Skip to content

Radon products

62 products: 10 test kits, 32 home monitors, 4 professional monitors, 11 radon fans, 1 system indicator and 4 sealing materials

Every radon test kit, home monitor, professional monitor, radon fan, system indicator and sealing material we have checked against what its maker publishes, side by side, with each home monitor's independent test result shown the same way.

62 results

Shop by type

Every figure in one tableEach figure is the maker's own, as its product page or manual states it.

Short-term test kits (8)

Compare side by side
Short-term test kits (8)
ProductHow it measuresTime in the homeLab fee in the priceResult
AccuStar PicoCanCharcoal canister; laboratory analysis by gamma ray spectroscopy48 to 96 hoursIncludedNot stated
Detekt Radon Short Term Test KitCharcoal adsorption; the detector is sealed and mailed to a laboratory for analysis2 to 7 daysIncludedpCi/L, in the laboratory report
empowerDX Standard Radon TestPassive radon sampler, laboratory analysis48 to 96 hoursIncludedNot stated
First Alert RD1Activated charcoal (activated carbon), laboratory analysis2 to 4 daysIncludedpCi/L, in the laboratory report
Kidde 442020Activated charcoal sampler, laboratory analysis3 daysIncludedNot stated
PRO-LAB RA100Liquid scintillation detectors with silica gel desiccant, laboratory analysis48 to 96 hoursSeparatepCi/L
PRO-LAB RA400Liquid scintillation, two detectors side by side, laboratory analysis48 to 96 hoursIncludedpCi/L
RadonAway Air Chek Short-TermDevice hung in the room that absorbs airborne radon; laboratory analysis72 to 168 hoursIncludedpCi/L, in the laboratory report

Long-term test kits (2)

Compare side by side
Long-term test kits (2)
ProductHow it measuresTime in the homeLab fee in the priceResult
PRO-LAB RL116Alpha track detector in a sealed bag; laboratory analysis90 days to 12 monthsSeparateNot stated
PRO-LAB RL416Alpha track detector in a sealed bag; laboratory analysis90 days to 12 monthsIncludedNot stated

Home radon monitors (32)

Compare side by side
Home radon monitors (32)
ProductHow it measuresPowerScreen and appFirst readingC-NRPP 2024/25
AEGTEST HOUND-1011High-precision semiconductor sensor (maker's words); sampling method not stated by the makerBatteryScreen onlyAfter 6 hoursNot included
AEGTEST HOUND-1011SHigh-precision semiconductor sensor (maker's words); sampling method not stated by the makerBatteryScreen onlyAfter 12 hoursNot included
AEGTEST HOUND-1085High-accuracy semiconductor radon sensor with a triple-vent design to accelerate radon diffusion (maker's words)BatteryScreen onlyAfter 6 hoursNot included
AEGTEST HOUND-3699High-precision radon pulse ionization sensor (maker's words); sampling method not stated on AEGTEST's current storeBatteryScreen onlyAfter 1 hourNot included
AEGTEST HOUND-3786High-sensitivity pulsed ionization chamber (maker's words); sampling method not stated by the makerBatteryScreen onlyAfter 10 minutesNot included
Airthereal RM-63ProHigh precision radon semiconductor sensor (Airthereal specification table)BatteryScreen onlyNot statedNot included
Airthereal RM-65Semiconductor radon sensor counting alpha decays, with air vents on three sides for diffusionBatteryScreen onlyAfter 6 hoursNot included
Airthings Corentium HomeAlpha spectrometry, passive diffusion chamberBatteryScreen onlyNot statedApproved
Airthings Corentium Home 2Alpha spectrometry, passive diffusion chamberBatteryScreen and appNot statedNot included
Airthings View PlusAlpha spectrometry, passive diffusion chamberBatteryScreen and appNot statedApproved
Airthings View RadonAlpha spectrometry, passive diffusion chamberBatteryScreen and appNot statedApproved
Airthings Wave PlusAlpha spectrometry, passive diffusion chamberBatteryApp onlyNot statedNot included
Airthings Wave RadonAlpha spectrometry, passive diffusion chamberBatteryApp onlyNot statedNot included
Aranet Radon OneAlpha decay event detection with an ionization chamber, air diffusionBatteryScreen and appAfter 10 minutesNot included
Aranet Radon PlusAlpha decay event detection with an ionization chamber, air diffusionBatteryScreen and appAfter 10 minutesApproved
Ecosense EcoBluPulsed ionization chamberPlug-inScreen onlyAfter 10 minutesNot included
Ecosense EcoQubePulsed ionization chamberPlug-inApp onlyAfter 10 minutesApproved
Ecosense EcoQube FlexPulsed ionization chamberBatteryScreen and appAfter 15 minutesNot included
Ecosense RadonEye RD200Pulsed ionization chamberPlug-inScreen and appAfter 10 minutesApproved
Forensics Detectors FD-65-RADONAlpha-decay event detector with a radon semiconductor sensor; natural diffusion, no pumpBatteryScreen onlyAfter 6 hoursNot included
GQ Electronics RadonProGQ Radon Gas Sensor (GQ's own name); sensor type and sampling method not stated by the maker. The separate Geiger counter counts radiation and is not the radon measurementPlug-inScreen and appAfter 5 minutesNot included
GQ Electronics RadonScanGQ Radon Gas Sensor (GQ's own name); sensor type and sampling method not stated by the makerPlug-inScreen onlyAfter 5 minutesNot included
GQ Electronics RadonScan-PlusGQ Radon Gas Sensor, described by GQ only as high-sensitivity; sensor type and sampling not stated by the makerPlug-inScreen and appAfter 5 minutesNot included
INKBIRD INK-RD3Passive radon diffusion chamber with an alpha spectrometer sensorBatteryScreen onlyAfter 24 hoursNot included
Kidde Radon Detector (RAB)Semiconductor radon sensor, passive diffusion through side ventsBatteryScreen onlyAfter 12 hoursNot included
PYZYCKYH RD17Semiconductor radon sensing (the maker: "advanced semiconductor sensing"), with temperature and humidityBatteryScreen onlyAfter 6 hoursNot included
SafetySiren Pro4Diffused-junction photodiode sensor (250 V DC); samples the air passing through its ventilation slotsPlug-inScreen onlyAfter 48 hoursNot included
SunRADON lüftSolid-state radon sensor (absolute reading); sampling method not stated by the makerPlug-inApp onlyAfter 90 minutesApproved
TurinSen Hello Radon CPassive radon diffusion chamber with an alpha spectrometry sensorBatteryScreen onlyAfter 24 hoursNot included
X-Sense XR0A-iRContinuous alpha spectrometry, passive diffusion chamberBatteryScreen and appAfter 24 hoursNot included
X-Sense XR0A-SRContinuous alpha spectrometry, passive diffusion chamberBatteryScreen onlyAfter 24 hoursNot included
X-Sense XR0B-SRContinuous alpha spectrometry, passive diffusion chamberBatteryScreen onlyAfter 24 hoursNot included

Professional monitors (4)

Compare side by side
Professional monitors (4)
ProductHow it measuresPowerScreen and appFirst readingC-NRPP 2024/25
Airthings Corentium ProAlpha spectrometry, passive diffusion, 4 silicon photodiodes in 4 radon chambersBatteryNeitherNot statedNot evaluated (professional device)
Ecosense EcoTrackerPulsed ion chamber in each of four monitors, 30 cph/pCi/LPlug-inScreen and appAfter 5 minutesNot evaluated (professional device)
Ecosense RadonEye ProPulsed ionization chamberPlug-inScreen and appAfter 1 hourNot evaluated (professional device)
SunRADON XPSolid state photodiode detector, passive airflow diffusion, 1 detectorBatteryScreen and appNot statedNot evaluated (professional device)

Radon fans (11)

Compare side by side
Radon fans (11)
ProductMax static pressureMax airflowMax powerPipe sizeSpeed control
AprilAire ARN25KNot stated375 CFM139 W6 in. fan duct diameter (6.0 in. O.D. inlet and outlet); the kit's coupling is a 6x4; the manual lists 3 or 4 in. schedule 20/40 PVC for pipe mountingNot stated
Dcfairfan radon fan kitNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot stated
Fantech Rn22.0 in w.c.174 CFM59 W3 or 4 in. schedule 40 PVC, with Fantech LDVI couplings (sold separately)None
Festa AMG Maverick2.21 in w.c.260 CFM66 W4 in. Fernco coupler size (catalog; product page: fits 4 in. Fernco couplers); Festa's installation kit couplers fit the fan to 3 in. or 4 in. PVC pipeNot stated
MIDCVFRUN radon fanNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot stated
MIDCVFRUN radon fan kitNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot stated
RadonAway GP501cNot statedNot stated146 W3 in. fan duct diameter (performance table); 3.5 in. OD inlet and outlet (IN096) and 3.5 in. duct diameter (catalog dimensions); recommended duct 3 or 4 in. Schedule 20/40 PVCNot stated
RadonAway RP140cNot stated138 CFM21 W4 in. fan duct; 4.5 in. OD inlet and outlet, 4.0 in. PVC Schedule 40 size compatible; recommended duct 3 or 4 in. Schedule 20/40 PVCNone
RadonAway RP145cNot stated168 CFM72 W4 in. fan duct diameter (performance table); 4.5 in. duct diameter in the catalog's dimensions table; joined to the system pipe with flexible couplingsNot stated
RadonAway XP201cNot stated112 CFM66 W4 in. fan duct; 4.5 in. OD inlet and outlet, 4.0 in. PVC Schedule 40 size compatible; recommended ducting 3 or 4 in. Schedule 20/40 PVCNone
Tjernlund RMS1602.3 in w.c.160 CFM50 W3 in. schedule 40 PVC; fan inlet, outlet and hood connect directly, no rubber couplers; 4 in. hole through the rim joist for the hoodNone

System indicators (1)

System indicators (1)
ProductTypeMade ofPackageWarranty
AprilAire ARN05MSystem indicator, U-tube manometer for a radon system's vent pipePassive U-tube manometer: liquid levels in the tube show whether the fan is pulling a vacuumA system label is provided with it; tubing, fasteners and fluid not statedNot stated

Sealing materials (4)

Compare side by side
Sealing materials (4)
ProductTypeMade ofPackageWarranty
Jackel SMR16101-CVSealing material, radon sump cover (sealed dome over an existing sump pit)Not statedNot statedJackel's warranty page: structural foam basins and lids are warranted to the original consumer purchaser for as long as the original consumer owns their home; all other Jackel products one year; limited to repair or replacement, labor excluded. The page does not name the SMR16101-CV, whose cover and riser are HDPE structural foam.
RadonSeal DIY Foundation Crack Repair Kit, UrethaneSealing material, polyurethane foam crack injection kit for poured concrete wallsPolyurethane injection foam: two-component, expanding and low-viscosity10 ft kit: 2 polyurethane foam injection cartridges, 15 injection ports with caps, a surface seal jar set (Part A and Part B) and the tools to apply themFree from defects in materials and workmanship; limited to repair or replacement of the defective product; uses outside the instructions not covered
RadonSeal Plus Concrete SealerSealing material, deep-penetrating concrete sealer for basement walls and floorsPenetrating concrete sealer: water-based and zero-VOC; penetrates up to 4 in. into concrete and reacts inside it; not a surface coating2.5 gal or 5 gal (UPC 856255006034 for 2.5 gal, 0856255006027 for 5 gal)Lifetime Money-Back Guarantee: if it does not perform as described when applied according to instructions, contact RadonSeal's technical support
Titebond Radon Sealant (3251)Sealing material, acrylic sealant for foundation cracks, joints and pipe penetrationsElastomeric acrylic, non-chemically curing; concrete gray; 80% solids, calculated VOC under 1.5%10.1 oz. cartridge, concrete gray; 12 units per package (part number 3251)50 Year Limited Warranty: if not satisfied when used as directed, return the container and proof of purchase for replacement; liability limited to product replacement

About the list

Guides, numbers and questions

Guides and comparisons by kind of product

The list in three numbers

62 products
10 test kits, 32 home monitors, 4 professional monitors, 11 radon fans, 1 system indicator and 4 sealing materials, each checked against what its maker publishes.
7 of 32
Home monitors here approved in C-NRPP's 2024/25 evaluation. The rest were not included.
14 devices
Not approved or recalled, and kept off every product list.

How we cover products: the same facts for every product

We do not test products ourselves. What we show is the same for every product, and where a comparison names a pick, it names one for each use.

  • Each monitor's C-NRPP status in the same words
  • Maker's figures labeled as the maker's
  • No ratings, reviews or star scores

Read how we cover products

What does "Not included" mean for a monitor?

That C-NRPP published no 2024/25 result for that model, usually because its maker did not enter it. It is a fact about which devices took part, not a failed test.

Why are there no ratings or reviews?

We have not tested these products ourselves, and we do not copy retailers' star ratings or review text. Independent evidence is shown where it exists, and makers' claims are labeled as theirs.

Where are radon fans and system parts?

11 radon fans are listed so far: the AprilAire ARN25K, the Dcfairfan radon fan kit, the Fantech Rn2, the Festa AMG Maverick, the MIDCVFRUN radon fan, the MIDCVFRUN radon fan kit, the RadonAway GP501c, the RadonAway RP140c, the RadonAway RP145c, the RadonAway XP201c, the Tjernlund RMS160. Other fans and system parts join the list once their model details are checked against the maker's own published page. The radon fan guide explains how fans work, how they are sized and when one needs replacing.

Why is a monitor I own missing?

Either it has not been checked yet, or it is on the recalled and not-approved list, which is kept off every product list. Check the model number against that list before relying on a reading.