
MonitorAEGTEST
HOUND-1011 rechargeable radon detector with a screen
- C-NRPP 2024/25: Not included
- Battery
- Alarm
- Screen
Method: Semiconductor sensor
First reading: Within 6 hours
Locations and reports
EPA puts Allegheny County in Zone 1, its highest radon zone. Homes with elevated levels occur in all three zones, so only a test measures yours.
Data checked By Radon411Methodology
The data
Allegheny County, At a glance
Predicted: EPA radon zone
This is a county-level geologic prediction. It is not a measurement of any address, and houses with elevated radon are found in all three zones.
EPA predicts an average indoor
USGS geologic potential: High across 100% of the county's area
Predicted: EPA Map of Radon Zones
Measured: tests reported to CDC
Of 8,337 pre-mitigation tests reported to CDC, not homes in this area.
| Result band | Tests Measured | Share Measured |
|---|---|---|
| Under 2 pCi/L | 3,300 | 39.6% |
| 2 to 4 pCi/L | 2,492 | 29.9% |
| 4 pCi/L and above | 2,545 | 30.5% |
CDC publishes this figure only for counties here, so there is no state or national number to compare Allegheny County, Pennsylvania with.
Distribution of radon tests reported to CDC, not this house. People testing before a sale, or because they suspect a problem, are over-represented in any reported testing data.
The figures at the top are for 2020: a percentage there is a share of radon tests reported to CDC for Allegheny County in 2020, and a percentage in a view below is a share of the tests reported for the year or period it names. It is not a share of homes in Allegheny County, and it is not a random sample: it counts only the tests people chose to run and that were reported.
CDC works out the shares and the median over pre-mitigation tests, counting a test not marked as before or after mitigation as one of them (8,337 for 2020). The median is the middle result of those tests, not of buildings. CDC also reports the number of buildings tested (6,123), a different count, so the two totals are not interchangeable.
Allegheny County's own published CDC figures beside those of the counties that border it, for the same period.
Each figure is that county’s own published CDC figure for 2020, counting radon tests reported to CDC, not homes. Allegheny County is this page. Nothing is averaged or combined across counties. The test count beside each county is CDC’s published number of pre-mitigation tests behind its figures. Figures from few tests can swing widely from year to year. Every Pennsylvania county’s own figure is in the Pennsylvania county table.
Measured: CDC tracking data. Figure above: 2020. Measured data period: 2005 to 2020 (every CDC figure on file).
Allegheny County, State data
What Pennsylvania's own agencies publish about radon tests in Allegheny County, with their period. These are not CDC's figures and are never added to them.
Pennsylvania DEP publishes its figures by ZIP code, not by county. These are the 118 ZIP codes that lie wholly or partly in Allegheny County, each with the state's own figures for it. Period: Period not stated by DEP.
| ZIP code | What the state reports |
|---|---|
| 15003 | Basement: average 7.9 pCi/L, 1,330 tests; First floor: average 3.7 pCi/L, 48 tests |
| 15005 | Basement: average 7.3 pCi/L, 1,813 tests; First floor: average 3.6 pCi/L, 79 tests |
| 15006 | Basement: figures not shown |
| 15007 | Basement: average 5.1 pCi/L, 59 tests; First floor: figures not shown |
| 15014 | Basement: average 3.1 pCi/L, 175 tests; First floor: figures not shown |
| 15015 | Basement: average 9.6 pCi/L, 609 tests; First floor: average 6.5 pCi/L, 48 tests |
| 15017 | Basement: average 3.8 pCi/L, 3,119 tests; First floor: average 2.0 pCi/L, 231 tests |
| 15018 | Basement: average 3.7 pCi/L, 45 tests; First floor: figures not shown |
| 15020 | Basement: figures not shown |
| 15024 | Basement: average 5.7 pCi/L, 1,430 tests; First floor: average 5.5 pCi/L, 68 tests |
| 15025 | Basement: average 4.5 pCi/L, 1,154 tests; First floor: average 2.7 pCi/L, 79 tests |
| 15026 | Basement: average 9.9 pCi/L, 597 tests; First floor: average 6.8 pCi/L, 30 tests |
| 15028 | Basement: figures not shown |
| 15030 | Basement: average 4.6 pCi/L, 48 tests; First floor: figures not shown |
| 15031 | Basement: figures not shown; First floor: figures not shown |
| 15034 | Basement: average 3.1 pCi/L, 78 tests; First floor: figures not shown |
| 15035 | Basement: average 3.8 pCi/L, 107 tests; First floor: figures not shown |
| 15037 | Basement: average 4.3 pCi/L, 1,021 tests; First floor: average 4.3 pCi/L, 56 tests |
| 15044 | Basement: average 7.9 pCi/L, 9,325 tests; First floor: average 6.2 pCi/L, 669 tests |
| 15045 | Basement: average 3.2 pCi/L, 223 tests; First floor: figures not shown |
| 15046 | Basement: average 6.5 pCi/L, 410 tests; First floor: figures not shown |
| 15047 | Basement: figures not shown |
| 15049 | Basement: average 2.7 pCi/L, 89 tests; First floor: figures not shown |
| 15051 | Basement: average 15.3 pCi/L, 68 tests; First floor: figures not shown |
| 15056 | Basement: average 3.9 pCi/L, 175 tests; First floor: figures not shown |
| 15057 | Basement: average 5.6 pCi/L, 2,345 tests; First floor: average 4.2 pCi/L, 107 tests |
| 15063 | Basement: average 4.6 pCi/L, 861 tests; First floor: average 4.4 pCi/L, 40 tests |
| 15064 | Basement: average 3.8 pCi/L, 49 tests; First floor: figures not shown |
| 15065 | Basement: average 5.4 pCi/L, 1,142 tests; First floor: average 6.2 pCi/L, 56 tests |
| 15068 | Basement: average 5.7 pCi/L, 3,496 tests; First floor: average 5.0 pCi/L, 187 tests |
| 15071 | Basement: average 4.1 pCi/L, 1,371 tests; First floor: average 2.9 pCi/L, 84 tests |
| 15075 | Basement: figures not shown; First floor: figures not shown |
| 15076 | Basement: average 4.0 pCi/L, 55 tests; First floor: figures not shown |
| 15082 | Basement: figures not shown |
| 15083 | Basement: average 4.7 pCi/L, 50 tests; First floor: figures not shown |
| 15084 | Basement: average 7.5 pCi/L, 730 tests; First floor: average 4.7 pCi/L, 34 tests |
| 15085 | Basement: average 4.6 pCi/L, 1,310 tests; First floor: average 3.2 pCi/L, 60 tests |
| 15086 | Basement: average 6.0 pCi/L, 193 tests; First floor: figures not shown |
| 15088 | Basement: figures not shown |
| 15089 | Basement: average 5.9 pCi/L, 372 tests; First floor: average 4.5 pCi/L, 57 tests |
| 15090 | Basement: average 8.5 pCi/L, 12,098 tests; First floor: average 5.7 pCi/L, 982 tests |
| 15101 | Basement: average 6.9 pCi/L, 6,748 tests; First floor: average 4.5 pCi/L, 532 tests |
| 15102 | Basement: average 4.0 pCi/L, 6,724 tests; First floor: average 2.4 pCi/L, 363 tests |
| 15104 | Basement: average 4.5 pCi/L, 215 tests; First floor: figures not shown |
| 15106 | Basement: average 4.3 pCi/L, 2,301 tests; First floor: average 2.6 pCi/L, 139 tests |
| 15108 | Basement: average 6.0 pCi/L, 6,672 tests; First floor: average 4.2 pCi/L, 631 tests |
| 15110 | Basement: average 4.8 pCi/L, 123 tests; First floor: figures not shown |
| 15112 | Basement: average 3.4 pCi/L, 150 tests; First floor: figures not shown |
| 15116 | Basement: average 6.4 pCi/L, 3,415 tests; First floor: average 3.9 pCi/L, 197 tests |
| 15120 | Basement: average 4.2 pCi/L, 1,750 tests; First floor: average 2.2 pCi/L, 60 tests |
| 15122 | Basement: average 3.9 pCi/L, 2,409 tests; First floor: average 2.7 pCi/L, 62 tests |
| 15123 | Basement: figures not shown |
| 15126 | Basement: average 4.5 pCi/L, 1,411 tests; First floor: average 3.3 pCi/L, 93 tests |
| 15129 | Basement: average 4.1 pCi/L, 1,661 tests; First floor: average 2.8 pCi/L, 138 tests |
| 15131 | Basement: average 4.4 pCi/L, 1,075 tests; First floor: figures not shown |
| 15132 | Basement: average 6.3 pCi/L, 733 tests; First floor: average 3.4 pCi/L, 33 tests |
| 15133 | Basement: average 4.2 pCi/L, 398 tests; First floor: figures not shown |
| 15135 | Basement: average 4.8 pCi/L, 407 tests; First floor: figures not shown |
| 15136 | Basement: average 4.2 pCi/L, 1,545 tests; First floor: average 3.5 pCi/L, 34 tests |
| 15137 | Basement: average 4.6 pCi/L, 782 tests; First floor: average 1.8 pCi/L, 55 tests |
| 15139 | Basement: average 3.1 pCi/L, 1,103 tests; First floor: average 1.4 pCi/L, 99 tests |
| 15140 | Basement: average 4.0 pCi/L, 175 tests; First floor: figures not shown |
| 15142 | Basement: average 4.0 pCi/L, 430 tests; First floor: figures not shown |
| 15143 | Basement: average 7.2 pCi/L, 9,156 tests; First floor: average 4.3 pCi/L, 738 tests |
| 15144 | Basement: average 3.4 pCi/L, 466 tests; First floor: figures not shown |
| 15145 | Basement: average 4.1 pCi/L, 473 tests; First floor: figures not shown |
| 15146 | Basement: average 5.5 pCi/L, 5,878 tests; First floor: average 3.7 pCi/L, 290 tests |
| 15147 | Basement: average 4.7 pCi/L, 1,933 tests; First floor: average 3.3 pCi/L, 83 tests |
| 15148 | Basement: average 2.9 pCi/L, 80 tests; First floor: figures not shown |
| 15201 | Basement: average 2.6 pCi/L, 2,222 tests; First floor: average 1.9 pCi/L, 109 tests |
| 15202 | Basement: average 4.8 pCi/L, 2,681 tests; First floor: average 3.6 pCi/L, 129 tests |
| 15203 | Basement: average 2.6 pCi/L, 1,534 tests; First floor: average 1.6 pCi/L, 132 tests |
| 15204 | Basement: average 4.4 pCi/L, 591 tests; First floor: average 2.0 pCi/L, 43 tests |
| 15205 | Basement: average 3.8 pCi/L, 2,789 tests; First floor: average 2.3 pCi/L, 293 tests |
| 15206 | Basement: average 3.1 pCi/L, 3,271 tests; First floor: average 1.8 pCi/L, 234 tests |
| 15207 | Basement: average 3.6 pCi/L, 1,175 tests; First floor: average 3.1 pCi/L, 43 tests |
| 15208 | Basement: average 3.4 pCi/L, 1,314 tests; First floor: average 1.8 pCi/L, 126 tests |
| 15209 | Basement: average 5.3 pCi/L, 1,874 tests; First floor: average 5.4 pCi/L, 134 tests |
| 15210 | Basement: average 4.0 pCi/L, 1,519 tests; First floor: average 2.3 pCi/L, 50 tests |
| 15211 | Basement: average 3.5 pCi/L, 1,518 tests; First floor: average 2.4 pCi/L, 66 tests |
| 15212 | Basement: average 3.7 pCi/L, 2,839 tests; First floor: average 2.1 pCi/L, 161 tests |
| 15213 | Basement: average 3.4 pCi/L, 972 tests; First floor: average 1.8 pCi/L, 158 tests |
| 15214 | Basement: average 4.8 pCi/L, 1,652 tests; First floor: average 3.3 pCi/L, 77 tests |
| 15215 | Basement: average 4.2 pCi/L, 3,218 tests; First floor: average 3.0 pCi/L, 241 tests |
| 15216 | Basement: average 3.0 pCi/L, 3,951 tests; First floor: average 2.0 pCi/L, 258 tests |
| 15217 | Basement: average 4.2 pCi/L, 6,986 tests; First floor: average 2.4 pCi/L, 689 tests |
| 15218 | Basement: average 3.6 pCi/L, 3,213 tests; First floor: average 2.5 pCi/L, 174 tests |
| 15219 | Basement: average 3.8 pCi/L, 378 tests; First floor: average 1.2 pCi/L, 44 tests |
| 15220 | Basement: average 3.4 pCi/L, 2,975 tests; First floor: average 2.8 pCi/L, 174 tests |
| 15221 | Basement: average 4.1 pCi/L, 4,261 tests; First floor: average 2.8 pCi/L, 289 tests |
| 15222 | Basement: average 2.9 pCi/L, 154 tests; First floor: figures not shown |
| 15223 | Basement: average 4.6 pCi/L, 911 tests; First floor: average 2.4 pCi/L, 41 tests |
| 15224 | Basement: average 2.0 pCi/L, 896 tests; First floor: average 1.5 pCi/L, 53 tests |
| 15225 | Basement: average 3.1 pCi/L, 91 tests; First floor: figures not shown |
| 15226 | Basement: average 3.2 pCi/L, 2,256 tests; First floor: average 1.8 pCi/L, 61 tests |
| 15227 | Basement: average 3.5 pCi/L, 4,049 tests; First floor: average 1.7 pCi/L, 234 tests |
| 15228 | Basement: average 3.6 pCi/L, 5,308 tests; First floor: average 2.2 pCi/L, 568 tests |
| 15229 | Basement: average 6.3 pCi/L, 2,960 tests; First floor: average 4.6 pCi/L, 207 tests |
| 15232 | Basement: average 2.8 pCi/L, 1,717 tests; First floor: average 1.7 pCi/L, 162 tests |
| 15233 | Basement: average 2.4 pCi/L, 216 tests; First floor: figures not shown |
| 15234 | Basement: average 3.4 pCi/L, 2,786 tests; First floor: average 2.1 pCi/L, 195 tests |
| 15235 | Basement: average 4.7 pCi/L, 5,384 tests; First floor: average 3.6 pCi/L, 272 tests |
| 15236 | Basement: average 3.7 pCi/L, 4,945 tests; First floor: average 2.6 pCi/L, 329 tests |
| 15237 | Basement: average 7.4 pCi/L, 15,250 tests; First floor: average 4.6 pCi/L, 1,235 tests |
| 15238 | Basement: average 7.3 pCi/L, 5,869 tests; First floor: average 4.7 pCi/L, 534 tests |
| 15239 | Basement: average 4.8 pCi/L, 2,928 tests; First floor: average 4.5 pCi/L, 115 tests |
| 15241 | Basement: average 4.0 pCi/L, 6,779 tests; First floor: average 3.0 pCi/L, 658 tests |
| 15243 | Basement: average 3.4 pCi/L, 3,931 tests; First floor: average 2.3 pCi/L, 362 tests |
| 15260 | Basement: figures not shown; First floor: figures not shown |
| 15275 | Basement: figures not shown; First floor: figures not shown |
| 15290 | Basement: figures not shown |
| 15321 | Basement: average 4.9 pCi/L, 246 tests; First floor: figures not shown |
| 15332 | Basement: average 4.7 pCi/L, 773 tests; First floor: average 2.9 pCi/L, 34 tests |
| 15642 | Basement: average 5.1 pCi/L, 4,782 tests; First floor: average 4.1 pCi/L, 170 tests |
| 15668 | Basement: average 6.8 pCi/L, 4,314 tests; First floor: average 5.0 pCi/L, 215 tests |
| 16046 | Basement: average 7.0 pCi/L, 4,895 tests; First floor: average 4.6 pCi/L, 365 tests |
| 16055 | Basement: average 9.8 pCi/L, 1,378 tests; First floor: average 5.0 pCi/L, 72 tests |
| 16059 | Basement: average 9.6 pCi/L, 1,665 tests; First floor: average 5.0 pCi/L, 162 tests |
Measured: Pennsylvania DEP data, Period not stated by DEP.
Radon Action Brief
National Radon Action MonthPre-sale
Save 64%Sale price: $8.99Price after the sale: $25Ends Jan 31Then $25Sale ends January 31, then $25
Local help
Allegheny County, Local resources
Who tests and fixes radon in Allegheny County: listed businesses, Pennsylvania's radon program and test kits.
Listed radon businesses with an address in Allegheny County:
Through an EPA-funded program, hospitals give parents of newborn children a packet of information which includes a coupon for a free radon test kit from the DEP.
Listed radon professionals by town: Pittsburgh, Bethel Park, Jefferson Hills, Carnegie, Springdale, McDonald
The Radon Certification Act requires DEP to establish by regulation, a certification program for persons conducting radon gas and radon progeny testing, laboratory analysis and mitigation...
What it means
Allegheny County, Questions
In 2020, 30.5% of the radon tests reported to CDC for Allegheny County, Pennsylvania were at or above 4 pCi/L, and the median reported pre-mitigation result was 2.5 pCi/L. That is a share of reported tests, not of homes. EPA places Allegheny County in Zone 1, highest predicted potential, a predicted average indoor screening level greater than 4 pCi/L. Homes with elevated levels occur in all three zones, so the figures describe the area, not your house. Testing is the only way to know the radon level in a specific building.
Radon levels: what a result meansWhat is radon?Radon levels in Pennsylvania
EPA says you can test your home yourself or hire a qualified radon test company, and that either approach takes only a small amount of time and effort. No radon testing business listed on Radon411 has an address in Allegheny County or names it as a service area yet. The Pennsylvania radon program is the place to ask about certified testers and any test kit offer it runs.
Radon testing: how to test a homeRadon test kits comparedFree and low-cost kits by stateRadon Action Month checklistPennsylvania radon program
No listed mitigator names Allegheny County as a service area yet; the Pennsylvania directory lists 153 companies. EPA recommends having a qualified contractor fix a home with a radon problem, because lowering high radon levels takes technical knowledge and special skills, and some states require the work to be done by a licensed or certified professional. Your state radon program is the place to check whether Pennsylvania requires one.
Radon mitigation: how it worksRadon mitigation costRadon mitigation systemsMitigators in Pennsylvania
EPA places Allegheny County, Pennsylvania in Zone 1, which EPA describes as highest predicted potential for the area. A zone is a prediction for the whole county and never determines whether a particular home should be tested. EPA recommends testing every home regardless of zone.
Yes. Testing is the only way to know the radon level in a specific building. EPA recommends fixing a home when the radon level is 4 pCi/L or higher. EPA recommends considering a fix when the level is between 2 and 4 pCi/L. How to test a home.
EPA says short-term tests stay in the home from 2 to 90 days and that all radon tests should run a minimum of 48 hours; long-term tests stay more than 90 days. EPA's guides do not name a best season: they say radon levels tend to vary from day to day and season to season, so a long-term test is more likely than a short-term test to tell you the year-round average.
EPA's Citizen's Guide calls testing easy and inexpensive, and EPA's Home Buyer's and Seller's Guide says passive short-term and long-term devices are generally inexpensive, while active devices may cost more. No national average price is published for this, so Radon411 does not give one. What testing costs.
Allegheny County borders 5 counties, derived from Census county geometry. Radon potential follows geology rather than county lines, so a bordering county's report can be relevant.
The reported-test figures on this page describe Allegheny County, Pennsylvania in 2020. They describe tests other people carried out in other buildings, and none of them measures yours.
What the published data says about Allegheny County, in words. A zone and a share of tests describe an area, never the level in any one home.
EPA places Allegheny County in Zone 1, highest predicted potential, as it does 48 other counties of Pennsylvania's 67.
Of the 5 bordering counties, EPA places Armstrong County, Beaver County, Butler County and Westmoreland County in Zone 1 and Washington County in Zone 2.
CDC has annual figures for Allegheny County for 7 years, 2014 to 2020. In 2020, 30.5% of 8,337 reported tests were at or above 4 pCi/L.
Across those years the share ranged from 26.4% (2018) to 36.0% (2014). Few tests in a year can move it a long way.
Pennsylvania's radon program is the Radon Division, run by Department of Environmental Protection; its contacts are under Local resources.
The county's largest incorporated places are Pittsburgh, Bethel Park and Monroeville; the figures here cover them as part of the county.
Products
Allegheny County, Products
Whatever the figures for Allegheny County show, only a test tells you about one home.
Test kits and monitors: 1 of 42
As an Amazon Associate, Radon411 earns from qualifying purchases.
Allegheny County is in EPA Zone 1, the highest predicted radon potential. Best radon monitors for Zone 1 counties like Allegheny County
Testing: 1 of 5
Mitigation: 1 of 3
Explore
Allegheny County, Bordering counties
counties bordering Allegheny County: 1 of 5
5 counties share a boundary with Allegheny County, computed from Census county geometry. Radon potential follows geology rather than county lines, so a bordering county’s report can be worth reading alongside this one.
Allegheny County, Cities and towns
The radon figures on this page are for Allegheny County as a whole. They do not differ by city or town.
88 incorporated places, as listed in the U.S. Census Bureau’s 2020 place reference files. “(part)” marks a place that extends into another county.
Allegheny County, Next steps
What to do next: 1 of 4
Informational. Follow EPA guidance. EPA says all radon tests should be taken for a minimum of 48 hours, with windows and doors closed from 12 hours before a short-term test.