Skip to content
$5

County radon report

Get it

Products

Airthings View Plus: radon and air quality monitor

By Radon411 Editorial TeamUpdated 3 min readHow we research

Short answer

The View Plus is Airthings' seven-sensor monitor: radon by alpha spectrometry, plus particulate matter (PM2.5), carbon dioxide, VOCs, temperature, humidity and air pressure, on a 2.9-inch e-paper screen with Wi-Fi. C-NRPP's 2023 report listed it as passing its performance test; its 2024/25 evaluation graded a device named the Airthings View B, C, B and B, without saying which View model it tested.

Disclosure: No link on this page earns Radon411 anything today. If we add affiliate links later, this line will say so above the first one. Coverage, order and wording never depend on them. How we handle affiliate links.

At a glance

Type
Continuous monitor, battery or USB-C, Wi-Fi, seven sensors
How it measures
Alpha spectrometry, passive diffusion chamber
First reading
Not stated by the manufacturer
Reading updates
Not stated by the manufacturer
Display and app
Built-in display, phone app, Bluetooth, Wi-Fi
Power
Battery: 6 AA batteries, or a USB-C cable
Units
pCi/L and Bq/m³ published
Price
Not shown. We print a price only from Amazon's live product data, with the time it was checked, and that feed is not connected yet.
Drawing of a battery-powered digital radon monitor with a small display
Our drawing of this type of device, not a photo of the Airthings View Plus.

What it is and how it works

Radon reaches the sensor through a passive diffusion chamber, and the detection method is alpha spectrometry, the same approach as the View Radon and Airthings' other radon monitors. The 2024 comparison in the journal Sensors lists the View Plus's detection principle as a photodiode with alpha spectrometry. The radon range runs from 0 to 500 pCi/L, or 0 to 20,000 Bq/m³.

The other six sensors sample every 5 minutes. Carbon dioxide is read by a non-dispersive infrared (NDIR) sensor over 400 to 5,000 ppm. Particulate matter is counted for particles from 300 nm to 10 μm, over a range of 0 to 1,000 μg/m³.

The 2.9-inch ePaper display shows the readings you choose, and a glow turns green, yellow or red. For radon, the colors change at 2.7 and 4 pCi/L; for carbon dioxide, at 800 and 1,000 ppm. The EPA's radon reference points are different from the glow: fix at 4 pCi/L, and consider fixing between 2 and 4 pCi/L.

It connects over 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, uses Bluetooth for setup and SmartLink for other Airthings devices, and runs on six AA batteries or a USB-C cable. With Wi-Fi and the cable connected, it acts as the hub that brings Airthings Wave monitors online. Readings, history and notifications are in the free Airthings app.

Independent evidence

Independent evidence

C-NRPP 2024/25
Approved in C-NRPP's 2024/25 consumer monitor evaluation

Listed by C-NRPP as "Airthings View". Results published May 2025.

Grade by round
  • Round 1B218 Bq/m³, 23°C, 28% RH, 7 days
  • Round 2C210 Bq/m³, 29°C, 70% RH, 7 days
  • Round 3B436 Bq/m³, 23°C, 36% RH, 7 days
  • Round 4B1,201 Bq/m³, 23°C, 35% RH, 7 days

C-NRPP grades each round by measurement error: A is 10% or less, B more than 10% and up to 20%, C more than 20% and up to 30%. It recommends devices that average B or better.

Earlier round

C-NRPP's 2023 report listed “Airthings View Plus” as having passed its performance test.

Recalls
No Health Canada recall or advisory names this device.
Peer-reviewed studies
  • In a 54-day field comparison at Spain's Laboratory of Natural Radiation (1 July to 23 August 2023), against a calibrated AlphaGUARD reference monitor, the View Plus's average for the whole period was 7.7 percent above the reference's, and 1.6 percent of its expected readings were not recorded. In the study's response-time test, a sharp rise that the reference followed in about 8 hours, it reached only the 10 percent level of the rise, not the 50 or 90 percent levels.
  • In a 54-day field comparison at Spain's Laboratory of Natural Radiation (1 July to 23 August 2023), against a calibrated AlphaGUARD reference monitor, the View Radon's average for the whole period was 10.0 percent above the reference's, and 0.8 percent of its expected readings were not recorded. In the study's response-time test, a sharp rise that the reference followed in about 8 hours, it reached only the 10 percent level of the rise, not the 50 or 90 percent levels.
Notes
  • C-NRPP's 2024/25 listing is named "Airthings View" and links Airthings' View Radon page (airthings.com/fr-ca/view-radon); it does not say which View model was tested. Its 2023 report listed the View Plus.
  • C-NRPP tested Canadian-market units; we have not confirmed the US versions are identical.

C-NRPP is the Canadian National Radon Proficiency Program. Its 2024/25 results were published in May 2025.

How C-NRPP says to use any consumer monitor

  • Leave it in place for at least three months, ideally through the heating season, when indoor radon tends to be highest.
  • Put it in a room someone uses for at least four hours a day.
  • Decide about fixing your home from the long-term average, not a single day or week.
  • If you can only run a monitor for less than 91 days, follow up with a long-term test.

What the manufacturer says

  • Airthings states radon accuracy and precision at 5.4 pCi/L (200 Bq/m³) of about 10% after 7 days and about 5% after 2 months.
  • C-NRPP lists the stated accuracy for the Airthings View as ±10% on the 7-day average and ±5% on the 2-month average, after 30 days at 200 Bq/m³.
  • Airthings states battery life of up to 2 years, depending on the sensor interval and the Wi-Fi router.
  • Airthings states carbon dioxide accuracy of ±50 ppm ±3% within 50 to 95°F and 0 to 80% relative humidity, after the initial calibration time.

These are Airthings's own statements, attributed to it. They are not our findings, and we have not tested this product ourselves.

Who it fits

Good fit if

  • You want radon and general indoor air quality in one device, in a living room or bedroom.
  • You want readings and alerts on your phone from anywhere, over Wi-Fi.
  • You want the choice of batteries or a USB-C cable.
  • You plan to add Airthings Wave monitors and want this one to be their hub.

Look elsewhere if

  • You only need radon; the View Radon measures radon, temperature and humidity.
  • You want a radon figure you can rely on within a day; Airthings states its radon accuracy after 7 days and after 2 months.
  • You want a monitor graded A in every C-NRPP round; the Airthings View listing graded B, C, B and B.
  • You need a result for a home sale; check what your state accepts before relying on any consumer monitor.

Setup and placement

Install the Airthings app on one of the three latest major versions of iOS or Android, with Bluetooth 4.2 or later, pair the monitor, then connect it to 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi.

For radon, the EPA's guidance for any home test applies: the lowest lived-in level, a room used regularly but not the kitchen or bathroom, at least 20 inches above the floor, and away from drafts, high heat, high humidity and exterior walls. C-NRPP adds a room used at least four hours a day and at least three months of data, ideally through the heating season.

That can pull two ways: radon is usually highest on the lowest floor, while the other air-quality readings matter most where people sleep and live. Airthings itself sells the View Plus with a View Radon as a living-room-and-basement pair.

For where any radon test or monitor should sit in a home, see where to place a radon test.

What is in the box, and what it costs to run

The box holds six AA batteries, a USB-C cable and a quick start guide with the monitor, which weighs 12.7 oz (360 g) with batteries and measures about 6.7 by 3.5 by 1.3 inches (17 by 9 by 3.3 cm). Airthings offers a free 5-year extended warranty if you register within 30 days of purchase.

No lab fee, and the Airthings app is free. On batteries, six AA cells last up to about two years by Airthings' estimate, depending on how often it samples and on your router; on USB-C it runs from the cable and falls back to its batteries if the cable is removed.

Compared with similar products

This product first, then its neighbors A to Z. Order is not a recommendation.

  • Airthings View Plus (this page)

    Type
    Continuous monitor
    How it measures
    Alpha spectrometry, passive diffusion chamber
    Power
    Battery
    C-NRPP 2024/25
    Approved
  • Airthings View Radon

    Type
    Continuous monitor
    How it measures
    Alpha spectrometry, passive diffusion chamber
    Power
    Battery
    C-NRPP 2024/25
    Approved

    Same body, screen and radon sensor, measuring radon, temperature and humidity only; C-NRPP's "Airthings View" listing links to it.

  • Airthings Wave Radon

    Type
    Continuous monitor
    How it measures
    Alpha spectrometry, passive diffusion chamber
    Power
    Battery
    C-NRPP 2024/25
    Not included

    Battery Bluetooth radon monitor with a color glow and no screen; needs a View monitor as a hub for remote access.

  • Ecosense EcoQube

    Type
    Continuous monitor
    How it measures
    Pulsed ionization chamber
    Power
    Plug-in
    C-NRPP 2024/25
    Approved

    Radon only, plug-in and Wi-Fi, counting with a pulsed ionization chamber every 10 minutes; approved by C-NRPP with four A grades.

Every continuous monitor we cover is listed on continuous monitors.

Questions people ask

Is the View Plus C-NRPP approved?

C-NRPP's 2023 report listed the Airthings View Plus as passing its performance test. Its 2024/25 evaluation approved a device named the Airthings View, linking Airthings' View Radon page, with grades of B, C, B and B; it does not say which View model was tested.

What did the 2024 field study find for the View Plus?

In a 54-day field comparison in Spain in 2023, published in Sensors in 2024, the View Plus's average was 7.7 percent above a calibrated reference monitor's. In the study's test of a sharp rise, it reached only the 10 percent level of the change, not the 50 or 90 percent levels.

What does the View Plus measure besides radon?

Particulate matter (PM2.5), carbon dioxide, VOCs, temperature, humidity and air pressure, each sampled every 5 minutes.

Should it go in the basement or the bedroom?

For radon, the EPA points to the lowest lived-in level. For the other sensors, the rooms you use most. If those are different floors, decide which reading matters more to you, or pair it with a radon-only monitor on the lower floor.

Should I choose the View Plus or the View Radon?

They share the body, the e-paper screen, the radon sensor and the stated radon accuracy. The View Plus adds particulate matter, carbon dioxide, VOC and air pressure sensors and runs on USB-C; the View Radon measures radon, temperature and humidity and runs on a USB cable. If radon is the only question, the extra sensors are not needed; if you also care about the air in a living room or bedroom, they are the reason to choose the Plus.

Can it run without Wi-Fi?

Bluetooth handles setup and daily configuration, but Wi-Fi is what gives live readings and notifications away from home, and what lets it act as a hub for Wave monitors.

What to do next