puts Cambria County in Zone 2, its middle radon zone. Homes with elevated levels occur in all three zones, so only a test measures yours.

Data checked By Radon411Methodology

Predicted
Zone 2Moderate predicted potential
Measured
44.7%of 329 tests reported to CDC (2020) were at or above 4 pCi/L
Your home
Test to knowNo area figure here is a reading of your home.

The data

Cambria County, At a glance

Cambria County at a glance

Predicted: EPA radon zone

EPA Zone 2: moderate predicted potential

This is a county-level geologic prediction. It is not a measurement of any address, and houses with elevated radon are found in all three zones.

What EPA predicts hereScreening level, geology

EPA predicts an average indoor of 2 to 4 pCi/L (75 to 150 Bq/m³) across the county as a whole.

USGS geologic potential: Moderate across 98% of the county's area

Predicted: EPA Map of Radon Zones

Measured: tests reported to CDC

Radon tests reported for Cambria County, 2020

Tests reported
329
At or above 4 pCi/L
44.7%
Median result
3.3 pCi/L
Reported results by concentration band, Cambria County, 2020
Under 2 pCi/L: 32%2 to 4 pCi/L: 23%4 pCi/L and above: 45%

Of 329 pre-mitigation tests reported to CDC, not homes in this area.

Reported results by concentration band, Cambria County, 2020: data table
Result bandTests MeasuredShare Measured
Under 2 pCi/L10531.9%
2 to 4 pCi/L7723.4%
4 pCi/L and above14744.7%

CDC publishes this figure only for counties here, so there is no state or national number to compare Cambria County, Pennsylvania with.

What these figures count

Distribution of radon tests reported to CDC, not this house. People testing before a sale, or because they suspect a problem, are over-represented in any reported testing data.

The figures at the top are for 2020: a percentage there is a share of radon tests reported to CDC for Cambria County in 2020, and a percentage in a view below is a share of the tests reported for the year or period it names. It is not a share of homes in Cambria County, and it is not a random sample: it counts only the tests people chose to run and that were reported.

CDC works out the shares and the median over pre-mitigation tests, counting a test not marked as before or after mitigation as one of them (329 for 2020). The median is the middle result of those tests, not of buildings. CDC also reports the number of buildings tested (235), a different count, so the two totals are not interchangeable.

Cambria County's own published CDC figures beside those of the counties that border it, for the same period.

Each figure is that county’s own published CDC figure for 2020, counting radon tests reported to CDC, not homes. Cambria County is this page. Nothing is averaged or combined across counties. The test count beside each county is CDC’s published number of pre-mitigation tests behind its figures. Figures from few tests can swing widely from year to year. Every Pennsylvania county’s own figure is in the Pennsylvania county table.

Measured: CDC tracking data. Figure above: 2020. Measured data period: 2005 to 2020 (every CDC figure on file).

Cambria County, State data

Pennsylvania's own radon test data

Measured

What Pennsylvania's own agencies publish about radon tests in Cambria County, with their period. These are not CDC's figures and are never added to them.

MeasuredState figures, not CDC's

What Pennsylvania DEP reports for the ZIP codes in Cambria County

Pennsylvania DEP publishes its figures by ZIP code, not by county. These are the 49 ZIP codes that lie wholly or partly in Cambria County, each with the state's own figures for it. Period: Period not stated by DEP.

ZIP codes in Cambria County
ZIP codeWhat the state reports
15714Basement: average 6.2 pCi/L, 237 tests; First floor: figures not shown
15722Basement: average 14.5 pCi/L, 126 tests; First floor: figures not shown
15724Basement: average 12.9 pCi/L, 72 tests; First floor: figures not shown
15737Basement: figures not shown
15738Basement: figures not shown
15760Basement: figures not shown
15762Basement: average 9.4 pCi/L, 80 tests; First floor: figures not shown
15773Basement: figures not shown; First floor: figures not shown
15775Basement: figures not shown
15901Basement: average 4.1 pCi/L, 92 tests; First floor: figures not shown
15902Basement: average 4.7 pCi/L, 532 tests; First floor: figures not shown
15904Basement: average 5.9 pCi/L, 2,235 tests; First floor: average 4.6 pCi/L, 107 tests
15905Basement: average 6.2 pCi/L, 3,225 tests; First floor: average 3.5 pCi/L, 241 tests
15906Basement: average 4.8 pCi/L, 422 tests; First floor: figures not shown
15909Basement: average 7.5 pCi/L, 255 tests; First floor: figures not shown
15921Basement: figures not shown; First floor: figures not shown
15922Basement: figures not shown
15927Basement: figures not shown
15930Basement: figures not shown; First floor: figures not shown
15931Basement: average 8.4 pCi/L, 677 tests; First floor: average 2.5 pCi/L, 39 tests
15934Basement: figures not shown; First floor: figures not shown
15938Basement: average 7.0 pCi/L, 141 tests; First floor: figures not shown
15940Basement: average 7.0 pCi/L, 275 tests; First floor: figures not shown
15942Basement: average 8.1 pCi/L, 119 tests; First floor: figures not shown
15943Basement: average 5.5 pCi/L, 119 tests; First floor: figures not shown
15945Basement: figures not shown; First floor: figures not shown
15946Basement: average 6.9 pCi/L, 226 tests; First floor: average 2.0 pCi/L, 53 tests
15948Basement: figures not shown; First floor: figures not shown
15951Basement: figures not shown
15952Basement: average 8.1 pCi/L, 56 tests; First floor: figures not shown
15955Basement: average 6.6 pCi/L, 74 tests; First floor: figures not shown
15956Basement: average 10.2 pCi/L, 90 tests; First floor: figures not shown
15957Basement: figures not shown; First floor: figures not shown
15958Basement: average 7.8 pCi/L, 84 tests; First floor: figures not shown
15960Basement: figures not shown
15961Basement: average 5.3 pCi/L, 32 tests; First floor: figures not shown
15962Basement: figures not shown
15963Basement: average 7.8 pCi/L, 720 tests; First floor: figures not shown
16613Basement: average 11.4 pCi/L, 83 tests; First floor: figures not shown
16619Basement: figures not shown; First floor: figures not shown
16624Basement: figures not shown; First floor: figures not shown
16627Basement: average 9.8 pCi/L, 38 tests; First floor: figures not shown
16630Basement: average 7.7 pCi/L, 289 tests; First floor: figures not shown
16636Basement: average 15.9 pCi/L, 45 tests; First floor: figures not shown
16639Basement: figures not shown; First floor: figures not shown
16640Basement: average 12.7 pCi/L, 80 tests; First floor: figures not shown
16641Basement: average 6.9 pCi/L, 104 tests; First floor: figures not shown
16646Basement: average 13.3 pCi/L, 90 tests; First floor: figures not shown
16668Basement: average 11.5 pCi/L, 246 tests; First floor: average 9.2 pCi/L, 32 tests
  • DEP's report gives the number of tests, the highest result and the average result for each floor tested; it states no period.
  • DEP says the smartest thing to do is to test your home for radon, no matter where you live.
  • A ZIP code that crosses the county line is listed whole; its figures cover all of it.

Measured: Pennsylvania DEP data, Period not stated by DEP.

Radon Action Brief

National Radon Action MonthPre-sale

Cambria County's radon brief, in one dated file.

  • Your area's radon record, explained.
  • Your plan to test this week.
  • Fix costs and pros near you.

Save 64%Sale price: $8.99Price after the sale: $25Ends Jan 31Then $25

Get the Cambria County BriefSee a free sample

Area data, not a test of the building.

Local help

Cambria County, Local resources

Radon testing and mitigation in Cambria County

Who tests and fixes radon in Cambria County: listed businesses, Pennsylvania's radon program and test kits.

What it means

Cambria County, Questions

Questions about radon in Cambria County

Common questions

8 questions, answered from the figures above

Are radon levels high in Cambria County?

In 2020, 44.7% of the radon tests reported to CDC for Cambria County, Pennsylvania were at or above 4 pCi/L, and the median reported pre-mitigation result was 3.3 pCi/L. That is a share of reported tests, not of homes. EPA places Cambria County in Zone 2, moderate predicted potential, a predicted average indoor screening level 2 to 4 pCi/L. Homes with elevated levels occur in all three zones, so the figures describe the area, not your house. Testing is the only way to know the radon level in a specific building.

Radon levels: what a result meansWhat is radon?Radon levels in Pennsylvania

How do I get a radon test in Cambria County?

EPA says you can test your home yourself or hire a qualified radon test company, and that either approach takes only a small amount of time and effort. No radon testing business listed on Radon411 has an address in Cambria County or names it as a service area yet. The Pennsylvania radon program is the place to ask about certified testers and any test kit offer it runs.

Radon testing: how to test a homeRadon test kits comparedFree and low-cost kits by stateRadon Action Month checklistPennsylvania radon program

Who does radon mitigation in Cambria County?

No listed mitigator names Cambria County as a service area yet; the Pennsylvania directory lists 153 companies. EPA recommends having a qualified contractor fix a home with a radon problem, because lowering high radon levels takes technical knowledge and special skills, and some states require the work to be done by a licensed or certified professional. Your state radon program is the place to check whether Pennsylvania requires one.

Radon mitigation: how it worksRadon mitigation costRadon mitigation systemsMitigators in Pennsylvania

What EPA radon zone is Cambria County in?

EPA places Cambria County, Pennsylvania in Zone 2, which EPA describes as moderate predicted potential for the area. A zone is a prediction for the whole county and never determines whether a particular home should be tested. EPA recommends testing every home regardless of zone.

Should I test my home in Cambria County?

Yes. Testing is the only way to know the radon level in a specific building. EPA recommends fixing a home when the radon level is 4 pCi/L or higher. EPA recommends considering a fix when the level is between 2 and 4 pCi/L. How to test a home.

When is the best time of year to test?

EPA says short-term tests stay in the home from 2 to 90 days and that all radon tests should run a minimum of 48 hours; long-term tests stay more than 90 days. EPA's guides do not name a best season: they say radon levels tend to vary from day to day and season to season, so a long-term test is more likely than a short-term test to tell you the year-round average.

What does it cost to test?

EPA's Citizen's Guide calls testing easy and inexpensive, and EPA's Home Buyer's and Seller's Guide says passive short-term and long-term devices are generally inexpensive, while active devices may cost more. No national average price is published for this, so Radon411 does not give one. What testing costs.

Which counties border Cambria County?

Cambria County borders 6 counties, derived from Census county geometry. Radon potential follows geology rather than county lines, so a bordering county's report can be relevant.

If you own, buy, sell or rent

What these figures mean for each reader, with the guide that covers it

Cambria County in figures

The figures above, said in words

What the published data says about Cambria County, in words. A zone and a share of tests describe an area, never the level in any one home.

    • Predicted

      Predicted

      EPA places Cambria County in Zone 2, moderate predicted potential, as it does 16 other counties of Pennsylvania's 67.

      Of the 6 bordering counties, EPA places Bedford County, Blair County, Clearfield County, Indiana County and Westmoreland County in Zone 1 and Somerset County in Zone 2.

  • Reported tests

    Measured

    CDC has annual figures for Cambria County for 7 years, 2014 to 2020. In 2020, 44.7% of 329 reported tests were at or above 4 pCi/L.

    Across those years the share ranged from 35.8% (2016) to 44.7% (2020). Few tests in a year can move it a long way.

  • Local record

    Pennsylvania's radon program is the Radon Division, run by Department of Environmental Protection; its contacts are under Local resources.

    The county's largest incorporated places are Johnstown, Westmont and Northern Cambria; the figures here cover them as part of the county.

Products

Cambria County, Products

Testing and mitigation products

Whatever the figures for Cambria County show, only a test tells you about one home.

Test kits and monitors42

See all products

As an Amazon Associate, Radon411 earns from qualifying purchases.

Best radon monitors for Cambria County homes, compared

Explore

Cambria County, Bordering counties

Counties bordering Cambria County

Calculated by Radon411
Why bordering counties matter

6 counties share a boundary with Cambria County, computed from Census county geometry. Radon potential follows geology rather than county lines, so a bordering county’s report can be worth reading alongside this one.

Cambria County, Cities and towns

Cities and towns in Cambria County

The radon figures on this page are for Cambria County as a whole. They do not differ by city or town.

  • Johnstown
  • Westmont
  • Northern Cambria
  • Ebensburg
  • Nanty-Glo
  • Portage
  • Geistown
  • Southmont
  • Patton
  • Ferndale
  • Cresson
  • Gallitzin
  • Hastings
  • Loretto
  • East Conemaugh
  • Carrolltown
  • Dale
  • South Fork
  • Lilly
  • Scalp Level
  • Brownstown
  • Sankertown
  • Lorain
  • Summerhill
The other 9 places in Cambria County
  • Vintondale
  • Tunnelhill (part)
  • Daisytown
  • Franklin
  • Ashville
  • Wilmore
  • Ehrenfeld
  • Cassandra
  • Chest Springs

33 incorporated places, as listed in the U.S. Census Bureau’s 2020 place reference files. “(part)” marks a place that extends into another county.

Cambria County, Next steps

What to do next

Informational. Follow EPA guidance. EPA says all radon tests should be taken for a minimum of 48 hours, with windows and doors closed from 12 hours before a short-term test.