
MonitorAEGTEST
HOUND-1011 rechargeable radon detector with a screen
- C-NRPP 2024/25: Not included
- Battery
- Alarm
- Screen
Method: Semiconductor sensor
First reading: Within 6 hours
Locations and reports
EPA puts Monroe County in Zone 1, its highest radon zone. Homes with elevated levels occur in all three zones, so only a test measures yours.
Data checked By Radon411Methodology
The data
Monroe County, At a glance
Predicted: EPA radon zone
This is a county-level geologic prediction. It is not a measurement of any address, and houses with elevated radon are found in all three zones.
EPA predicts an average indoor
USGS geologic potential: Moderate across 68% of the county's area
Predicted: EPA Map of Radon Zones
Measured: tests reported to CDC
Of 1,649 pre-mitigation tests reported to CDC, not homes in this area.
| Result band | Tests Measured | Share Measured |
|---|---|---|
| Under 2 pCi/L | 798 | 48.4% |
| 2 to 4 pCi/L | 345 | 20.9% |
| 4 pCi/L and above | 506 | 30.7% |
CDC publishes this figure only for counties here, so there is no state or national number to compare Monroe County, Pennsylvania with.
Distribution of radon tests reported to CDC, not this house. People testing before a sale, or because they suspect a problem, are over-represented in any reported testing data.
The figures at the top are for 2020: a percentage there is a share of radon tests reported to CDC for Monroe County in 2020, and a percentage in a view below is a share of the tests reported for the year or period it names. It is not a share of homes in Monroe County, and it is not a random sample: it counts only the tests people chose to run and that were reported.
CDC works out the shares and the median over pre-mitigation tests, counting a test not marked as before or after mitigation as one of them (1,649 for 2020). The median is the middle result of those tests, not of buildings. CDC also reports the number of buildings tested (1,204), a different count, so the two totals are not interchangeable.
Monroe County's own published CDC figures beside those of the counties that border it, for the same period.
Each figure is that county’s own published CDC figure for 2020, counting radon tests reported to CDC, not homes. Monroe County is this page. Nothing is averaged or combined across counties. The test count beside each county is CDC’s published number of pre-mitigation tests behind its figures. Figures from few tests can swing widely from year to year. Every Pennsylvania county’s own figure is in the Pennsylvania county table.
Measured: CDC tracking data. Figure above: 2020. Measured data period: 2005 to 2020 (every CDC figure on file).
Monroe County, State data
What Pennsylvania's own agencies publish about radon tests in Monroe County, with their period. These are not CDC's figures and are never added to them.
Pennsylvania DEP publishes its figures by ZIP code, not by county. These are the 35 ZIP codes that lie wholly or partly in Monroe County, each with the state's own figures for it. Period: Period not stated by DEP.
| ZIP code | What the state reports |
|---|---|
| 18058 | Basement: average 18.1 pCi/L, 1,466 tests; First floor: average 9.3 pCi/L, 242 tests |
| 18071 | Basement: average 17.4 pCi/L, 984 tests; First floor: average 10.9 pCi/L, 107 tests |
| 18210 | Basement: average 6.9 pCi/L, 1,295 tests; First floor: average 2.4 pCi/L, 705 tests |
| 18301 | Basement: average 5.9 pCi/L, 5,817 tests; First floor: average 2.8 pCi/L, 1,280 tests |
| 18302 | Basement: average 5.5 pCi/L, 1,764 tests; First floor: average 2.7 pCi/L, 292 tests |
| 18321 | Basement: average 5.7 pCi/L, 444 tests; First floor: average 3.6 pCi/L, 105 tests |
| 18322 | Basement: average 19.3 pCi/L, 764 tests; First floor: average 8.0 pCi/L, 80 tests |
| 18323 | Basement: average 3.8 pCi/L, 214 tests; First floor: average 2.5 pCi/L, 59 tests |
| 18324 | Basement: average 5.8 pCi/L, 2,291 tests; First floor: average 2.4 pCi/L, 979 tests |
| 18325 | Basement: average 4.2 pCi/L, 432 tests; First floor: average 1.8 pCi/L, 128 tests |
| 18326 | Basement: average 5.0 pCi/L, 667 tests; First floor: average 2.4 pCi/L, 170 tests |
| 18327 | Basement: average 11.9 pCi/L, 87 tests; First floor: figures not shown |
| 18330 | Basement: average 14.0 pCi/L, 2,143 tests; First floor: average 6.0 pCi/L, 381 tests |
| 18331 | Basement: average 15.4 pCi/L, 167 tests; First floor: figures not shown |
| 18332 | Basement: average 5.7 pCi/L, 400 tests; First floor: average 2.4 pCi/L, 114 tests |
| 18333 | Basement: average 17.6 pCi/L, 228 tests; First floor: average 12.2 pCi/L, 36 tests |
| 18334 | Basement: average 4.1 pCi/L, 738 tests; First floor: average 1.7 pCi/L, 246 tests |
| 18335 | Basement: average 5.5 pCi/L, 217 tests; First floor: average 2.4 pCi/L, 101 tests |
| 18342 | Basement: average 4.1 pCi/L, 103 tests; First floor: average 1.7 pCi/L, 36 tests |
| 18344 | Basement: average 6.6 pCi/L, 610 tests; First floor: average 3.0 pCi/L, 170 tests |
| 18346 | Basement: average 3.8 pCi/L, 328 tests; First floor: average 1.4 pCi/L, 208 tests |
| 18347 | Basement: average 3.6 pCi/L, 867 tests; First floor: average 1.8 pCi/L, 674 tests |
| 18349 | Basement: average 3.6 pCi/L, 52 tests; First floor: figures not shown |
| 18350 | Basement: average 3.2 pCi/L, 558 tests; First floor: average 1.7 pCi/L, 532 tests |
| 18353 | Basement: average 14.9 pCi/L, 2,203 tests; First floor: average 8.5 pCi/L, 283 tests |
| 18354 | Basement: average 10.2 pCi/L, 225 tests; First floor: average 3.3 pCi/L, 31 tests |
| 18355 | Basement: average 5.2 pCi/L, 253 tests; First floor: average 2.6 pCi/L, 48 tests |
| 18356 | Basement: average 6.2 pCi/L, 58 tests; First floor: figures not shown |
| 18357 | Basement: average 3.3 pCi/L, 57 tests; First floor: figures not shown |
| 18360 | Basement: average 7.6 pCi/L, 6,030 tests; First floor: average 3.3 pCi/L, 959 tests |
| 18370 | Basement: average 7.6 pCi/L, 286 tests; First floor: average 3.3 pCi/L, 61 tests |
| 18372 | Basement: average 5.6 pCi/L, 1,067 tests; First floor: average 3.1 pCi/L, 218 tests |
| 18424 | Basement: average 4.7 pCi/L, 884 tests; First floor: average 2.1 pCi/L, 317 tests |
| 18466 | Basement: average 4.0 pCi/L, 1,760 tests; First floor: average 1.9 pCi/L, 1,159 tests |
| 18610 | Basement: average 7.1 pCi/L, 784 tests; First floor: average 2.4 pCi/L, 332 tests |
Measured: Pennsylvania DEP data, Period not stated by DEP.
Radon Action Brief
National Radon Action MonthPre-sale
Save 64%Sale price: $8.99Price after the sale: $25Ends Jan 31Then $25Sale ends January 31, then $25
Local help
Monroe County, Local resources
Who tests and fixes radon in Monroe County: listed businesses, Pennsylvania's radon program and test kits.
Through an EPA-funded program, hospitals give parents of newborn children a packet of information which includes a coupon for a free radon test kit from the DEP.
The Radon Certification Act requires DEP to establish by regulation, a certification program for persons conducting radon gas and radon progeny testing, laboratory analysis and mitigation...
What it means
Monroe County, Questions
In 2020, 30.7% of the radon tests reported to CDC for Monroe County, Pennsylvania were at or above 4 pCi/L, and the median reported pre-mitigation result was 2.1 pCi/L. That is a share of reported tests, not of homes. EPA places Monroe County in Zone 1, highest predicted potential, a predicted average indoor screening level greater than 4 pCi/L. Homes with elevated levels occur in all three zones, so the figures describe the area, not your house. Testing is the only way to know the radon level in a specific building.
Radon levels: what a result meansWhat is radon?Radon levels in Pennsylvania
EPA says you can test your home yourself or hire a qualified radon test company, and that either approach takes only a small amount of time and effort. No radon testing business listed on Radon411 has an address in Monroe County or names it as a service area yet. The Pennsylvania radon program is the place to ask about certified testers and any test kit offer it runs.
Radon testing: how to test a homeRadon test kits comparedFree and low-cost kits by stateRadon Action Month checklistPennsylvania radon program
No listed mitigator names Monroe County as a service area yet; the Pennsylvania directory lists 153 companies. EPA recommends having a qualified contractor fix a home with a radon problem, because lowering high radon levels takes technical knowledge and special skills, and some states require the work to be done by a licensed or certified professional. Your state radon program is the place to check whether Pennsylvania requires one.
Radon mitigation: how it worksRadon mitigation costRadon mitigation systemsMitigators in Pennsylvania
EPA places Monroe County, Pennsylvania in Zone 1, which EPA describes as highest predicted potential for the area. A zone is a prediction for the whole county and never determines whether a particular home should be tested. EPA recommends testing every home regardless of zone.
Yes. Testing is the only way to know the radon level in a specific building. EPA recommends fixing a home when the radon level is 4 pCi/L or higher. EPA recommends considering a fix when the level is between 2 and 4 pCi/L. How to test a home.
EPA says short-term tests stay in the home from 2 to 90 days and that all radon tests should run a minimum of 48 hours; long-term tests stay more than 90 days. EPA's guides do not name a best season: they say radon levels tend to vary from day to day and season to season, so a long-term test is more likely than a short-term test to tell you the year-round average.
EPA's Citizen's Guide calls testing easy and inexpensive, and EPA's Home Buyer's and Seller's Guide says passive short-term and long-term devices are generally inexpensive, while active devices may cost more. No national average price is published for this, so Radon411 does not give one. What testing costs.
Monroe County borders 8 counties, derived from Census county geometry. Radon potential follows geology rather than county lines, so a bordering county's report can be relevant.
The reported-test figures on this page describe Monroe County, Pennsylvania in 2020. They describe tests other people carried out in other buildings, and none of them measures yours.
What the published data says about Monroe County, in words. A zone and a share of tests describe an area, never the level in any one home.
EPA places Monroe County in Zone 1, highest predicted potential, as it does 48 other counties of Pennsylvania's 67.
Of the 8 bordering counties, EPA places Carbon County, Lackawanna County, Luzerne County, Northampton County, Sussex County, NJ and Warren County, NJ in Zone 1 and Pike County and Wayne County in Zone 2.
CDC has annual figures for Monroe County for 7 years, 2014 to 2020. In 2020, 30.7% of 1,649 reported tests were at or above 4 pCi/L.
Across those years the share ranged from 30.7% (2020) to 44.8% (2015). Few tests in a year can move it a long way.
Pennsylvania's radon program is the Radon Division, run by Department of Environmental Protection; its contacts are under Local resources.
The county's largest incorporated places are East Stroudsburg, Stroudsburg and Mount Pocono; the figures here cover them as part of the county.
Products
Monroe County, Products
Whatever the figures for Monroe County show, only a test tells you about one home.
Test kits and monitors: 1 of 42
As an Amazon Associate, Radon411 earns from qualifying purchases.
Monroe County is in EPA Zone 1, the highest predicted radon potential. Best radon monitors for Zone 1 counties like Monroe County
Testing: 1 of 5
Mitigation: 1 of 3
Explore
Monroe County, Bordering counties
counties bordering Monroe County: 1 of 8
8 counties share a boundary with Monroe County, computed from Census county geometry. Radon potential follows geology rather than county lines, so a bordering county’s report can be worth reading alongside this one.
Monroe County, Cities and towns
The radon figures on this page are for Monroe County as a whole. They do not differ by city or town.
4 incorporated places, as listed in the U.S. Census Bureau’s 2020 place reference files.
Monroe County, Next steps
What to do next: 1 of 4
Informational. Follow EPA guidance. EPA says all radon tests should be taken for a minimum of 48 hours, with windows and doors closed from 12 hours before a short-term test.