Skip to content

Locations and reports

Radon Levels in Beaver County, Pennsylvania

EPA puts Beaver County in Zone 1, its highest radon zone. Homes with elevated levels occur in all three zones, so only a test measures yours.

Data checked By Radon411Methodology

Predicted
Zone 1Highest predicted potential
Measured
42.4%of 868 tests reported to CDC (2020) were at or above 4 pCi/L
Your home
Test to knowNo area figure here is a reading of your home.

The data

Beaver County, At a glance

Beaver County at a glance

Predicted: EPA radon zone

EPA Zone 1: highest predicted potential

This is a county-level geologic prediction. It is not a measurement of any address, and houses with elevated radon are found in all three zones.

What EPA predicts hereScreening level, geology

EPA predicts an average indoor of greater than 4 pCi/L (greater than 150 Bq/m³) across the county as a whole.

USGS geologic potential: High across 100% of the county's area

Predicted: EPA Map of Radon Zones

Measured: tests reported to CDC

Radon tests reported for Beaver County, 2020

Tests reported
868
At or above 4 pCi/L
42.4%
Median result
3.2 pCi/L
Reported results by concentration band, Beaver County, 2020
Under 2 pCi/L: 31%2 to 4 pCi/L: 27%4 pCi/L and above: 42%

Of 868 pre-mitigation tests reported to CDC, not homes in this area.

Reported results by concentration band, Beaver County, 2020: data table
Result bandTests MeasuredShare Measured
Under 2 pCi/L27031.1%
2 to 4 pCi/L23026.5%
4 pCi/L and above36842.4%

CDC publishes this figure only for counties here, so there is no state or national number to compare Beaver County, Pennsylvania with.

What these figures count

Distribution of radon tests reported to CDC, not this house. People testing before a sale, or because they suspect a problem, are over-represented in any reported testing data.

The figures at the top are for 2020: a percentage there is a share of radon tests reported to CDC for Beaver County in 2020, and a percentage in a view below is a share of the tests reported for the year or period it names. It is not a share of homes in Beaver County, and it is not a random sample: it counts only the tests people chose to run and that were reported.

CDC works out the shares and the median over pre-mitigation tests, counting a test not marked as before or after mitigation as one of them (868 for 2020). The median is the middle result of those tests, not of buildings. CDC also reports the number of buildings tested (690), a different count, so the two totals are not interchangeable.

Beaver County's own published CDC figures beside those of the counties that border it, for the same period.

Each figure is that county’s own published CDC figure for 2020, counting radon tests reported to CDC, not homes. Beaver County is this page. Nothing is averaged or combined across counties. The test count beside each county is CDC’s published number of pre-mitigation tests behind its figures. Figures from few tests can swing widely from year to year. No published CDC figure for 2020: Hancock County, WV; Columbiana County, OH. Every Pennsylvania county’s own figure is in the Pennsylvania county table.

Measured: CDC tracking data. Figure above: 2020. Measured data period: 2005 to 2020 (every CDC figure on file).

Beaver County, State data

Pennsylvania's own radon test data

Measured

What Pennsylvania's own agencies publish about radon tests in Beaver County, with their period. These are not CDC's figures and are never added to them.

MeasuredState figures, not CDC's

What Pennsylvania DEP reports for the ZIP codes in Beaver County

Pennsylvania DEP publishes its figures by ZIP code, not by county. These are the 28 ZIP codes that lie wholly or partly in Beaver County, each with the state's own figures for it. Period: Period not stated by DEP.

ZIP codes in Beaver County
ZIP codeWhat the state reports
15001Basement: average 7.5 pCi/L, 4,987 tests; First floor: average 6.7 pCi/L, 193 tests
15003Basement: average 7.9 pCi/L, 1,330 tests; First floor: average 3.7 pCi/L, 48 tests
15005Basement: average 7.3 pCi/L, 1,813 tests; First floor: average 3.6 pCi/L, 79 tests
15009Basement: average 8.1 pCi/L, 3,568 tests; First floor: average 5.3 pCi/L, 152 tests
15010Basement: average 7.0 pCi/L, 3,573 tests; First floor: average 3.9 pCi/L, 176 tests
15021Basement: average 6.4 pCi/L, 490 tests; First floor: average 3.4 pCi/L, 33 tests
15026Basement: average 9.9 pCi/L, 597 tests; First floor: average 6.8 pCi/L, 30 tests
15027Basement: average 3.9 pCi/L, 251 tests; First floor: figures not shown
15042Basement: average 8.0 pCi/L, 955 tests; First floor: average 5.4 pCi/L, 77 tests
15043Basement: average 11.4 pCi/L, 165 tests; First floor: figures not shown
15050Basement: average 14.7 pCi/L, 289 tests; First floor: figures not shown
15052Basement: average 13.4 pCi/L, 406 tests; First floor: figures not shown
15059Basement: average 10.7 pCi/L, 238 tests; First floor: figures not shown
15061Basement: average 7.1 pCi/L, 1,724 tests; First floor: average 4.0 pCi/L, 74 tests
15066Basement: average 8.6 pCi/L, 1,019 tests; First floor: average 4.6 pCi/L, 44 tests
15074Basement: average 7.0 pCi/L, 638 tests; First floor: figures not shown
15077Basement: figures not shown; First floor: figures not shown
15081Basement: average 6.6 pCi/L, 194 tests
15143Basement: average 7.2 pCi/L, 9,156 tests; First floor: average 4.3 pCi/L, 738 tests
16037Basement: average 9.8 pCi/L, 966 tests; First floor: average 6.9 pCi/L, 102 tests
16063Basement: average 6.9 pCi/L, 1,349 tests; First floor: average 4.0 pCi/L, 97 tests
16115Basement: average 10.3 pCi/L, 227 tests; First floor: figures not shown
16117Basement: average 5.4 pCi/L, 1,589 tests; First floor: average 2.6 pCi/L, 90 tests
16120Basement: average 8.9 pCi/L, 97 tests; First floor: figures not shown
16123Basement: average 10.3 pCi/L, 167 tests; First floor: figures not shown
16136Basement: average 3.1 pCi/L, 45 tests; First floor: figures not shown
16141Basement: average 6.1 pCi/L, 66 tests; First floor: figures not shown
16157Basement: average 9.8 pCi/L, 188 tests; First floor: figures not shown
  • DEP's report gives the number of tests, the highest result and the average result for each floor tested; it states no period.
  • DEP says the smartest thing to do is to test your home for radon, no matter where you live.
  • A ZIP code that crosses the county line is listed whole; its figures cover all of it.

Measured: Pennsylvania DEP data, Period not stated by DEP.

Radon Action Brief

National Radon Action MonthPre-sale

Beaver County's radon brief, in one dated file.

  • Your area's radon record, explained.
  • Your plan to test this week.
  • Fix costs and pros near you.

Save 64%Sale price: $8.99Price after the sale: $25Ends Jan 31Then $25

Get the Beaver County BriefSee a free sample

Area data, not a test of the building.

Local help

Beaver County, Local resources

Radon testing and mitigation in Beaver County

Who tests and fixes radon in Beaver County: listed businesses, Pennsylvania's radon program and test kits.

What it means

Beaver County, Questions

Questions about radon in Beaver County

Common questions

8 questions, answered from the figures above

Who does radon mitigation in Beaver County?

No listed mitigator names Beaver County as a service area yet; the Pennsylvania directory lists 153 companies. EPA recommends having a qualified contractor fix a home with a radon problem, because lowering high radon levels takes technical knowledge and special skills, and some states require the work to be done by a licensed or certified professional. Your state radon program is the place to check whether Pennsylvania requires one.

Radon mitigation: how it worksRadon mitigation costRadon mitigation systemsMitigators in Pennsylvania

Are radon levels high in Beaver County?

In 2020, 42.4% of the radon tests reported to CDC for Beaver County, Pennsylvania were at or above 4 pCi/L, and the median reported pre-mitigation result was 3.2 pCi/L. That is a share of reported tests, not of homes. EPA places Beaver County in Zone 1, highest predicted potential, a predicted average indoor screening level greater than 4 pCi/L. Homes with elevated levels occur in all three zones, so the figures describe the area, not your house. Testing is the only way to know the radon level in a specific building.

Radon levels: what a result meansWhat is radon?Radon levels in Pennsylvania

How do I get a radon test in Beaver County?

EPA says you can test your home yourself or hire a qualified radon test company, and that either approach takes only a small amount of time and effort. No radon testing business listed on Radon411 has an address in Beaver County or names it as a service area yet. The Pennsylvania radon program is the place to ask about certified testers and any test kit offer it runs.

Radon testing: how to test a homeRadon test kits comparedFree and low-cost kits by stateRadon Action Month checklistPennsylvania radon program

What EPA radon zone is Beaver County in?

EPA places Beaver County, Pennsylvania in Zone 1, which EPA describes as highest predicted potential for the area. A zone is a prediction for the whole county and never determines whether a particular home should be tested. EPA recommends testing every home regardless of zone.

Should I test my home in Beaver County?

Yes. Testing is the only way to know the radon level in a specific building. EPA recommends fixing a home when the radon level is 4 pCi/L or higher. EPA recommends considering a fix when the level is between 2 and 4 pCi/L. How to test a home.

When is the best time of year to test?

EPA says short-term tests stay in the home from 2 to 90 days and that all radon tests should run a minimum of 48 hours; long-term tests stay more than 90 days. EPA's guides do not name a best season: they say radon levels tend to vary from day to day and season to season, so a long-term test is more likely than a short-term test to tell you the year-round average.

What does it cost to test?

EPA's Citizen's Guide calls testing easy and inexpensive, and EPA's Home Buyer's and Seller's Guide says passive short-term and long-term devices are generally inexpensive, while active devices may cost more. No national average price is published for this, so Radon411 does not give one. What testing costs.

Which counties border Beaver County?

Beaver County borders 6 counties, derived from Census county geometry. Radon potential follows geology rather than county lines, so a bordering county's report can be relevant.

If you own, buy, sell or rent

What these figures mean for each reader, with the guide that covers it

Beaver County in figures

The figures above, said in words

What the published data says about Beaver County, in words. A zone and a share of tests describe an area, never the level in any one home.

    • Predicted

      Predicted

      EPA places Beaver County in Zone 1, highest predicted potential, as it does 48 other counties of Pennsylvania's 67.

      Of the 6 bordering counties, EPA places Allegheny County, Butler County, Columbiana County, OH and Hancock County, WV in Zone 1 and Lawrence County and Washington County in Zone 2.

  • Reported tests

    Measured

    CDC has annual figures for Beaver County for 7 years, 2014 to 2020. In 2020, 42.4% of 868 reported tests were at or above 4 pCi/L.

    Across those years the share ranged from 40.8% (2019) to 51.2% (2014). Few tests in a year can move it a long way.

  • Local record

    Pennsylvania's radon program is the Radon Division, run by Department of Environmental Protection; its contacts are under Local resources.

    The county's largest incorporated places are Economy, Aliquippa and Beaver Falls; the figures here cover them as part of the county.

Products

Beaver County, Products

Testing and mitigation products

Whatever the figures for Beaver County show, only a test tells you about one home.

Test kits and monitors42

See all products

As an Amazon Associate, Radon411 earns from qualifying purchases.

Beaver County is in EPA Zone 1, the highest predicted radon potential. Best radon monitors for Zone 1 counties like Beaver County

Explore

Beaver County, Bordering counties

Counties bordering Beaver County

Calculated by Radon411
Why bordering counties matter

6 counties share a boundary with Beaver County, computed from Census county geometry. Radon potential follows geology rather than county lines, so a bordering county’s report can be worth reading alongside this one.

Beaver County, Cities and towns

Cities and towns in Beaver County

The radon figures on this page are for Beaver County as a whole. They do not differ by city or town.

  • Economy
  • Aliquippa
  • Beaver Falls
  • Ellwood City (part)
  • Ambridge
  • New Brighton
  • Monaca
  • Beaver
  • Baden
  • Rochester
  • Ohioville
  • Midland
  • Conway
  • Big Beaver
  • Industry
  • Freedom
  • West Mayfield
  • Bridgewater
  • Koppel
  • Patterson Heights
  • East Rochester
  • South Heights
  • New Galilee
  • Darlington
The other 8 places in Beaver County
  • Fallston
  • Georgetown
  • Eastvale
  • Shippingport
  • Hookstown
  • Frankfort Springs
  • Homewood
  • Glasgow

32 incorporated places, as listed in the U.S. Census Bureau’s 2020 place reference files. “(part)” marks a place that extends into another county.

Beaver County, Next steps

What to do next

Informational. Follow EPA guidance. EPA says all radon tests should be taken for a minimum of 48 hours, with windows and doors closed from 12 hours before a short-term test.