Skip to content
$5

County radon report

Get it

Locations and reports

Radon Levels in Dauphin County, Pennsylvania

Zone 1Highest predicted potential553 square miles · 8 bordering counties

What this means for you

  • Your area: EPA rates Dauphin County Zone 1, the highest of its three radon zones. That is a prediction for the whole county, and homes with elevated levels occur in all three zones.
  • Local tests: Of 2,986 radon tests reported to CDC for Dauphin County (2020), 36.9% were at or above 4 pCi/L, EPA's action level.
  • Your home: The only way to know your home’s level is to test it.

pCi/L (picocuries per liter) is the unit radon is measured in. EPA recommends fixing a home at 4 pCi/L or above, its action level.

In 2020, 36.9% of the radon tests reported to CDC for Dauphin County, Pennsylvania came back at or above the EPA action level of 4 pCi/L, and the median result was 2.0 pCi/L. EPA's Map of Radon Zones places the county in Zone 1, highest predicted potential. Radon levels vary from home to home, so only a test measures the level in yours.

Predicted: EPA radon zone

EPA Zone 1: highest predicted potential

EPA predicts an average indoor of greater than 4 pCi/L (greater than 150 Bq/m³) across the county as a whole.

This is a county-level geologic prediction. It is not a measurement of any address, and houses with elevated radon are found in all three zones.

USGS geologic potential: Low across 100% of the county's land area

Predicted: EPA Map of Radon Zones

Measured: tests reported to CDC

Radon tests reported for Dauphin County, 2020

Tests reported
2,986
At or above 4 pCi/L
36.9%
Median result
2.0 pCi/L
Reported results by concentration band, Dauphin County, 2020
Under 2 pCi/L: 49%2 to 4 pCi/L: 14%4 pCi/L and above: 37%

Of 2,986 pre-mitigation tests reported to CDC, not homes in this area. CDC publishes the share in each band, not a count per band, so the per-band counts in the table are calculated by Radon411 and rounded to add up to the published total.

Reported results by concentration band, Dauphin County, 2020: data table
Result bandTests Calculated by Radon411Share Measured
Under 2 pCi/L1,47249.3%
2 to 4 pCi/L41213.8%
4 pCi/L and above1,10236.9%

Distribution of tested buildings, not this house. People testing before a sale, or because they suspect a problem, are over-represented in any reported testing data.

Measured: CDC tracking data. Figure above: 2020. Measured data period: 2005 to 2020 (every CDC figure on file).

Dauphin County, In figures

Dauphin County in figures

What the published data says about Dauphin County, in words. A zone and a share of tests describe an area, never the level in any one home.

    • Predicted

      Predicted

      EPA places Dauphin County in Zone 1, highest predicted potential, as it does 48 other counties of Pennsylvania's 67.

      Of the 8 bordering counties, EPA places Cumberland County, Juniata County, Lancaster County, Lebanon County, Northumberland County, Perry County, Schuylkill County and York County in Zone 1.

  • Reported tests

    Measured

    CDC has annual figures for Dauphin County for 7 years, 2014 to 2020. In 2020, 36.9% of 2,986 reported tests were at or above 4 pCi/L.

    Across those years the share ranged from 32.2% (2018) to 45.0% (2015). Few tests in a year can move it a long way.

  • Local record

    Pennsylvania's radon program is the Radon Division, run by Department of Environmental Protection; its contacts are under Local resources.

    The county's largest incorporated places are Harrisburg, Middletown and Steelton; the figures here cover them as part of the county.

Dauphin County, Reported testing

Reported testing over time

Measured
Reported radon test results by year, Dauphin County, pCi/LLogarithmic scale: each step up the axis multiplies the level, so the median and the single highest result can share one chart. The darker gridline is EPA's action level, 4 pCi/L.
Median reported resultHighest reported result
Reported radon test results by year, Dauphin County, pCi/L: data table
YearMedian reported resultHighest reported resultShare of tests at or above 4 pCi/L
20143.1 pCi/L200.6 pCi/L43.9%
20153.3 pCi/L637.1 pCi/L45.0%
20162.3 pCi/L509.0 pCi/L38.0%
20172.7 pCi/L156.9 pCi/L41.0%
20181.9 pCi/L234.6 pCi/L32.2%
20192.3 pCi/L202.2 pCi/L35.1%
20202.0 pCi/L367.0 pCi/L36.9%

What these figures count

Every percentage here is a share of radon tests reported to CDC for Dauphin County in 2020. It is not a share of homes in Dauphin County, and it is not a random sample: it counts only the tests people chose to run and that were reported.

The shares and the median are calculated from pre-mitigation tests (2,986 for 2020). CDC also reports the number of buildings tested (1,337), a different count, so the two totals are not interchangeable.

Dauphin County, State data

Pennsylvania's own radon test data

Measured

What Pennsylvania's own agencies publish about radon tests in Dauphin County, with their period. These are not CDC's figures and are never added to them.

MeasuredState figures, not CDC's

What Pennsylvania DEP reports for the ZIP codes in Dauphin County

Pennsylvania DEP publishes its figures by ZIP code, not by county. These are the 31 ZIP codes that lie wholly or partly in Dauphin County, each with the state's own figures for it. Period: Period not stated by DEP.

ZIP codes in Dauphin County
ZIP codeWhat the state reports
17005Basement: figures not shown; First floor: figures not shown
17017Basement: average 19.0 pCi/L, 141 tests; First floor: average 8.9 pCi/L, 34 tests
17018Basement: average 10.1 pCi/L, 692 tests; First floor: average 5.4 pCi/L, 124 tests
17020Basement: average 18.0 pCi/L, 999 tests; First floor: average 11.4 pCi/L, 158 tests
17022Basement: average 7.5 pCi/L, 4,903 tests; First floor: average 4.6 pCi/L, 404 tests
17023Basement: average 11.2 pCi/L, 378 tests; First floor: average 7.7 pCi/L, 52 tests
17028Basement: average 11.3 pCi/L, 428 tests; First floor: average 5.1 pCi/L, 67 tests
17030Basement: average 10.4 pCi/L, 74 tests; First floor: figures not shown
17032Basement: average 27.8 pCi/L, 1,378 tests; First floor: average 14.1 pCi/L, 185 tests
17033Basement: average 7.3 pCi/L, 5,229 tests; First floor: average 2.9 pCi/L, 2,227 tests
17034Basement: average 4.0 pCi/L, 242 tests; First floor: average 1.4 pCi/L, 36 tests
17036Basement: average 12.7 pCi/L, 7,946 tests; First floor: average 7.3 pCi/L, 1,169 tests
17048Basement: average 13.3 pCi/L, 211 tests; First floor: average 4.1 pCi/L, 43 tests
17057Basement: average 6.9 pCi/L, 2,456 tests; First floor: average 3.4 pCi/L, 415 tests
17061Basement: average 12.7 pCi/L, 740 tests; First floor: average 6.1 pCi/L, 142 tests
17078Basement: average 10.8 pCi/L, 5,709 tests; First floor: average 6.6 pCi/L, 668 tests
17080Basement: figures not shown; First floor: figures not shown
17097Basement: figures not shown; First floor: figures not shown
17098Basement: average 9.5 pCi/L, 113 tests; First floor: figures not shown
17101Basement: average 6.1 pCi/L, 229 tests; First floor: average 1.1 pCi/L, 77 tests
17102Basement: average 6.0 pCi/L, 817 tests; First floor: average 1.1 pCi/L, 335 tests
17103Basement: average 7.0 pCi/L, 548 tests; First floor: average 2.6 pCi/L, 140 tests
17104Basement: average 9.5 pCi/L, 1,048 tests; First floor: average 4.5 pCi/L, 331 tests
17109Basement: average 10.5 pCi/L, 4,216 tests; First floor: average 4.7 pCi/L, 882 tests
17110Basement: average 6.5 pCi/L, 5,049 tests; First floor: average 3.1 pCi/L, 1,249 tests
17111Basement: average 15.4 pCi/L, 7,845 tests; First floor: average 8.8 pCi/L, 1,425 tests
17112Basement: average 9.0 pCi/L, 9,646 tests; First floor: average 5.2 pCi/L, 1,425 tests
17113Basement: average 12.6 pCi/L, 910 tests; First floor: average 11.9 pCi/L, 177 tests
17120Basement: figures not shown
17978Basement: figures not shown; First floor: figures not shown
17980Basement: average 9.4 pCi/L, 164 tests; First floor: figures not shown
  • DEP's report gives the number of tests, the highest result and the average result for each floor tested; it states no period.
  • DEP says the smartest thing to do is to test your home for radon, no matter where you live.
  • A ZIP code that crosses the county line is listed whole; its figures cover all of it.

Measured: Pennsylvania DEP data, Period not stated by DEP.

Dauphin County, Comparison

How Dauphin County compares

Measured

Dauphin County's own published CDC figures beside those of the counties that border it, for the same period.

Share of reported tests at or above 4 pCi/L

Measured

2020, highest first. Each county’s own published CDC figure.

  1. Perry CountyPA189 tests57.7%
  2. Lebanon CountyPA1,102 tests54.2%
  3. Schuylkill CountyPA797 tests53.5%
  4. Juniata CountyPA87 tests52.9%
  5. Northumberland CountyPA275 tests49.8%
  6. York CountyPA3,679 tests46.8%
  7. Cumberland CountyPA2,950 tests43.6%
  8. Lancaster CountyPA4,398 tests43.3%
  9. Dauphin CountyThis page2,986 tests36.9%

Median reported result

Measured

2020, highest first. Each county’s own published CDC figure.

  1. Perry CountyPA189 tests4.9 pCi/L
  2. Lebanon CountyPA1,102 tests4.8 pCi/L
  3. Schuylkill CountyPA797 tests4.5 pCi/L
  4. Juniata CountyPA87 tests4.4 pCi/L
  5. Northumberland CountyPA275 tests3.9 pCi/L
  6. York CountyPA3,679 tests3.6 pCi/L
  7. Cumberland CountyPA2,950 tests3.1 pCi/L
  8. Lancaster CountyPA4,398 tests3.0 pCi/L
  9. Dauphin CountyThis page2,986 tests2.0 pCi/L

Each figure is that county’s own published CDC figure for 2020, counting radon tests reported to CDC, not homes. Dauphin County is this page. Nothing is averaged or combined across counties. The test count beside each county is CDC’s published number of pre-mitigation tests behind its figures. Figures from few tests can swing widely from year to year. Every Pennsylvania county’s own figure is in the Pennsylvania county table.

CDC publishes this figure only for counties here, so there is no state or national number to compare Dauphin County, Pennsylvania with.

Dauphin County, Bordering counties

Counties bordering Dauphin County

Calculated by Radon411

Dauphin County, Local resources

Local resources in Pennsylvania

Who to ask in Pennsylvania: the state's radon program, test kits and professionals.

Radon Division

Department of Environmental Protection

Pennsylvania’s radon program answers questions about testing, mitigation and the rules where you live.

Phone
800-237-2366
Licensing of radon professionals
The Radon Certification Act requires DEP to establish by regulation, a certification program for persons conducting radon gas and radon progeny testing, laboratory analysis and mitigation...
Visit the program's page(opens in a new tab)

Test kits

The program says: Through an EPA-funded program, hospitals give parents of newborn children a packet of information which includes a coupon for a free radon test kit from the DEP.

Radon professionals

755 professionals are listed in Pennsylvania.

Professionals in Pennsylvania

Dauphin County, Cities and towns

Cities and towns in Dauphin County

The radon figures on this page are for Dauphin County as a whole. They do not differ by city or town.

  • Middletown
  • Steelton
  • Hummelstown
  • Penbrook
  • Highspire
  • Millersburg
  • Lykens
  • Paxtang
  • Elizabethville
  • Williamstown
  • Royalton
  • Halifax
  • Dauphin
  • Gratz
  • Berrysburg
  • Pillow

17 incorporated places, as listed in the U.S. Census Bureau’s 2020 place reference files.

Dauphin County, Questions

Questions about radon in Dauphin County

Common questions8 questions, answered from the figures above

Are radon levels high in Dauphin County?

In 2020, 36.9% of the radon tests reported to CDC for Dauphin County, Pennsylvania were at or above 4 pCi/L, and the median reported pre-mitigation result was 2.0 pCi/L. That is a share of reported tests, not of homes. EPA places Dauphin County in Zone 1, highest predicted potential, a predicted average indoor screening level greater than 4 pCi/L. Homes with elevated levels occur in all three zones, so the figures describe the area, not your house. Testing is the only way to know the radon level in a specific building.

What a radon level meansRadon in Pennsylvania

How do I get a radon test in Dauphin County?

EPA says you can test your home yourself or hire a qualified radon test company, and that either approach takes only a small amount of time and effort. No certified tester listed on Radon411 names Dauphin County as a service area yet. The Pennsylvania radon program is the place to ask about certified testers and any test kit offer it runs.

How to test a homeTest kits comparedFree and low-cost kits by statePennsylvania radon program

Who does radon mitigation in Dauphin County?

No listed mitigator names Dauphin County as a service area yet; the Pennsylvania directory lists 755 companies. EPA recommends having a qualified contractor fix a home with a radon problem, because lowering high radon levels takes technical knowledge and special skills, and some states require the work to be done by a licensed or certified professional. Your state radon program is the place to check whether Pennsylvania requires one.

How radon mitigation worksWhat mitigation costsMitigators in Pennsylvania

What EPA radon zone is Dauphin County in?

EPA places Dauphin County, Pennsylvania in Zone 1, which EPA describes as highest predicted potential for the area. A zone is a prediction for the whole county and never determines whether a particular home should be tested. EPA recommends testing every home regardless of zone.

Should I test my home in Dauphin County?

Yes. Testing is the only way to know the radon level in a specific building. EPA recommends fixing a home when the radon level is 4 pCi/L or higher. EPA recommends considering a fix when the level is between 2 and 4 pCi/L. How to test a home.

When is the best time of year to test?

EPA says short-term tests stay in the home from 2 to 90 days and that all radon tests should run a minimum of 48 hours; long-term tests stay more than 90 days. EPA's guides do not name a best season: they say radon levels tend to vary from day to day and season to season, so a long-term test is more likely than a short-term test to tell you the year-round average.

What does it cost to test?

EPA's Citizen's Guide calls testing easy and inexpensive, and EPA's Home Buyer's and Seller's Guide says passive short-term and long-term devices are generally inexpensive, while active devices may cost more. No national average price is published for this, so Radon411 does not give one. What testing costs.

Which counties border Dauphin County?

Dauphin County borders 8 counties, derived from Census county geometry. Radon potential follows geology rather than county lines, so a bordering county's report can be relevant.

What these figures mean if you own, buy, sell or rent

The reported-test figures on this page describe Dauphin County, Pennsylvania in 2020. They describe tests other people carried out in other buildings, and none of them measures yours.

  • If you own your home

    Test the lowest lived-in level; a short-term kit screens in days, a long-term kit reflects the year.

    How to test a home
  • If you are buying

    Ask for past results and any system's post-mitigation test, and test during the sale.

    Buying a house: radon guide
  • If you are selling

    Testing before you list puts the timing in your hands; disclosure rules differ by state.

    Selling a house: radon guide
  • If you rent, or rent out a home

    A tenant can test; a fix is the owner's to make, and duties differ by state.

    Radon in rental homes

How long a test has to run, under what conditions, and what EPA says a result means: the testing standard, in full.

Dauphin County, Products

Testing and mitigation products

Whatever the figures for Dauphin County show, only a test tells you about one home.

Dauphin County / Next steps

What to do next

Informational. Follow EPA guidance. EPA says all radon tests should be taken for a minimum of 48 hours, with windows and doors closed from 12 hours before a short-term test.