Skip to content
$5

County radon report

Get it

Locations and reports

Radon Levels in Bradford County, Pennsylvania

Zone 1Highest predicted potential1,160 square miles · 7 bordering counties

What this means for you

  • Your area: EPA rates Bradford County Zone 1, the highest of its three radon zones. That is a prediction for the whole county, and homes with elevated levels occur in all three zones.
  • Local tests: Of 286 radon tests reported to CDC for Bradford County (2020), 43.4% were at or above 4 pCi/L, EPA's action level.
  • Your home: The only way to know your home’s level is to test it.

pCi/L (picocuries per liter) is the unit radon is measured in. EPA recommends fixing a home at 4 pCi/L or above, its action level.

In 2020, 43.4% of the radon tests reported to CDC for Bradford County, Pennsylvania came back at or above the EPA action level of 4 pCi/L, and the median result was 3.4 pCi/L. EPA's Map of Radon Zones places the county in Zone 1, highest predicted potential. Radon levels vary from home to home, so only a test measures the level in yours.

Predicted: EPA radon zone

EPA Zone 1: highest predicted potential

EPA predicts an average indoor of greater than 4 pCi/L (greater than 150 Bq/m³) across the county as a whole.

This is a county-level geologic prediction. It is not a measurement of any address, and houses with elevated radon are found in all three zones.

USGS geologic potential: Low across 100% of the county's land area

Predicted: EPA Map of Radon Zones

Measured: tests reported to CDC

Radon tests reported for Bradford County, 2020

Tests reported
286
At or above 4 pCi/L
43.4%
Median result
3.4 pCi/L
Reported results by concentration band, Bradford County, 2020
Under 2 pCi/L: 33%2 to 4 pCi/L: 23%4 pCi/L and above: 43%

Of 286 pre-mitigation tests reported to CDC, not homes in this area. CDC publishes the share in each band, not a count per band, so the per-band counts in the table are calculated by Radon411 and rounded to add up to the published total.

Reported results by concentration band, Bradford County, 2020: data table
Result bandTests Calculated by Radon411Share Measured
Under 2 pCi/L9533.2%
2 to 4 pCi/L6723.4%
4 pCi/L and above12443.4%

Distribution of tested buildings, not this house. People testing before a sale, or because they suspect a problem, are over-represented in any reported testing data.

Measured: CDC tracking data. Figure above: 2020. Measured data period: 2005 to 2020 (every CDC figure on file).

Bradford County, In figures

Bradford County in figures

What the published data says about Bradford County, in words. A zone and a share of tests describe an area, never the level in any one home.

    • Predicted

      Predicted

      EPA places Bradford County in Zone 1, highest predicted potential, as it does 48 other counties of Pennsylvania's 67.

      Of the 7 bordering counties, EPA places Chemung County, Lycoming County, Sullivan County, Susquehanna County, Tioga County, Tioga County and Wyoming County in Zone 1.

  • Reported tests

    Measured

    CDC has annual figures for Bradford County for 7 years, 2014 to 2020. In 2020, 43.4% of 286 reported tests were at or above 4 pCi/L.

    Across those years the share ranged from 36.0% (2014) to 47.9% (2015). Few tests in a year can move it a long way.

  • Local record

    Pennsylvania's radon program is the Radon Division, run by Department of Environmental Protection; its contacts are under Local resources.

    The county's largest incorporated places are Sayre, Athens and Towanda; the figures here cover them as part of the county.

Bradford County, Reported testing

Reported testing over time

Measured
Reported radon test results by year, Bradford County, pCi/LLogarithmic scale: each step up the axis multiplies the level, so the median and the single highest result can share one chart. The darker gridline is EPA's action level, 4 pCi/L.
Median reported resultHighest reported result
Reported radon test results by year, Bradford County, pCi/L: data table
YearMedian reported resultHighest reported resultShare of tests at or above 4 pCi/L
20142.5 pCi/L53.5 pCi/L36.0%
20153.7 pCi/L89.0 pCi/L47.9%
20163.1 pCi/L57.3 pCi/L42.5%
20172.9 pCi/L97.6 pCi/L40.8%
20183.3 pCi/L171.2 pCi/L43.2%
20192.7 pCi/L67.9 pCi/L38.4%
20203.4 pCi/L127.0 pCi/L43.4%

What these figures count

Every percentage here is a share of radon tests reported to CDC for Bradford County in 2020. It is not a share of homes in Bradford County, and it is not a random sample: it counts only the tests people chose to run and that were reported.

The shares and the median are calculated from pre-mitigation tests (286 for 2020). CDC also reports the number of buildings tested (196), a different count, so the two totals are not interchangeable.

Bradford County, State data

Pennsylvania's own radon test data

Measured

What Pennsylvania's own agencies publish about radon tests in Bradford County, with their period. These are not CDC's figures and are never added to them.

MeasuredState figures, not CDC's

What Pennsylvania DEP reports for the ZIP codes in Bradford County

Pennsylvania DEP publishes its figures by ZIP code, not by county. These are the 28 ZIP codes that lie wholly or partly in Bradford County, each with the state's own figures for it. Period: Period not stated by DEP.

ZIP codes in Bradford County
ZIP codeWhat the state reports
16910Basement: figures not shown; First floor: figures not shown
16914Basement: average 6.6 pCi/L, 43 tests; First floor: figures not shown
16925Basement: average 7.5 pCi/L, 123 tests; First floor: average 4.6 pCi/L, 40 tests
16926Basement: figures not shown; First floor: figures not shown
16936Basement: average 9.4 pCi/L, 75 tests; First floor: figures not shown
16947Basement: average 4.6 pCi/L, 196 tests; First floor: average 2.2 pCi/L, 68 tests
17724Basement: average 7.8 pCi/L, 132 tests; First floor: average 3.4 pCi/L, 60 tests
17765Basement: average 4.4 pCi/L, 35 tests; First floor: figures not shown
18614Basement: average 13.4 pCi/L, 125 tests; First floor: figures not shown
18616Basement: average 5.0 pCi/L, 38 tests; First floor: figures not shown
18623Basement: average 6.8 pCi/L, 68 tests; First floor: figures not shown
18810Basement: average 8.3 pCi/L, 626 tests; First floor: average 3.8 pCi/L, 187 tests
18814Basement: figures not shown; First floor: figures not shown
18817Basement: figures not shown; First floor: figures not shown
18829Basement: figures not shown; First floor: figures not shown
18830Basement: average 13.4 pCi/L, 34 tests; First floor: figures not shown
18831Basement: average 9.8 pCi/L, 57 tests; First floor: figures not shown
18832Basement: average 7.7 pCi/L, 41 tests; First floor: figures not shown
18833Basement: average 6.3 pCi/L, 44 tests; First floor: figures not shown
18837Basement: average 6.6 pCi/L, 93 tests; First floor: figures not shown
18840Basement: average 11.2 pCi/L, 1,503 tests; First floor: average 5.4 pCi/L, 317 tests
18845Basement: figures not shown; First floor: figures not shown
18846Basement: average 9.4 pCi/L, 36 tests; First floor: figures not shown
18848Basement: average 4.5 pCi/L, 491 tests; First floor: average 2.3 pCi/L, 199 tests
18850Basement: average 7.5 pCi/L, 76 tests; First floor: figures not shown
18851Basement: figures not shown; First floor: figures not shown
18853Basement: average 7.9 pCi/L, 176 tests; First floor: average 3.9 pCi/L, 57 tests
18854Basement: average 15.5 pCi/L, 49 tests; First floor: figures not shown
  • DEP's report gives the number of tests, the highest result and the average result for each floor tested; it states no period.
  • DEP says the smartest thing to do is to test your home for radon, no matter where you live.
  • A ZIP code that crosses the county line is listed whole; its figures cover all of it.

Measured: Pennsylvania DEP data, Period not stated by DEP.

Bradford County, Comparison

How Bradford County compares

Measured

Bradford County's own published CDC figures beside those of the counties that border it, for the same period.

Share of reported tests at or above 4 pCi/L

Measured

2020, highest first. Each county’s own published CDC figure.

  1. Lycoming CountyPA562 tests45.2%
  2. Tioga CountyPA160 tests45.0%
  3. Bradford CountyThis page286 tests43.4%
  4. Susquehanna CountyPA116 tests37.9%
  5. Tioga CountyNY34 tests32.4%
  6. Wyoming CountyPA123 tests30.9%
  7. Sullivan CountyPA31 tests29.0%
  8. Chemung CountyNY5 tests0.0%

Median reported result

Measured

2020, highest first. Each county’s own published CDC figure.

  1. Lycoming CountyPA562 tests3.5 pCi/L
  2. Bradford CountyThis page286 tests3.4 pCi/L
  3. Tioga CountyPA160 tests3.2 pCi/L
  4. Susquehanna CountyPA116 tests3.0 pCi/L
  5. Chemung CountyNY5 tests2.6 pCi/L
  6. Tioga CountyNY34 tests2.5 pCi/L
  7. Sullivan CountyPA31 tests2.0 pCi/L
  8. Wyoming CountyPA123 tests2.0 pCi/L

Each figure is that county’s own published CDC figure for 2020, counting radon tests reported to CDC, not homes. Bradford County is this page. Nothing is averaged or combined across counties. The test count beside each county is CDC’s published number of pre-mitigation tests behind its figures. Figures from few tests can swing widely from year to year. Every Pennsylvania county’s own figure is in the Pennsylvania county table.

CDC publishes this figure only for counties here, so there is no state or national number to compare Bradford County, Pennsylvania with.

Bradford County, Bordering counties

Counties bordering Bradford County

Calculated by Radon411

Bradford County, Local resources

Local resources in Pennsylvania

Who to ask in Pennsylvania: the state's radon program, test kits and professionals.

Radon Division

Department of Environmental Protection

Pennsylvania’s radon program answers questions about testing, mitigation and the rules where you live.

Phone
800-237-2366
Licensing of radon professionals
The Radon Certification Act requires DEP to establish by regulation, a certification program for persons conducting radon gas and radon progeny testing, laboratory analysis and mitigation...
Visit the program's page(opens in a new tab)

Test kits

The program says: Through an EPA-funded program, hospitals give parents of newborn children a packet of information which includes a coupon for a free radon test kit from the DEP.

Radon professionals

755 professionals are listed in Pennsylvania.

Professionals in Pennsylvania

Bradford County, Cities and towns

Cities and towns in Bradford County

The radon figures on this page are for Bradford County as a whole. They do not differ by city or town.

  • Sayre
  • Athens
  • Towanda
  • Canton
  • Troy
  • South Waverly
  • Wyalusing
  • Monroe
  • Rome
  • LeRaysville
  • New Albany
  • Sylvania
  • Burlington
  • Alba

14 incorporated places, as listed in the U.S. Census Bureau’s 2020 place reference files.

Bradford County, Questions

Questions about radon in Bradford County

Common questions8 questions, answered from the figures above

Are radon levels high in Bradford County?

In 2020, 43.4% of the radon tests reported to CDC for Bradford County, Pennsylvania were at or above 4 pCi/L, and the median reported pre-mitigation result was 3.4 pCi/L. That is a share of reported tests, not of homes. EPA places Bradford County in Zone 1, highest predicted potential, a predicted average indoor screening level greater than 4 pCi/L. Homes with elevated levels occur in all three zones, so the figures describe the area, not your house. Testing is the only way to know the radon level in a specific building.

What a radon level meansRadon in Pennsylvania

How do I get a radon test in Bradford County?

EPA says you can test your home yourself or hire a qualified radon test company, and that either approach takes only a small amount of time and effort. No certified tester listed on Radon411 names Bradford County as a service area yet. The Pennsylvania radon program is the place to ask about certified testers and any test kit offer it runs.

How to test a homeTest kits comparedFree and low-cost kits by statePennsylvania radon program

Who does radon mitigation in Bradford County?

No listed mitigator names Bradford County as a service area yet; the Pennsylvania directory lists 755 companies. EPA recommends having a qualified contractor fix a home with a radon problem, because lowering high radon levels takes technical knowledge and special skills, and some states require the work to be done by a licensed or certified professional. Your state radon program is the place to check whether Pennsylvania requires one.

How radon mitigation worksWhat mitigation costsMitigators in Pennsylvania

What EPA radon zone is Bradford County in?

EPA places Bradford County, Pennsylvania in Zone 1, which EPA describes as highest predicted potential for the area. A zone is a prediction for the whole county and never determines whether a particular home should be tested. EPA recommends testing every home regardless of zone.

Should I test my home in Bradford County?

Yes. Testing is the only way to know the radon level in a specific building. EPA recommends fixing a home when the radon level is 4 pCi/L or higher. EPA recommends considering a fix when the level is between 2 and 4 pCi/L. How to test a home.

When is the best time of year to test?

EPA says short-term tests stay in the home from 2 to 90 days and that all radon tests should run a minimum of 48 hours; long-term tests stay more than 90 days. EPA's guides do not name a best season: they say radon levels tend to vary from day to day and season to season, so a long-term test is more likely than a short-term test to tell you the year-round average.

What does it cost to test?

EPA's Citizen's Guide calls testing easy and inexpensive, and EPA's Home Buyer's and Seller's Guide says passive short-term and long-term devices are generally inexpensive, while active devices may cost more. No national average price is published for this, so Radon411 does not give one. What testing costs.

Which counties border Bradford County?

Bradford County borders 7 counties, derived from Census county geometry. Radon potential follows geology rather than county lines, so a bordering county's report can be relevant.

What these figures mean if you own, buy, sell or rent

The reported-test figures on this page describe Bradford County, Pennsylvania in 2020. They describe tests other people carried out in other buildings, and none of them measures yours.

  • If you own your home

    Test the lowest lived-in level; a short-term kit screens in days, a long-term kit reflects the year.

    How to test a home
  • If you are buying

    Ask for past results and any system's post-mitigation test, and test during the sale.

    Buying a house: radon guide
  • If you are selling

    Testing before you list puts the timing in your hands; disclosure rules differ by state.

    Selling a house: radon guide
  • If you rent, or rent out a home

    A tenant can test; a fix is the owner's to make, and duties differ by state.

    Radon in rental homes

How long a test has to run, under what conditions, and what EPA says a result means: the testing standard, in full.

Bradford County, Products

Testing and mitigation products

Whatever the figures for Bradford County show, only a test tells you about one home.

Bradford County / Next steps

What to do next

Informational. Follow EPA guidance. EPA says all radon tests should be taken for a minimum of 48 hours, with windows and doors closed from 12 hours before a short-term test.