
MonitorAEGTEST
HOUND-1011 rechargeable radon detector with a screen
- C-NRPP 2024/25: Not included
- Battery
- Alarm
- Screen
Method: Semiconductor sensor
First reading: Within 6 hours
Locations and reports
EPA puts Delaware County in Zone 1, its highest radon zone. Homes with elevated levels occur in all three zones, so only a test measures yours.
Data checked By Radon411Methodology
The data
Delaware County, At a glance
Predicted: EPA radon zone
This is a county-level geologic prediction. It is not a measurement of any address, and houses with elevated radon are found in all three zones.
EPA predicts an average indoor
USGS geologic potential: High across 77% of the county's area
Predicted: EPA Map of Radon Zones
Measured: tests reported to CDC
Of 6,041 pre-mitigation tests reported to CDC, not homes in this area.
| Result band | Tests Measured | Share Measured |
|---|---|---|
| Under 2 pCi/L | 3,222 | 53.3% |
| 2 to 4 pCi/L | 1,930 | 31.9% |
| 4 pCi/L and above | 889 | 14.7% |
CDC publishes this figure only for counties here, so there is no state or national number to compare Delaware County, Pennsylvania with.
Distribution of radon tests reported to CDC, not this house. People testing before a sale, or because they suspect a problem, are over-represented in any reported testing data.
The figures at the top are for 2020: a percentage there is a share of radon tests reported to CDC for Delaware County in 2020, and a percentage in a view below is a share of the tests reported for the year or period it names. It is not a share of homes in Delaware County, and it is not a random sample: it counts only the tests people chose to run and that were reported.
CDC works out the shares and the median over pre-mitigation tests, counting a test not marked as before or after mitigation as one of them (6,041 for 2020). The median is the middle result of those tests, not of buildings. CDC also reports the number of buildings tested (3,894), a different count, so the two totals are not interchangeable.
Delaware County's own published CDC figures beside those of the counties that border it, for the same period.
Each figure is that county’s own published CDC figure for 2020, counting radon tests reported to CDC, not homes. Delaware County is this page. Nothing is averaged or combined across counties. The test count beside each county is CDC’s published number of pre-mitigation tests behind its figures. Figures from few tests can swing widely from year to year. No published CDC figure for 2020: New Castle County, DE. Every Pennsylvania county’s own figure is in the Pennsylvania county table.
Measured: CDC tracking data. Figure above: 2020. Measured data period: 2005 to 2020 (every CDC figure on file).
Delaware County, State data
What Pennsylvania's own agencies publish about radon tests in Delaware County, with their period. These are not CDC's figures and are never added to them.
Pennsylvania DEP publishes its figures by ZIP code, not by county. These are the 45 ZIP codes that lie wholly or partly in Delaware County, each with the state's own figures for it. Period: Period not stated by DEP.
| ZIP code | What the state reports |
|---|---|
| 19003 | Basement: average 2.5 pCi/L, 3,078 tests; First floor: average 1.3 pCi/L, 723 tests |
| 19008 | Basement: average 3.4 pCi/L, 3,658 tests; First floor: average 2.0 pCi/L, 714 tests |
| 19010 | Basement: average 3.2 pCi/L, 4,858 tests; First floor: average 1.7 pCi/L, 1,151 tests |
| 19013 | Basement: average 1.8 pCi/L, 814 tests; First floor: average 0.9 pCi/L, 165 tests |
| 19014 | Basement: average 2.3 pCi/L, 2,998 tests; First floor: average 1.2 pCi/L, 383 tests |
| 19015 | Basement: average 1.6 pCi/L, 1,460 tests; First floor: average 1.0 pCi/L, 233 tests |
| 19017 | Basement: average 2.4 pCi/L, 57 tests; First floor: figures not shown |
| 19018 | Basement: average 2.3 pCi/L, 2,340 tests; First floor: average 1.3 pCi/L, 418 tests |
| 19022 | Basement: average 1.3 pCi/L, 160 tests; First floor: figures not shown |
| 19023 | Basement: average 1.5 pCi/L, 967 tests; First floor: average 1.0 pCi/L, 197 tests |
| 19026 | Basement: average 2.7 pCi/L, 5,518 tests; First floor: average 1.7 pCi/L, 1,002 tests |
| 19029 | Basement: average 1.4 pCi/L, 171 tests; First floor: average 0.9 pCi/L, 34 tests |
| 19032 | Basement: average 1.2 pCi/L, 646 tests; First floor: average 1.0 pCi/L, 49 tests |
| 19033 | Basement: average 2.1 pCi/L, 799 tests; First floor: average 1.1 pCi/L, 113 tests |
| 19036 | Basement: average 1.6 pCi/L, 1,200 tests; First floor: average 1.2 pCi/L, 168 tests |
| 19041 | Basement: average 3.9 pCi/L, 1,595 tests; First floor: average 1.9 pCi/L, 348 tests |
| 19043 | Basement: average 1.4 pCi/L, 212 tests; First floor: average 1.0 pCi/L, 48 tests |
| 19050 | Basement: average 2.8 pCi/L, 3,542 tests; First floor: average 1.5 pCi/L, 835 tests |
| 19052 | Basement: figures not shown; First floor: figures not shown |
| 19060 | Basement: average 2.6 pCi/L, 871 tests; First floor: figures not shown |
| 19061 | Basement: average 2.5 pCi/L, 2,384 tests; First floor: average 1.4 pCi/L, 375 tests |
| 19063 | Basement: average 4.1 pCi/L, 8,556 tests; First floor: average 2.5 pCi/L, 1,260 tests |
| 19064 | Basement: average 3.7 pCi/L, 5,237 tests; First floor: average 2.1 pCi/L, 821 tests |
| 19070 | Basement: average 2.9 pCi/L, 839 tests; First floor: average 2.2 pCi/L, 115 tests |
| 19073 | Basement: average 3.0 pCi/L, 4,853 tests; First floor: average 1.8 pCi/L, 871 tests |
| 19074 | Basement: average 1.8 pCi/L, 438 tests; First floor: average 1.2 pCi/L, 83 tests |
| 19076 | Basement: average 2.0 pCi/L, 479 tests; First floor: average 0.9 pCi/L, 94 tests |
| 19078 | Basement: average 2.1 pCi/L, 1,205 tests; First floor: average 1.1 pCi/L, 184 tests |
| 19079 | Basement: average 1.9 pCi/L, 607 tests; First floor: average 0.9 pCi/L, 82 tests |
| 19081 | Basement: average 2.7 pCi/L, 1,739 tests; First floor: average 1.5 pCi/L, 306 tests |
| 19082 | Basement: average 2.3 pCi/L, 2,841 tests; First floor: average 1.1 pCi/L, 694 tests |
| 19083 | Basement: average 3.0 pCi/L, 8,162 tests; First floor: average 1.8 pCi/L, 1,294 tests |
| 19085 | Basement: average 2.4 pCi/L, 1,955 tests; First floor: average 1.4 pCi/L, 464 tests |
| 19086 | Basement: average 2.9 pCi/L, 2,853 tests; First floor: average 1.7 pCi/L, 514 tests |
| 19087 | Basement: average 5.7 pCi/L, 12,385 tests; First floor: average 3.6 pCi/L, 2,801 tests |
| 19094 | Basement: average 2.1 pCi/L, 416 tests; First floor: average 1.1 pCi/L, 52 tests |
| 19096 | Basement: average 3.1 pCi/L, 4,474 tests; First floor: average 1.9 pCi/L, 960 tests |
| 19113 | Basement: figures not shown |
| 19153 | Basement: average 0.9 pCi/L, 259 tests; First floor: average 0.6 pCi/L, 62 tests |
| 19312 | Basement: average 6.2 pCi/L, 5,455 tests; First floor: average 4.0 pCi/L, 1,193 tests |
| 19317 | Basement: average 2.5 pCi/L, 2,878 tests; First floor: average 1.5 pCi/L, 421 tests |
| 19319 | Basement: average 3.8 pCi/L, 50 tests; First floor: figures not shown |
| 19342 | Basement: average 2.7 pCi/L, 3,277 tests; First floor: average 1.6 pCi/L, 509 tests |
| 19373 | Basement: average 3.4 pCi/L, 632 tests; First floor: average 1.8 pCi/L, 109 tests |
| 19382 | Basement: average 3.0 pCi/L, 13,001 tests; First floor: average 1.8 pCi/L, 2,090 tests |
Measured: Pennsylvania DEP data, Period not stated by DEP.
Radon Action Brief
National Radon Action MonthPre-sale
Save 64%Sale price: $8.99Price after the sale: $25Ends Jan 31Then $25Sale ends January 31, then $25
Local help
Delaware County, Local resources
Who tests and fixes radon in Delaware County: listed businesses, Pennsylvania's radon program and test kits.
Listed radon businesses with an address in Delaware County:
Through an EPA-funded program, hospitals give parents of newborn children a packet of information which includes a coupon for a free radon test kit from the DEP.
Listed radon professionals by town: Brookhaven, Glenolden, Media
The Radon Certification Act requires DEP to establish by regulation, a certification program for persons conducting radon gas and radon progeny testing, laboratory analysis and mitigation...
What it means
Delaware County, Questions
No listed mitigator names Delaware County as a service area yet; the Pennsylvania directory lists 153 companies. EPA recommends having a qualified contractor fix a home with a radon problem, because lowering high radon levels takes technical knowledge and special skills, and some states require the work to be done by a licensed or certified professional. Your state radon program is the place to check whether Pennsylvania requires one.
Radon mitigation: how it worksRadon mitigation costRadon mitigation systemsMitigators in Pennsylvania
EPA says you can test your home yourself or hire a qualified radon test company, and that either approach takes only a small amount of time and effort. No radon testing business listed on Radon411 has an address in Delaware County or names it as a service area yet. The Pennsylvania radon program is the place to ask about certified testers and any test kit offer it runs.
Radon testing: how to test a homeRadon test kits comparedFree and low-cost kits by stateRadon Action Month checklistPennsylvania radon program
In 2020, 14.7% of the radon tests reported to CDC for Delaware County, Pennsylvania were at or above 4 pCi/L, and the median reported pre-mitigation result was 1.8 pCi/L. That is a share of reported tests, not of homes. EPA places Delaware County in Zone 1, highest predicted potential, a predicted average indoor screening level greater than 4 pCi/L. Homes with elevated levels occur in all three zones, so the figures describe the area, not your house. Testing is the only way to know the radon level in a specific building.
Radon levels: what a result meansWhat is radon?Radon levels in Pennsylvania
EPA places Delaware County, Pennsylvania in Zone 1, which EPA describes as highest predicted potential for the area. A zone is a prediction for the whole county and never determines whether a particular home should be tested. EPA recommends testing every home regardless of zone.
Yes. Testing is the only way to know the radon level in a specific building. EPA recommends fixing a home when the radon level is 4 pCi/L or higher. EPA recommends considering a fix when the level is between 2 and 4 pCi/L. How to test a home.
EPA says short-term tests stay in the home from 2 to 90 days and that all radon tests should run a minimum of 48 hours; long-term tests stay more than 90 days. EPA's guides do not name a best season: they say radon levels tend to vary from day to day and season to season, so a long-term test is more likely than a short-term test to tell you the year-round average.
EPA's Citizen's Guide calls testing easy and inexpensive, and EPA's Home Buyer's and Seller's Guide says passive short-term and long-term devices are generally inexpensive, while active devices may cost more. No national average price is published for this, so Radon411 does not give one. What testing costs.
Delaware County borders 5 counties, derived from Census county geometry. Radon potential follows geology rather than county lines, so a bordering county's report can be relevant.
The reported-test figures on this page describe Delaware County, Pennsylvania in 2020. They describe tests other people carried out in other buildings, and none of them measures yours.
What the published data says about Delaware County, in words. A zone and a share of tests describe an area, never the level in any one home.
EPA places Delaware County in Zone 1, highest predicted potential, as it does 48 other counties of Pennsylvania's 67.
Of the 5 bordering counties, EPA places Chester County and Montgomery County in Zone 1, Gloucester County, NJ and New Castle County, DE in Zone 2 and Philadelphia County in Zone 3.
CDC has annual figures for Delaware County for 7 years, 2014 to 2020. In 2020, 14.7% of 6,041 reported tests were at or above 4 pCi/L.
Across those years the share ranged from 14.7% (2020) to 20.7% (2015). Few tests in a year can move it a long way.
Pennsylvania's radon program is the Radon Division, run by Department of Environmental Protection; its contacts are under Local resources.
The county's largest incorporated places are Chester, Yeadon and Lansdowne; the figures here cover them as part of the county.
Products
Delaware County, Products
Whatever the figures for Delaware County show, only a test tells you about one home.
Test kits and monitors: 1 of 42
As an Amazon Associate, Radon411 earns from qualifying purchases.
Delaware County is in EPA Zone 1, the highest predicted radon potential. Best radon monitors for Zone 1 counties like Delaware County
Testing: 1 of 5
Mitigation: 1 of 3
Explore
Delaware County, Bordering counties
counties bordering Delaware County: 1 of 5
5 counties share a boundary with Delaware County, computed from Census county geometry. Radon potential follows geology rather than county lines, so a bordering county’s report can be worth reading alongside this one.
Delaware County, Cities and towns
The radon figures on this page are for Delaware County as a whole. They do not differ by city or town.
28 incorporated places, as listed in the U.S. Census Bureau’s 2020 place reference files.
Delaware County, Next steps
What to do next: 1 of 4
Informational. Follow EPA guidance. EPA says all radon tests should be taken for a minimum of 48 hours, with windows and doors closed from 12 hours before a short-term test.