Disclosure: No link on this page earns Radon411 anything today. If we add affiliate links later, this line will say so above the first one. Coverage, order and wording never depend on them. How we handle affiliate links.
At a glance
- Type
- Continuous monitor, battery, Bluetooth, alpha spectrometry
- How it measures
- Alpha spectrometry, passive diffusion chamber
- First reading
- Not stated by the manufacturer
- Reading updates
- Not stated by the manufacturer
- Display and app
- No display, phone app, Bluetooth
- Power
- Battery: 2 AA batteries, included
- Units
- Colour glow on the device; thresholds published in pCi/L and Bq/m³
- Price
- Not shown. We print a price only from Amazon's live product data, with the time it was checked, and that feed is not connected yet.
What it is and how it works
The Wave Radon samples radon through a passive diffusion chamber and measures it by alpha spectrometry, the same approach it uses in its other radon monitors, and says it uses the same Airthings radon sensor technology recommended by radon professionals. It measures radon, humidity and temperature.
There is no screen. A motion sensor responds when you wave over the monitor with a color: green, yellow or red. Airthings' radon thresholds for those colors are below 2.7 pCi/L, from 2.7 to under 4 pCi/L, and 4 pCi/L and above. The EPA's own reference points are a fix at 4 pCi/L and considering a fix between 2 and 4 pCi/L, so a green glow does not by itself mean the EPA's lower range has been cleared.
Numbers, graphs and alerts live in the free Airthings app, which reads the monitor over Bluetooth while you are nearby. For access from anywhere, Airthings says to link the Wave to a Wi-Fi connected View series monitor acting as a hub. Notifications come in the app and by email.
Airthings publishes a measurement range of 0 to 500 pCi/L, or 0 to 20,000 Bq/m³, and an operating environment of 39 to 104°F with relative humidity under 85%. It runs on two AA batteries, which Airthings expects to last about a year and a half.
Airthings frames the Wave Radon as both a first check and a long-term monitor: start monitoring to learn whether your home has a problem, then keep monitoring. That matches the guidance to run any consumer monitor for at least three months and decide from the long-term average, and the EPA's point that radon levels tend to vary from day to day and season to season, so a few days of readings are a starting point rather than an answer.
Independent evidence
Independent evidence
- C-NRPP 2024/25
- Not included in C-NRPP's 2024/25 evaluation
The Canadian National Radon Proficiency Program's 2024/25 comparison of consumer monitors did not include Airthings Wave Radon. That is a fact about which devices took part, not a finding about this one: no result from that program exists for it either way.
- Recalls
- No Health Canada recall or advisory names this device.
- Peer-reviewed studies
- We found no peer-reviewed comparison that names this model.
C-NRPP is the Canadian National Radon Proficiency Program. Its 2024/25 results were published in May 2025.
How C-NRPP says to use any consumer monitor
- Leave it in place for at least three months, ideally through the heating season, when indoor radon tends to be highest.
- Put it in a room someone uses for at least four hours a day.
- Decide about fixing your home from the long-term average, not a single day or week.
- If you can only run a monitor for less than 91 days, follow up with a long-term test.
What the manufacturer says
- Airthings states accuracy under 10% at 5 pCi/L (200 Bq/m³) after 7 days, and under 5% after 2 months.
- Airthings states battery life of about 1.5 years on two AA batteries.
- Airthings says the Wave Radon uses the same radon sensor technology trusted and recommended by radon professionals.
These are Airthings's own statements, attributed to it. They are not our findings, and we have not tested this product ourselves.
Who it fits
Good fit if
- You want a battery monitor you can mount on a wall in a basement or on a ground floor.
- You are happy to read numbers and graphs in a phone app.
- You already own an Airthings View monitor that can act as its hub.
- You want humidity and temperature alongside radon.
Look elsewhere if
- You want to read numbers on the device; it has a color glow and no screen.
- You want to buy from the maker; Airthings no longer sells it on airthings.com.
- You want a monitor that took part in C-NRPP's 2024/25 evaluation.
- You need a result for a home sale; check what your state accepts before relying on any consumer monitor.
Setup and placement
Airthings describes the Wave Radon as a natural fit for a basement or ground floor, where radon levels are usually highest, and includes a mounting screw for a wall. Pair it with the Airthings app over Bluetooth to see readings.
The EPA's guidance for any home test: the lowest lived-in level, a room used regularly but not the kitchen or bathroom, at least 20 inches above the floor, and away from drafts, high heat, high humidity and exterior walls. C-NRPP adds a room used at least four hours a day, and at least three months of monitoring, ideally through the heating season.
Decide from the long-term average in the app, not the color of a single wave. For any consumer monitor, the guidance is to consider the long-term average when deciding whether to mitigate, and to read the maker's guide for how that average is calculated.
Mind the conditions the sensor is rated for: Airthings gives an operating environment of 39 to 104°F with relative humidity under 85%. Check the room against that range before mounting the monitor there for months.
For where any radon test or monitor should sit in a home, see where to place a radon test.
What is in the box, and what it costs to run
The box holds the radon detector, two AA alkaline batteries (LR06), an instruction manual and a mounting screw, so it can go on a wall straight from the box. The monitor weighs 7.7 ounces (219 g) with batteries and measures 4.7 by 1.4 inches.
No lab fee and a free app. The running cost is two AA batteries about every year and a half, by Airthings' estimate, and they come in the box, so the first set is covered. Remote access needs a Wi-Fi connected Airthings View monitor as a hub, which is a second device rather than a subscription.
Compared with similar products
This product first, then its neighbors A to Z. Order is not a recommendation.
Airthings Wave Radon (this page)
- Type
- Continuous monitor
- How it measures
- Alpha spectrometry, passive diffusion chamber
- Power
- Battery
- C-NRPP 2024/25
- Not included
- Type
- Continuous monitor
- How it measures
- Alpha spectrometry, passive diffusion chamber
- Power
- Battery
- C-NRPP 2024/25
- Not included
Same sensor approach on two AA batteries, but with an LCD screen of 24-hour to long-term averages; also not part of C-NRPP's 2024/25 evaluation.
- Type
- Continuous monitor
- How it measures
- Alpha spectrometry, passive diffusion chamber
- Power
- Battery
- C-NRPP 2024/25
- Approved
Airthings' current Wi-Fi model with an e-paper screen, six AA batteries or USB power, and hub features; C-NRPP's approved "Airthings View" listing links to it.
| Product | Type | How it measures | Power | C-NRPP 2024/25 | The difference that matters |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Airthings Wave Radon (this page) | Continuous monitor | Alpha spectrometry, passive diffusion chamber | Battery | Not included | The product this page covers. |
| Airthings Corentium Home 2 | Continuous monitor | Alpha spectrometry, passive diffusion chamber | Battery | Not included | Same sensor approach on two AA batteries, but with an LCD screen of 24-hour to long-term averages; also not part of C-NRPP's 2024/25 evaluation. |
| Airthings View Radon | Continuous monitor | Alpha spectrometry, passive diffusion chamber | Battery | Approved | Airthings' current Wi-Fi model with an e-paper screen, six AA batteries or USB power, and hub features; C-NRPP's approved "Airthings View" listing links to it. |
Every continuous monitor we cover is listed on continuous monitors.
Questions people ask
Is the Wave Radon still sold?
Airthings says the Wave Radon is no longer available on airthings.com but can be found on Amazon and at selected retailers, and points buyers to the View Radon as the upgrade.
Was the Wave Radon tested by C-NRPP?
It was not included in C-NRPP's 2024/25 consumer monitor evaluation, and its 2023 report does not list it either; the 2023 report listed the Airthings Wave Plus. No C-NRPP result exists for the Wave Radon either way. The 2024 field comparison published in Sensors tested the Wave Plus, not the Wave Radon.
Does the Wave Radon have a display?
No. You wave over it for a green, yellow or red glow; readings, graphs and notifications are in the Airthings app.
Can I check it away from home?
Only through a hub. Airthings says remote access comes from linking the Wave to a Wi-Fi connected View series monitor acting as a hub; on its own it connects by Bluetooth for in-home access.
What do the green, yellow and red colors mean?
Airthings sets green below 2.7 pCi/L, yellow from 2.7 to under 4 pCi/L, and red at 4 pCi/L and above (below 100, 100 to under 150, and 150 Bq/m³ and above). The color reflects recent readings. For a decision, the EPA's levels apply to a longer-term result: fix at 4 pCi/L, and consider fixing between 2 and 4 pCi/L.
How long do the batteries last?
Airthings estimates about 1.5 years on the two AA batteries included in the box.
What to do next
- See every continuous monitor we coverListed by type, then A to Z, each with the same fields and its evidence.Go
- Place it where it countsThe lowest lived-in level, away from drafts, at least 20 inches up.Go
- Read your resultWhat a number in pCi/L means and what the EPA says to do next.Go
- Testing for a home sale?Find radon measurement professionals in our directory.Go