Skip to content
$5

County radon report

Get it

Locations and reports

Radon Levels in Butler County, Pennsylvania

Zone 1Highest predicted potential794 square miles · 8 bordering counties

What this means for you

  • Your area: EPA rates Butler County Zone 1, the highest of its three radon zones. That is a prediction for the whole county, and homes with elevated levels occur in all three zones.
  • Local tests: Of 1,492 radon tests reported to CDC for Butler County (2020), 42.3% were at or above 4 pCi/L, EPA's action level.
  • Your home: The only way to know your home’s level is to test it.

pCi/L (picocuries per liter) is the unit radon is measured in. EPA recommends fixing a home at 4 pCi/L or above, its action level.

In 2020, 42.3% of the radon tests reported to CDC for Butler County, Pennsylvania came back at or above the EPA action level of 4 pCi/L, and the median result was 3.3 pCi/L. EPA's Map of Radon Zones places the county in Zone 1, highest predicted potential. Radon levels vary from home to home, so only a test measures the level in yours.

Predicted: EPA radon zone

EPA Zone 1: highest predicted potential

EPA predicts an average indoor of greater than 4 pCi/L (greater than 150 Bq/m³) across the county as a whole.

This is a county-level geologic prediction. It is not a measurement of any address, and houses with elevated radon are found in all three zones.

USGS geologic potential: Low across 98% of the county's land area

Predicted: EPA Map of Radon Zones

Measured: tests reported to CDC

Radon tests reported for Butler County, 2020

Tests reported
1,492
At or above 4 pCi/L
42.3%
Median result
3.3 pCi/L
Reported results by concentration band, Butler County, 2020
Under 2 pCi/L: 32%2 to 4 pCi/L: 25%4 pCi/L and above: 42%

Of 1,492 pre-mitigation tests reported to CDC, not homes in this area. CDC publishes the share in each band, not a count per band, so the per-band counts in the table are calculated by Radon411 and rounded to add up to the published total.

Reported results by concentration band, Butler County, 2020: data table
Result bandTests Calculated by Radon411Share Measured
Under 2 pCi/L48332.4%
2 to 4 pCi/L37825.3%
4 pCi/L and above63142.3%

Distribution of tested buildings, not this house. People testing before a sale, or because they suspect a problem, are over-represented in any reported testing data.

Measured: CDC tracking data. Figure above: 2020. Measured data period: 2005 to 2020 (every CDC figure on file).

Butler County, In figures

Butler County in figures

What the published data says about Butler County, in words. A zone and a share of tests describe an area, never the level in any one home.

    • Predicted

      Predicted

      EPA places Butler County in Zone 1, highest predicted potential, as it does 48 other counties of Pennsylvania's 67.

      Of the 8 bordering counties, EPA places Allegheny County, Armstrong County, Beaver County, Clarion County, Venango County and Westmoreland County in Zone 1 and Lawrence County and Mercer County in Zone 2.

  • Reported tests

    Measured

    CDC has annual figures for Butler County for 7 years, 2014 to 2020. In 2020, 42.3% of 1,492 reported tests were at or above 4 pCi/L.

    Across those years the share ranged from 41.1% (2019) to 47.3% (2014). Few tests in a year can move it a long way.

  • Local record

    Pennsylvania's radon program is the Radon Division, run by Department of Environmental Protection; its contacts are under Local resources.

    The county's largest incorporated places are Butler, Zelienople and Slippery Rock; the figures here cover them as part of the county.

Butler County, Reported testing

Reported testing over time

Measured
Reported radon test results by year, Butler County, pCi/LLogarithmic scale: each step up the axis multiplies the level, so the median and the single highest result can share one chart. The darker gridline is EPA's action level, 4 pCi/L.
Median reported resultHighest reported result
Reported radon test results by year, Butler County, pCi/L: data table
YearMedian reported resultHighest reported resultShare of tests at or above 4 pCi/L
20143.5 pCi/L171.0 pCi/L47.3%
20153.6 pCi/L134.3 pCi/L46.9%
20163.2 pCi/L132.1 pCi/L43.3%
20173.4 pCi/L246.6 pCi/L45.2%
20183.1 pCi/L111.8 pCi/L42.2%
20193.1 pCi/L132.7 pCi/L41.1%
20203.3 pCi/L301.1 pCi/L42.3%

What these figures count

Every percentage here is a share of radon tests reported to CDC for Butler County in 2020. It is not a share of homes in Butler County, and it is not a random sample: it counts only the tests people chose to run and that were reported.

The shares and the median are calculated from pre-mitigation tests (1,492 for 2020). CDC also reports the number of buildings tested (1,051), a different count, so the two totals are not interchangeable.

Butler County, State data

Pennsylvania's own radon test data

Measured

What Pennsylvania's own agencies publish about radon tests in Butler County, with their period. These are not CDC's figures and are never added to them.

MeasuredState figures, not CDC's

What Pennsylvania DEP reports for the ZIP codes in Butler County

Pennsylvania DEP publishes its figures by ZIP code, not by county. These are the 37 ZIP codes that lie wholly or partly in Butler County, each with the state's own figures for it. Period: Period not stated by DEP.

ZIP codes in Butler County
ZIP codeWhat the state reports
15044Basement: average 7.9 pCi/L, 9,325 tests; First floor: average 6.2 pCi/L, 669 tests
15086Basement: average 6.0 pCi/L, 193 tests; First floor: figures not shown
16001Basement: average 9.0 pCi/L, 5,477 tests; First floor: average 6.5 pCi/L, 669 tests
16002Basement: average 11.5 pCi/L, 1,892 tests; First floor: average 10.1 pCi/L, 69 tests
16020Basement: average 12.0 pCi/L, 96 tests; First floor: figures not shown
16022Basement: figures not shown; First floor: figures not shown
16023Basement: average 10.5 pCi/L, 387 tests; First floor: figures not shown
16024Basement: figures not shown; First floor: figures not shown
16025Basement: average 14.5 pCi/L, 309 tests; First floor: average 8.3 pCi/L, 31 tests
16027Basement: average 6.6 pCi/L, 50 tests; First floor: figures not shown
16029Basement: average 9.0 pCi/L, 44 tests; First floor: figures not shown
16030Basement: figures not shown; First floor: figures not shown
16033Basement: average 9.5 pCi/L, 1,003 tests; First floor: average 4.3 pCi/L, 88 tests
16034Basement: average 16.5 pCi/L, 136 tests; First floor: figures not shown
16035Basement: figures not shown; First floor: figures not shown
16037Basement: average 9.8 pCi/L, 966 tests; First floor: average 6.9 pCi/L, 102 tests
16038Basement: average 10.9 pCi/L, 95 tests; First floor: figures not shown
16040Basement: figures not shown; First floor: figures not shown
16041Basement: average 25.9 pCi/L, 93 tests; First floor: figures not shown
16045Basement: average 9.2 pCi/L, 67 tests; First floor: figures not shown
16046Basement: average 7.0 pCi/L, 4,895 tests; First floor: average 4.6 pCi/L, 365 tests
16048Basement: figures not shown
16049Basement: average 14.4 pCi/L, 79 tests; First floor: figures not shown
16050Basement: average 11.2 pCi/L, 82 tests; First floor: figures not shown
16051Basement: average 11.7 pCi/L, 269 tests; First floor: figures not shown
16052Basement: average 15.2 pCi/L, 202 tests; First floor: figures not shown
16053Basement: average 10.9 pCi/L, 422 tests; First floor: average 5.6 pCi/L, 46 tests
16055Basement: average 9.8 pCi/L, 1,378 tests; First floor: average 5.0 pCi/L, 72 tests
16056Basement: average 9.1 pCi/L, 662 tests; First floor: average 4.1 pCi/L, 55 tests
16057Basement: average 5.9 pCi/L, 782 tests; First floor: average 2.6 pCi/L, 65 tests
16059Basement: average 9.6 pCi/L, 1,665 tests; First floor: average 5.0 pCi/L, 162 tests
16061Basement: average 16.3 pCi/L, 175 tests; First floor: figures not shown
16063Basement: average 6.9 pCi/L, 1,349 tests; First floor: average 4.0 pCi/L, 97 tests
16066Basement: average 5.2 pCi/L, 8,999 tests; First floor: average 3.7 pCi/L, 347 tests
16127Basement: average 4.5 pCi/L, 1,205 tests; First floor: average 3.1 pCi/L, 125 tests
16229Basement: average 10.9 pCi/L, 458 tests; First floor: average 10.5 pCi/L, 36 tests
16373Basement: average 27.0 pCi/L, 155 tests; First floor: average 11.8 pCi/L, 46 tests
  • DEP's report gives the number of tests, the highest result and the average result for each floor tested; it states no period.
  • DEP says the smartest thing to do is to test your home for radon, no matter where you live.
  • A ZIP code that crosses the county line is listed whole; its figures cover all of it.

Measured: Pennsylvania DEP data, Period not stated by DEP.

Butler County, Comparison

How Butler County compares

Measured

Butler County's own published CDC figures beside those of the counties that border it, for the same period.

Share of reported tests at or above 4 pCi/L

Measured

2020, highest first. Each county’s own published CDC figure.

  1. Armstrong CountyPA187 tests47.6%
  2. Beaver CountyPA868 tests42.4%
  3. Butler CountyThis page1,492 tests42.3%
  4. Lawrence CountyPA286 tests36.0%
  5. Westmoreland CountyPA1,588 tests34.9%
  6. Venango CountyPA179 tests34.1%
  7. Clarion CountyPA107 tests31.8%
  8. Mercer CountyPA318 tests31.4%
  9. Allegheny CountyPA8,337 tests30.5%

Median reported result

Measured

2020, highest first. Each county’s own published CDC figure.

  1. Armstrong CountyPA187 tests3.7 pCi/L
  2. Butler CountyThis page1,492 tests3.3 pCi/L
  3. Beaver CountyPA868 tests3.2 pCi/L
  4. Venango CountyPA179 tests3.0 pCi/L
  5. Clarion CountyPA107 tests2.9 pCi/L
  6. Lawrence CountyPA286 tests2.7 pCi/L
  7. Westmoreland CountyPA1,588 tests2.6 pCi/L
  8. Allegheny CountyPA8,337 tests2.5 pCi/L
  9. Mercer CountyPA318 tests2.5 pCi/L

Each figure is that county’s own published CDC figure for 2020, counting radon tests reported to CDC, not homes. Butler County is this page. Nothing is averaged or combined across counties. The test count beside each county is CDC’s published number of pre-mitigation tests behind its figures. Figures from few tests can swing widely from year to year. Every Pennsylvania county’s own figure is in the Pennsylvania county table.

CDC publishes this figure only for counties here, so there is no state or national number to compare Butler County, Pennsylvania with.

Butler County, Bordering counties

Counties bordering Butler County

Calculated by Radon411

Butler County, Local resources

Local resources in Pennsylvania

Who to ask in Pennsylvania: the state's radon program, test kits and professionals.

Radon Division

Department of Environmental Protection

Pennsylvania’s radon program answers questions about testing, mitigation and the rules where you live.

Phone
800-237-2366
Licensing of radon professionals
The Radon Certification Act requires DEP to establish by regulation, a certification program for persons conducting radon gas and radon progeny testing, laboratory analysis and mitigation...
Visit the program's page(opens in a new tab)

Test kits

The program says: Through an EPA-funded program, hospitals give parents of newborn children a packet of information which includes a coupon for a free radon test kit from the DEP.

Radon professionals

755 professionals are listed in Pennsylvania.

Professionals in Pennsylvania

Butler County, Cities and towns

Cities and towns in Butler County

The radon figures on this page are for Butler County as a whole. They do not differ by city or town.

  • Butler
  • Zelienople
  • Slippery Rock
  • Seven Fields
  • Evans City
  • Mars
  • Saxonburg
  • Prospect
  • Harmony
  • Chicora
  • Connoquenessing
  • Harrisville
  • East Butler
  • Valencia
  • Bruin
  • Callery
  • West Liberty
  • Eau Claire
  • Portersville
  • Fairview
  • West Sunbury
  • Petrolia
  • Karns City
  • Cherry Valley

24 incorporated places, as listed in the U.S. Census Bureau’s 2020 place reference files.

Butler County, Questions

Questions about radon in Butler County

Common questions8 questions, answered from the figures above

Who does radon mitigation in Butler County?

No listed mitigator names Butler County as a service area yet; the Pennsylvania directory lists 755 companies. EPA recommends having a qualified contractor fix a home with a radon problem, because lowering high radon levels takes technical knowledge and special skills, and some states require the work to be done by a licensed or certified professional. Your state radon program is the place to check whether Pennsylvania requires one.

How radon mitigation worksWhat mitigation costsMitigators in Pennsylvania

Are radon levels high in Butler County?

In 2020, 42.3% of the radon tests reported to CDC for Butler County, Pennsylvania were at or above 4 pCi/L, and the median reported pre-mitigation result was 3.3 pCi/L. That is a share of reported tests, not of homes. EPA places Butler County in Zone 1, highest predicted potential, a predicted average indoor screening level greater than 4 pCi/L. Homes with elevated levels occur in all three zones, so the figures describe the area, not your house. Testing is the only way to know the radon level in a specific building.

What a radon level meansRadon in Pennsylvania

How do I get a radon test in Butler County?

EPA says you can test your home yourself or hire a qualified radon test company, and that either approach takes only a small amount of time and effort. No certified tester listed on Radon411 names Butler County as a service area yet. The Pennsylvania radon program is the place to ask about certified testers and any test kit offer it runs.

How to test a homeTest kits comparedFree and low-cost kits by statePennsylvania radon program

What EPA radon zone is Butler County in?

EPA places Butler County, Pennsylvania in Zone 1, which EPA describes as highest predicted potential for the area. A zone is a prediction for the whole county and never determines whether a particular home should be tested. EPA recommends testing every home regardless of zone.

Should I test my home in Butler County?

Yes. Testing is the only way to know the radon level in a specific building. EPA recommends fixing a home when the radon level is 4 pCi/L or higher. EPA recommends considering a fix when the level is between 2 and 4 pCi/L. How to test a home.

When is the best time of year to test?

EPA says short-term tests stay in the home from 2 to 90 days and that all radon tests should run a minimum of 48 hours; long-term tests stay more than 90 days. EPA's guides do not name a best season: they say radon levels tend to vary from day to day and season to season, so a long-term test is more likely than a short-term test to tell you the year-round average.

What does it cost to test?

EPA's Citizen's Guide calls testing easy and inexpensive, and EPA's Home Buyer's and Seller's Guide says passive short-term and long-term devices are generally inexpensive, while active devices may cost more. No national average price is published for this, so Radon411 does not give one. What testing costs.

Which counties border Butler County?

Butler County borders 8 counties, derived from Census county geometry. Radon potential follows geology rather than county lines, so a bordering county's report can be relevant.

What these figures mean if you own, buy, sell or rent

The reported-test figures on this page describe Butler County, Pennsylvania in 2020. They describe tests other people carried out in other buildings, and none of them measures yours.

  • If you own your home

    Test the lowest lived-in level; a short-term kit screens in days, a long-term kit reflects the year.

    How to test a home
  • If you are buying

    Ask for past results and any system's post-mitigation test, and test during the sale.

    Buying a house: radon guide
  • If you are selling

    Testing before you list puts the timing in your hands; disclosure rules differ by state.

    Selling a house: radon guide
  • If you rent, or rent out a home

    A tenant can test; a fix is the owner's to make, and duties differ by state.

    Radon in rental homes

How long a test has to run, under what conditions, and what EPA says a result means: the testing standard, in full.

Butler County, Products

Testing and mitigation products

Whatever the figures for Butler County show, only a test tells you about one home.

Butler County / Next steps

What to do next

Informational. Follow EPA guidance. EPA says all radon tests should be taken for a minimum of 48 hours, with windows and doors closed from 12 hours before a short-term test.