
MonitorAEGTEST
HOUND-1011 rechargeable radon detector with a screen
- C-NRPP 2024/25: Not included
- Battery
- Alarm
- Screen
Method: Semiconductor sensor
First reading: Within 6 hours
Locations and reports
EPA puts Montgomery County in Zone 1, its highest radon zone. Homes with elevated levels occur in all three zones, so only a test measures yours.
Data checked By Radon411Methodology
The data
Montgomery County, At a glance
Predicted: EPA radon zone
This is a county-level geologic prediction. It is not a measurement of any address, and houses with elevated radon are found in all three zones.
EPA predicts an average indoor
USGS geologic potential: High across 100% of the county's area
Predicted: EPA Map of Radon Zones
Measured: tests reported to CDC
Of 10,508 pre-mitigation tests reported to CDC, not homes in this area.
| Result band | Tests Measured | Share Measured |
|---|---|---|
| Under 2 pCi/L | 5,113 | 48.7% |
| 2 to 4 pCi/L | 3,103 | 29.5% |
| 4 pCi/L and above | 2,292 | 21.8% |
CDC publishes this figure only for counties here, so there is no state or national number to compare Montgomery County, Pennsylvania with.
Distribution of radon tests reported to CDC, not this house. People testing before a sale, or because they suspect a problem, are over-represented in any reported testing data.
The figures at the top are for 2020: a percentage there is a share of radon tests reported to CDC for Montgomery County in 2020, and a percentage in a view below is a share of the tests reported for the year or period it names. It is not a share of homes in Montgomery County, and it is not a random sample: it counts only the tests people chose to run and that were reported.
CDC works out the shares and the median over pre-mitigation tests, counting a test not marked as before or after mitigation as one of them (10,508 for 2020). The median is the middle result of those tests, not of buildings. CDC also reports the number of buildings tested (6,972), a different count, so the two totals are not interchangeable.
Montgomery County's own published CDC figures beside those of the counties that border it, for the same period.
Each figure is that county’s own published CDC figure for 2020, counting radon tests reported to CDC, not homes. Montgomery County is this page. Nothing is averaged or combined across counties. The test count beside each county is CDC’s published number of pre-mitigation tests behind its figures. Figures from few tests can swing widely from year to year. Every Pennsylvania county’s own figure is in the Pennsylvania county table.
Measured: CDC tracking data. Figure above: 2020. Measured data period: 2005 to 2020 (every CDC figure on file).
Montgomery County, State data
What Pennsylvania's own agencies publish about radon tests in Montgomery County, with their period. These are not CDC's figures and are never added to them.
Pennsylvania DEP publishes its figures by ZIP code, not by county. These are the 71 ZIP codes that lie wholly or partly in Montgomery County, each with the state's own figures for it. Period: Period not stated by DEP.
| ZIP code | What the state reports |
|---|---|
| 18041 | Basement: average 4.8 pCi/L, 647 tests; First floor: average 2.7 pCi/L, 126 tests |
| 18054 | Basement: average 4.7 pCi/L, 635 tests; First floor: average 2.7 pCi/L, 111 tests |
| 18070 | Basement: average 8.8 pCi/L, 114 tests; First floor: figures not shown |
| 18073 | Basement: average 4.5 pCi/L, 1,575 tests; First floor: average 2.2 pCi/L, 202 tests |
| 18074 | Basement: average 3.7 pCi/L, 982 tests; First floor: average 2.0 pCi/L, 156 tests |
| 18076 | Basement: average 3.4 pCi/L, 357 tests; First floor: average 1.8 pCi/L, 55 tests |
| 18914 | Basement: average 5.3 pCi/L, 6,254 tests; First floor: average 2.9 pCi/L, 1,201 tests |
| 18915 | Basement: average 3.1 pCi/L, 251 tests; First floor: average 2.1 pCi/L, 35 tests |
| 18936 | Basement: average 3.3 pCi/L, 318 tests; First floor: average 1.7 pCi/L, 101 tests |
| 18964 | Basement: average 3.7 pCi/L, 2,395 tests; First floor: average 1.8 pCi/L, 453 tests |
| 18969 | Basement: average 3.8 pCi/L, 2,572 tests; First floor: average 2.1 pCi/L, 543 tests |
| 19001 | Basement: average 3.3 pCi/L, 3,855 tests; First floor: average 2.1 pCi/L, 1,231 tests |
| 19002 | Basement: average 4.3 pCi/L, 9,243 tests; First floor: average 2.6 pCi/L, 1,954 tests |
| 19003 | Basement: average 2.5 pCi/L, 3,078 tests; First floor: average 1.3 pCi/L, 723 tests |
| 19004 | Basement: average 4.0 pCi/L, 3,050 tests; First floor: average 2.0 pCi/L, 596 tests |
| 19006 | Basement: average 4.4 pCi/L, 5,146 tests; First floor: average 2.5 pCi/L, 1,211 tests |
| 19009 | Basement: average 7.2 pCi/L, 129 tests; First floor: average 3.7 pCi/L, 41 tests |
| 19010 | Basement: average 3.2 pCi/L, 4,858 tests; First floor: average 1.7 pCi/L, 1,151 tests |
| 19012 | Basement: average 3.3 pCi/L, 1,794 tests; First floor: average 2.4 pCi/L, 442 tests |
| 19025 | Basement: average 3.7 pCi/L, 1,780 tests; First floor: average 1.9 pCi/L, 409 tests |
| 19027 | Basement: average 4.5 pCi/L, 3,409 tests; First floor: average 2.2 pCi/L, 794 tests |
| 19031 | Basement: average 4.7 pCi/L, 1,395 tests; First floor: average 2.5 pCi/L, 321 tests |
| 19034 | Basement: average 3.9 pCi/L, 1,897 tests; First floor: average 2.5 pCi/L, 465 tests |
| 19035 | Basement: average 4.5 pCi/L, 1,593 tests; First floor: average 3.2 pCi/L, 329 tests |
| 19038 | Basement: average 4.1 pCi/L, 6,178 tests; First floor: average 2.4 pCi/L, 1,422 tests |
| 19040 | Basement: average 3.4 pCi/L, 3,463 tests; First floor: average 1.9 pCi/L, 808 tests |
| 19041 | Basement: average 3.9 pCi/L, 1,595 tests; First floor: average 1.9 pCi/L, 348 tests |
| 19044 | Basement: average 4.3 pCi/L, 3,019 tests; First floor: average 2.2 pCi/L, 1,057 tests |
| 19046 | Basement: average 5.4 pCi/L, 4,404 tests; First floor: average 3.4 pCi/L, 938 tests |
| 19066 | Basement: average 3.9 pCi/L, 1,983 tests; First floor: average 1.8 pCi/L, 401 tests |
| 19072 | Basement: average 4.4 pCi/L, 3,187 tests; First floor: average 2.5 pCi/L, 685 tests |
| 19075 | Basement: average 4.0 pCi/L, 2,212 tests; First floor: average 2.4 pCi/L, 566 tests |
| 19083 | Basement: average 3.0 pCi/L, 8,162 tests; First floor: average 1.8 pCi/L, 1,294 tests |
| 19085 | Basement: average 2.4 pCi/L, 1,955 tests; First floor: average 1.4 pCi/L, 464 tests |
| 19087 | Basement: average 5.7 pCi/L, 12,385 tests; First floor: average 3.6 pCi/L, 2,801 tests |
| 19090 | Basement: average 2.4 pCi/L, 3,062 tests; First floor: average 1.5 pCi/L, 934 tests |
| 19095 | Basement: average 5.6 pCi/L, 1,423 tests; First floor: average 3.3 pCi/L, 340 tests |
| 19096 | Basement: average 3.1 pCi/L, 4,474 tests; First floor: average 1.9 pCi/L, 960 tests |
| 19118 | Basement: average 4.5 pCi/L, 2,852 tests; First floor: average 2.4 pCi/L, 854 tests |
| 19128 | Basement: average 3.2 pCi/L, 6,261 tests; First floor: average 2.1 pCi/L, 1,180 tests |
| 19401 | Basement: average 2.9 pCi/L, 4,852 tests; First floor: average 1.8 pCi/L, 1,262 tests |
| 19403 | Basement: average 4.5 pCi/L, 10,231 tests; First floor: average 2.5 pCi/L, 2,092 tests |
| 19405 | Basement: average 3.0 pCi/L, 722 tests; First floor: average 1.9 pCi/L, 112 tests |
| 19406 | Basement: average 4.4 pCi/L, 4,378 tests; First floor: average 3.8 pCi/L, 946 tests |
| 19422 | Basement: average 3.9 pCi/L, 6,232 tests; First floor: average 2.1 pCi/L, 1,610 tests |
| 19426 | Basement: average 4.2 pCi/L, 12,309 tests; First floor: average 2.5 pCi/L, 1,783 tests |
| 19428 | Basement: average 3.5 pCi/L, 3,917 tests; First floor: average 2.3 pCi/L, 800 tests |
| 19435 | Basement: average 4.9 pCi/L, 36 tests; First floor: figures not shown |
| 19436 | Basement: average 5.4 pCi/L, 82 tests; First floor: figures not shown |
| 19437 | Basement: average 5.3 pCi/L, 448 tests; First floor: average 2.3 pCi/L, 102 tests |
| 19438 | Basement: average 3.8 pCi/L, 5,671 tests; First floor: average 2.3 pCi/L, 1,107 tests |
| 19440 | Basement: average 3.4 pCi/L, 3,158 tests; First floor: average 1.6 pCi/L, 802 tests |
| 19444 | Basement: average 3.8 pCi/L, 3,057 tests; First floor: average 2.6 pCi/L, 833 tests |
| 19446 | Basement: average 4.1 pCi/L, 13,140 tests; First floor: average 2.0 pCi/L, 3,243 tests |
| 19453 | Basement: average 9.4 pCi/L, 165 tests; First floor: figures not shown |
| 19454 | Basement: average 3.7 pCi/L, 6,636 tests; First floor: average 1.9 pCi/L, 1,767 tests |
| 19456 | Basement: average 4.8 pCi/L, 166 tests; First floor: average 2.6 pCi/L, 41 tests |
| 19460 | Basement: average 4.7 pCi/L, 12,115 tests; First floor: average 2.5 pCi/L, 1,760 tests |
| 19462 | Basement: average 4.0 pCi/L, 2,156 tests; First floor: average 2.4 pCi/L, 589 tests |
| 19464 | Basement: average 4.0 pCi/L, 8,254 tests; First floor: average 2.2 pCi/L, 1,063 tests |
| 19468 | Basement: average 4.3 pCi/L, 6,399 tests; First floor: average 2.7 pCi/L, 859 tests |
| 19472 | Basement: figures not shown; First floor: figures not shown |
| 19473 | Basement: average 3.6 pCi/L, 3,542 tests; First floor: average 2.2 pCi/L, 530 tests |
| 19474 | Basement: average 3.0 pCi/L, 522 tests; First floor: average 1.3 pCi/L, 148 tests |
| 19477 | Basement: average 4.3 pCi/L, 132 tests; First floor: average 1.5 pCi/L, 44 tests |
| 19490 | Basement: average 5.4 pCi/L, 340 tests; First floor: average 2.7 pCi/L, 93 tests |
| 19492 | Basement: average 7.8 pCi/L, 127 tests; First floor: figures not shown |
| 19504 | Basement: average 10.7 pCi/L, 1,036 tests; First floor: average 7.9 pCi/L, 133 tests |
| 19505 | Basement: average 8.2 pCi/L, 497 tests; First floor: average 4.5 pCi/L, 40 tests |
| 19512 | Basement: average 10.6 pCi/L, 2,668 tests; First floor: average 6.6 pCi/L, 238 tests |
| 19525 | Basement: average 4.1 pCi/L, 3,305 tests; First floor: average 2.4 pCi/L, 247 tests |
Measured: Pennsylvania DEP data, Period not stated by DEP.
Radon Action Brief
National Radon Action MonthPre-sale
Save 64%Sale price: $8.99Price after the sale: $25Ends Jan 31Then $25Sale ends January 31, then $25
Local help
Montgomery County, Local resources
Who tests and fixes radon in Montgomery County: listed businesses, Pennsylvania's radon program and test kits.
Listed radon businesses with an address in Montgomery County:
Through an EPA-funded program, hospitals give parents of newborn children a packet of information which includes a coupon for a free radon test kit from the DEP.
Listed radon professionals by town: Pottstown, Lansdale, Collegeville, Royersford, Green Lane
The Radon Certification Act requires DEP to establish by regulation, a certification program for persons conducting radon gas and radon progeny testing, laboratory analysis and mitigation...
What it means
Montgomery County, Questions
EPA says you can test your home yourself or hire a qualified radon test company, and that either approach takes only a small amount of time and effort. No radon testing business listed on Radon411 has an address in Montgomery County or names it as a service area yet. The Pennsylvania radon program is the place to ask about certified testers and any test kit offer it runs.
Radon testing: how to test a homeRadon test kits comparedFree and low-cost kits by stateRadon Action Month checklistPennsylvania radon program
In 2020, 21.8% of the radon tests reported to CDC for Montgomery County, Pennsylvania were at or above 4 pCi/L, and the median reported pre-mitigation result was 2.0 pCi/L. That is a share of reported tests, not of homes. EPA places Montgomery County in Zone 1, highest predicted potential, a predicted average indoor screening level greater than 4 pCi/L. Homes with elevated levels occur in all three zones, so the figures describe the area, not your house. Testing is the only way to know the radon level in a specific building.
Radon levels: what a result meansWhat is radon?Radon levels in Pennsylvania
No listed mitigator names Montgomery County as a service area yet; the Pennsylvania directory lists 153 companies. EPA recommends having a qualified contractor fix a home with a radon problem, because lowering high radon levels takes technical knowledge and special skills, and some states require the work to be done by a licensed or certified professional. Your state radon program is the place to check whether Pennsylvania requires one.
Radon mitigation: how it worksRadon mitigation costRadon mitigation systemsMitigators in Pennsylvania
EPA places Montgomery County, Pennsylvania in Zone 1, which EPA describes as highest predicted potential for the area. A zone is a prediction for the whole county and never determines whether a particular home should be tested. EPA recommends testing every home regardless of zone.
Yes. Testing is the only way to know the radon level in a specific building. EPA recommends fixing a home when the radon level is 4 pCi/L or higher. EPA recommends considering a fix when the level is between 2 and 4 pCi/L. How to test a home.
EPA says short-term tests stay in the home from 2 to 90 days and that all radon tests should run a minimum of 48 hours; long-term tests stay more than 90 days. EPA's guides do not name a best season: they say radon levels tend to vary from day to day and season to season, so a long-term test is more likely than a short-term test to tell you the year-round average.
EPA's Citizen's Guide calls testing easy and inexpensive, and EPA's Home Buyer's and Seller's Guide says passive short-term and long-term devices are generally inexpensive, while active devices may cost more. No national average price is published for this, so Radon411 does not give one. What testing costs.
Montgomery County borders 6 counties, derived from Census county geometry. Radon potential follows geology rather than county lines, so a bordering county's report can be relevant.
The reported-test figures on this page describe Montgomery County, Pennsylvania in 2020. They describe tests other people carried out in other buildings, and none of them measures yours.
What the published data says about Montgomery County, in words. A zone and a share of tests describe an area, never the level in any one home.
EPA places Montgomery County in Zone 1, highest predicted potential, as it does 48 other counties of Pennsylvania's 67.
Of the 6 bordering counties, EPA places Berks County, Bucks County, Chester County, Delaware County and Lehigh County in Zone 1 and Philadelphia County in Zone 3.
CDC has annual figures for Montgomery County for 7 years, 2014 to 2020. In 2020, 21.8% of 10,508 reported tests were at or above 4 pCi/L.
Across those years the share ranged from 21.8% (2020) to 26.5% (2015). Few tests in a year can move it a long way.
Pennsylvania's radon program is the Radon Division, run by Department of Environmental Protection; its contacts are under Local resources.
The county's largest incorporated places are Norristown, Pottstown and Lansdale; the figures here cover them as part of the county.
Products
Montgomery County, Products
Whatever the figures for Montgomery County show, only a test tells you about one home.
Test kits and monitors: 1 of 42
As an Amazon Associate, Radon411 earns from qualifying purchases.
Montgomery County is in EPA Zone 1, the highest predicted radon potential. Best radon monitors for Zone 1 counties like Montgomery County
Testing: 1 of 5
Mitigation: 1 of 3
Explore
Montgomery County, Bordering counties
counties bordering Montgomery County: 1 of 6
6 counties share a boundary with Montgomery County, computed from Census county geometry. Radon potential follows geology rather than county lines, so a bordering county’s report can be worth reading alongside this one.
Montgomery County, Cities and towns
The radon figures on this page are for Montgomery County as a whole. They do not differ by city or town.
24 incorporated places, as listed in the U.S. Census Bureau’s 2020 place reference files. “(part)” marks a place that extends into another county.
Montgomery County, Next steps
What to do next: 1 of 4
Informational. Follow EPA guidance. EPA says all radon tests should be taken for a minimum of 48 hours, with windows and doors closed from 12 hours before a short-term test.