
MonitorAEGTEST
HOUND-1011 rechargeable radon detector with a screen
- C-NRPP 2024/25: Not included
- Battery
- Alarm
- Screen
Method: Semiconductor sensor
First reading: Within 6 hours
Locations and reports
EPA puts Lehigh County in Zone 1, its highest radon zone. Homes with elevated levels occur in all three zones, so only a test measures yours.
Data checked By Radon411Methodology
The data
Lehigh County, At a glance
Predicted: EPA radon zone
This is a county-level geologic prediction. It is not a measurement of any address, and houses with elevated radon are found in all three zones.
EPA predicts an average indoor
USGS geologic potential: High across 100% of the county's area
Predicted: EPA Map of Radon Zones
Measured: tests reported to CDC
Of 3,103 pre-mitigation tests reported to CDC, not homes in this area.
| Result band | Tests Measured | Share Measured |
|---|---|---|
| Under 2 pCi/L | 1,217 | 39.2% |
| 2 to 4 pCi/L | 650 | 20.9% |
| 4 pCi/L and above | 1,236 | 39.8% |
CDC publishes this figure only for counties here, so there is no state or national number to compare Lehigh County, Pennsylvania with.
Distribution of radon tests reported to CDC, not this house. People testing before a sale, or because they suspect a problem, are over-represented in any reported testing data.
The figures at the top are for 2020: a percentage there is a share of radon tests reported to CDC for Lehigh County in 2020, and a percentage in a view below is a share of the tests reported for the year or period it names. It is not a share of homes in Lehigh County, and it is not a random sample: it counts only the tests people chose to run and that were reported.
CDC works out the shares and the median over pre-mitigation tests, counting a test not marked as before or after mitigation as one of them (3,103 for 2020). The median is the middle result of those tests, not of buildings. CDC also reports the number of buildings tested (2,015), a different count, so the two totals are not interchangeable.
Lehigh County's own published CDC figures beside those of the counties that border it, for the same period.
Each figure is that county’s own published CDC figure for 2020, counting radon tests reported to CDC, not homes. Lehigh County is this page. Nothing is averaged or combined across counties. The test count beside each county is CDC’s published number of pre-mitigation tests behind its figures. Figures from few tests can swing widely from year to year. Every Pennsylvania county’s own figure is in the Pennsylvania county table.
Measured: CDC tracking data. Figure above: 2020. Measured data period: 2005 to 2020 (every CDC figure on file).
Lehigh County, State data
What Pennsylvania's own agencies publish about radon tests in Lehigh County, with their period. These are not CDC's figures and are never added to them.
Pennsylvania DEP publishes its figures by ZIP code, not by county. These are the 36 ZIP codes that lie wholly or partly in Lehigh County, each with the state's own figures for it. Period: Period not stated by DEP.
| ZIP code | What the state reports |
|---|---|
| 18011 | Basement: average 5.4 pCi/L, 870 tests; First floor: average 3.9 pCi/L, 68 tests |
| 18015 | Basement: average 6.9 pCi/L, 4,055 tests; First floor: average 4.2 pCi/L, 686 tests |
| 18017 | Basement: average 6.6 pCi/L, 9,647 tests; First floor: average 3.8 pCi/L, 1,380 tests |
| 18018 | Basement: average 5.8 pCi/L, 4,815 tests; First floor: average 3.0 pCi/L, 561 tests |
| 18031 | Basement: average 12.6 pCi/L, 2,419 tests; First floor: average 6.8 pCi/L, 195 tests |
| 18032 | Basement: average 7.1 pCi/L, 928 tests; First floor: average 3.5 pCi/L, 85 tests |
| 18034 | Basement: average 7.4 pCi/L, 2,455 tests; First floor: average 6.1 pCi/L, 254 tests |
| 18036 | Basement: average 20.1 pCi/L, 4,175 tests; First floor: average 17.6 pCi/L, 519 tests |
| 18037 | Basement: average 10.9 pCi/L, 1,344 tests; First floor: average 6.5 pCi/L, 107 tests |
| 18041 | Basement: average 4.8 pCi/L, 647 tests; First floor: average 2.7 pCi/L, 126 tests |
| 18046 | Basement: figures not shown; First floor: figures not shown |
| 18049 | Basement: average 8.3 pCi/L, 4,361 tests; First floor: average 4.5 pCi/L, 577 tests |
| 18051 | Basement: average 20.4 pCi/L, 1,508 tests; First floor: average 9.3 pCi/L, 247 tests |
| 18052 | Basement: average 8.0 pCi/L, 3,481 tests; First floor: average 4.0 pCi/L, 352 tests |
| 18053 | Basement: average 27.5 pCi/L, 405 tests; First floor: average 12.1 pCi/L, 37 tests |
| 18059 | Basement: average 15.1 pCi/L, 294 tests; First floor: average 5.8 pCi/L, 36 tests |
| 18062 | Basement: average 6.6 pCi/L, 6,051 tests; First floor: average 4.2 pCi/L, 599 tests |
| 18065 | Basement: average 15.3 pCi/L, 44 tests; First floor: figures not shown |
| 18066 | Basement: average 21.0 pCi/L, 1,323 tests; First floor: average 6.6 pCi/L, 195 tests |
| 18069 | Basement: average 17.0 pCi/L, 2,589 tests; First floor: average 9.5 pCi/L, 196 tests |
| 18078 | Basement: average 18.1 pCi/L, 2,029 tests; First floor: average 13.2 pCi/L, 178 tests |
| 18079 | Basement: figures not shown; First floor: figures not shown |
| 18080 | Basement: average 19.6 pCi/L, 1,691 tests; First floor: average 7.9 pCi/L, 223 tests |
| 18087 | Basement: average 4.5 pCi/L, 68 tests; First floor: figures not shown |
| 18092 | Basement: average 14.1 pCi/L, 786 tests; First floor: average 10.0 pCi/L, 102 tests |
| 18101 | Basement: average 4.9 pCi/L, 226 tests; First floor: average 1.1 pCi/L, 60 tests |
| 18102 | Basement: average 5.2 pCi/L, 1,689 tests; First floor: average 2.5 pCi/L, 194 tests |
| 18103 | Basement: average 7.1 pCi/L, 6,882 tests; First floor: average 4.8 pCi/L, 827 tests |
| 18104 | Basement: average 6.8 pCi/L, 11,051 tests; First floor: average 4.2 pCi/L, 1,229 tests |
| 18106 | Basement: average 8.4 pCi/L, 1,908 tests; First floor: average 4.3 pCi/L, 190 tests |
| 18109 | Basement: average 5.1 pCi/L, 872 tests; First floor: average 2.7 pCi/L, 74 tests |
| 18195 | Basement: figures not shown |
| 18951 | Basement: average 4.6 pCi/L, 5,103 tests; First floor: average 2.1 pCi/L, 1,063 tests |
| 19529 | Basement: average 23.0 pCi/L, 445 tests; First floor: average 8.0 pCi/L, 63 tests |
| 19530 | Basement: average 18.7 pCi/L, 1,541 tests; First floor: average 9.2 pCi/L, 348 tests |
| 19539 | Basement: average 10.7 pCi/L, 567 tests; First floor: average 7.1 pCi/L, 61 tests |
Measured: Pennsylvania DEP data, Period not stated by DEP.
Radon Action Brief
National Radon Action MonthPre-sale
Save 64%Sale price: $8.99Price after the sale: $25Ends Jan 31Then $25Sale ends January 31, then $25
Local help
Lehigh County, Local resources
Who tests and fixes radon in Lehigh County: listed businesses, Pennsylvania's radon program and test kits.
Listed radon businesses with an address in Lehigh County:
Through an EPA-funded program, hospitals give parents of newborn children a packet of information which includes a coupon for a free radon test kit from the DEP.
Listed radon professionals by town: Allentown, Emmaus, Macungie
The Radon Certification Act requires DEP to establish by regulation, a certification program for persons conducting radon gas and radon progeny testing, laboratory analysis and mitigation...
What it means
Lehigh County, Questions
No listed mitigator names Lehigh County as a service area yet; the Pennsylvania directory lists 153 companies. EPA recommends having a qualified contractor fix a home with a radon problem, because lowering high radon levels takes technical knowledge and special skills, and some states require the work to be done by a licensed or certified professional. Your state radon program is the place to check whether Pennsylvania requires one.
Radon mitigation: how it worksRadon mitigation costRadon mitigation systemsMitigators in Pennsylvania
EPA says you can test your home yourself or hire a qualified radon test company, and that either approach takes only a small amount of time and effort. No radon testing business listed on Radon411 has an address in Lehigh County or names it as a service area yet. The Pennsylvania radon program is the place to ask about certified testers and any test kit offer it runs.
Radon testing: how to test a homeRadon test kits comparedFree and low-cost kits by stateRadon Action Month checklistPennsylvania radon program
In 2020, 39.8% of the radon tests reported to CDC for Lehigh County, Pennsylvania were at or above 4 pCi/L, and the median reported pre-mitigation result was 2.7 pCi/L. That is a share of reported tests, not of homes. EPA places Lehigh County in Zone 1, highest predicted potential, a predicted average indoor screening level greater than 4 pCi/L. Homes with elevated levels occur in all three zones, so the figures describe the area, not your house. Testing is the only way to know the radon level in a specific building.
Radon levels: what a result meansWhat is radon?Radon levels in Pennsylvania
EPA places Lehigh County, Pennsylvania in Zone 1, which EPA describes as highest predicted potential for the area. A zone is a prediction for the whole county and never determines whether a particular home should be tested. EPA recommends testing every home regardless of zone.
Yes. Testing is the only way to know the radon level in a specific building. EPA recommends fixing a home when the radon level is 4 pCi/L or higher. EPA recommends considering a fix when the level is between 2 and 4 pCi/L. How to test a home.
EPA says short-term tests stay in the home from 2 to 90 days and that all radon tests should run a minimum of 48 hours; long-term tests stay more than 90 days. EPA's guides do not name a best season: they say radon levels tend to vary from day to day and season to season, so a long-term test is more likely than a short-term test to tell you the year-round average.
EPA's Citizen's Guide calls testing easy and inexpensive, and EPA's Home Buyer's and Seller's Guide says passive short-term and long-term devices are generally inexpensive, while active devices may cost more. No national average price is published for this, so Radon411 does not give one. What testing costs.
Lehigh County borders 6 counties, derived from Census county geometry. Radon potential follows geology rather than county lines, so a bordering county's report can be relevant.
The reported-test figures on this page describe Lehigh County, Pennsylvania in 2020. They describe tests other people carried out in other buildings, and none of them measures yours.
What the published data says about Lehigh County, in words. A zone and a share of tests describe an area, never the level in any one home.
EPA places Lehigh County in Zone 1, highest predicted potential, as it does 48 other counties of Pennsylvania's 67.
Of the 6 bordering counties, EPA places Berks County, Bucks County, Carbon County, Montgomery County, Northampton County and Schuylkill County in Zone 1.
CDC has annual figures for Lehigh County for 7 years, 2014 to 2020. In 2020, 39.8% of 3,103 reported tests were at or above 4 pCi/L.
Across those years the share ranged from 39.8% (2020) to 46.5% (2014). Few tests in a year can move it a long way.
Pennsylvania's radon program is the Radon Division, run by Department of Environmental Protection; its contacts are under Local resources.
The county's largest incorporated places are Allentown, Bethlehem and Emmaus; the figures here cover them as part of the county.
Products
Lehigh County, Products
Whatever the figures for Lehigh County show, only a test tells you about one home.
Test kits and monitors: 1 of 42
As an Amazon Associate, Radon411 earns from qualifying purchases.
Lehigh County is in EPA Zone 1, the highest predicted radon potential. Best radon monitors for Zone 1 counties like Lehigh County
Testing: 1 of 5
Mitigation: 1 of 3
Explore
Lehigh County, Bordering counties
counties bordering Lehigh County: 1 of 6
6 counties share a boundary with Lehigh County, computed from Census county geometry. Radon potential follows geology rather than county lines, so a bordering county’s report can be worth reading alongside this one.
Lehigh County, Cities and towns
The radon figures on this page are for Lehigh County as a whole. They do not differ by city or town.
Places in Lehigh County with a city page: 1 of 1
10 incorporated places, as listed in the U.S. Census Bureau’s 2020 place reference files. “(part)” marks a place that extends into another county.
Lehigh County, Next steps
What to do next: 1 of 4
Informational. Follow EPA guidance. EPA says all radon tests should be taken for a minimum of 48 hours, with windows and doors closed from 12 hours before a short-term test.