
MonitorAEGTEST
HOUND-1011 rechargeable radon detector with a screen
- C-NRPP 2024/25: Not included
- Battery
- Alarm
- Screen
Method: Semiconductor sensor
First reading: Within 6 hours
Locations and reports
EPA puts Lancaster County in Zone 1, its highest radon zone. Homes with elevated levels occur in all three zones, so only a test measures yours.
Data checked By Radon411Methodology
The data
Lancaster County, At a glance
Predicted: EPA radon zone
This is a county-level geologic prediction. It is not a measurement of any address, and houses with elevated radon are found in all three zones.
EPA predicts an average indoor
USGS geologic potential: High across 100% of the county's area
Predicted: EPA Map of Radon Zones
Measured: tests reported to CDC
Of 4,398 pre-mitigation tests reported to CDC, not homes in this area.
| Result band | Tests Measured | Share Measured |
|---|---|---|
| Under 2 pCi/L | 1,743 | 39.6% |
| 2 to 4 pCi/L | 752 | 17.1% |
| 4 pCi/L and above | 1,903 | 43.3% |
CDC publishes this figure only for counties here, so there is no state or national number to compare Lancaster County, Pennsylvania with.
Distribution of radon tests reported to CDC, not this house. People testing before a sale, or because they suspect a problem, are over-represented in any reported testing data.
The figures at the top are for 2020: a percentage there is a share of radon tests reported to CDC for Lancaster County in 2020, and a percentage in a view below is a share of the tests reported for the year or period it names. It is not a share of homes in Lancaster County, and it is not a random sample: it counts only the tests people chose to run and that were reported.
CDC works out the shares and the median over pre-mitigation tests, counting a test not marked as before or after mitigation as one of them (4,398 for 2020). The median is the middle result of those tests, not of buildings. CDC also reports the number of buildings tested (2,634), a different count, so the two totals are not interchangeable.
Lancaster County's own published CDC figures beside those of the counties that border it, for the same period.
Each figure is that county’s own published CDC figure for 2020, counting radon tests reported to CDC, not homes. Lancaster County is this page. Nothing is averaged or combined across counties. The test count beside each county is CDC’s published number of pre-mitigation tests behind its figures. Figures from few tests can swing widely from year to year. No published CDC figure for 2020: Harford County, MD; Cecil County, MD. Every Pennsylvania county’s own figure is in the Pennsylvania county table.
Measured: CDC tracking data. Figure above: 2020. Measured data period: 2005 to 2020 (every CDC figure on file).
Lancaster County, State data
What Pennsylvania's own agencies publish about radon tests in Lancaster County, with their period. These are not CDC's figures and are never added to them.
Pennsylvania DEP publishes its figures by ZIP code, not by county. These are the 61 ZIP codes that lie wholly or partly in Lancaster County, each with the state's own figures for it. Period: Period not stated by DEP.
| ZIP code | What the state reports |
|---|---|
| 17022 | Basement: average 7.5 pCi/L, 4,903 tests; First floor: average 4.6 pCi/L, 404 tests |
| 17073 | Basement: average 11.7 pCi/L, 559 tests; First floor: average 8.1 pCi/L, 52 tests |
| 17501 | Basement: average 14.3 pCi/L, 726 tests; First floor: average 6.6 pCi/L, 63 tests |
| 17502 | Basement: average 8.7 pCi/L, 176 tests; First floor: figures not shown |
| 17504 | Basement: figures not shown; First floor: figures not shown |
| 17505 | Basement: average 9.9 pCi/L, 143 tests; First floor: average 7.8 pCi/L, 30 tests |
| 17506 | Basement: figures not shown; First floor: figures not shown |
| 17507 | Basement: figures not shown; First floor: figures not shown |
| 17508 | Basement: average 14.9 pCi/L, 210 tests; First floor: figures not shown |
| 17509 | Basement: average 14.1 pCi/L, 364 tests; First floor: average 6.5 pCi/L, 59 tests |
| 17512 | Basement: average 12.4 pCi/L, 1,538 tests; First floor: average 7.2 pCi/L, 168 tests |
| 17516 | Basement: average 12.6 pCi/L, 624 tests; First floor: average 9.9 pCi/L, 63 tests |
| 17517 | Basement: average 6.8 pCi/L, 1,621 tests; First floor: average 3.8 pCi/L, 152 tests |
| 17518 | Basement: average 26.1 pCi/L, 99 tests; First floor: figures not shown |
| 17519 | Basement: average 9.8 pCi/L, 464 tests; First floor: average 3.0 pCi/L, 38 tests |
| 17520 | Basement: average 9.8 pCi/L, 1,122 tests; First floor: average 5.5 pCi/L, 193 tests |
| 17522 | Basement: average 10.5 pCi/L, 4,389 tests; First floor: average 6.1 pCi/L, 474 tests |
| 17527 | Basement: average 16.1 pCi/L, 504 tests; First floor: average 7.7 pCi/L, 48 tests |
| 17529 | Basement: average 6.2 pCi/L, 235 tests; First floor: average 4.6 pCi/L, 36 tests |
| 17532 | Basement: average 24.7 pCi/L, 438 tests; First floor: average 15.6 pCi/L, 75 tests |
| 17534 | Basement: figures not shown |
| 17535 | Basement: average 11.4 pCi/L, 87 tests; First floor: figures not shown |
| 17536 | Basement: average 21.0 pCi/L, 338 tests; First floor: average 14.2 pCi/L, 33 tests |
| 17538 | Basement: average 9.4 pCi/L, 1,803 tests; First floor: average 5.0 pCi/L, 141 tests |
| 17540 | Basement: average 11.1 pCi/L, 1,333 tests; First floor: average 6.7 pCi/L, 166 tests |
| 17543 | Basement: average 13.9 pCi/L, 11,600 tests; First floor: average 8.0 pCi/L, 1,228 tests |
| 17545 | Basement: average 17.7 pCi/L, 3,802 tests; First floor: average 8.7 pCi/L, 417 tests |
| 17547 | Basement: average 9.5 pCi/L, 1,029 tests; First floor: average 4.3 pCi/L, 98 tests |
| 17550 | Basement: average 7.9 pCi/L, 92 tests; First floor: figures not shown |
| 17551 | Basement: average 7.9 pCi/L, 1,631 tests; First floor: average 4.2 pCi/L, 195 tests |
| 17552 | Basement: average 11.5 pCi/L, 3,271 tests; First floor: average 6.1 pCi/L, 470 tests |
| 17554 | Basement: average 10.7 pCi/L, 1,080 tests; First floor: average 5.4 pCi/L, 118 tests |
| 17555 | Basement: average 9.4 pCi/L, 562 tests; First floor: average 5.2 pCi/L, 47 tests |
| 17557 | Basement: average 8.7 pCi/L, 1,221 tests; First floor: average 7.2 pCi/L, 134 tests |
| 17560 | Basement: average 20.7 pCi/L, 498 tests; First floor: average 9.2 pCi/L, 38 tests |
| 17562 | Basement: average 25.4 pCi/L, 217 tests; First floor: average 11.0 pCi/L, 37 tests |
| 17563 | Basement: average 14.6 pCi/L, 255 tests; First floor: figures not shown |
| 17565 | Basement: average 24.9 pCi/L, 479 tests; First floor: average 11.9 pCi/L, 72 tests |
| 17566 | Basement: average 15.5 pCi/L, 1,322 tests; First floor: average 8.7 pCi/L, 97 tests |
| 17568 | Basement: figures not shown; First floor: figures not shown |
| 17569 | Basement: average 5.1 pCi/L, 706 tests; First floor: average 4.0 pCi/L, 75 tests |
| 17570 | Basement: figures not shown; First floor: figures not shown |
| 17572 | Basement: average 10.1 pCi/L, 228 tests; First floor: figures not shown |
| 17576 | Basement: average 11.2 pCi/L, 40 tests; First floor: figures not shown |
| 17578 | Basement: average 6.7 pCi/L, 535 tests; First floor: average 5.6 pCi/L, 36 tests |
| 17579 | Basement: average 9.5 pCi/L, 955 tests; First floor: average 7.9 pCi/L, 93 tests |
| 17581 | Basement: average 4.6 pCi/L, 40 tests; First floor: figures not shown |
| 17582 | Basement: average 9.0 pCi/L, 233 tests; First floor: average 3.1 pCi/L, 41 tests |
| 17584 | Basement: average 11.1 pCi/L, 1,475 tests; First floor: average 5.9 pCi/L, 217 tests |
| 17601 | Basement: average 8.7 pCi/L, 14,480 tests; First floor: average 5.7 pCi/L, 1,659 tests |
| 17602 | Basement: average 6.1 pCi/L, 5,508 tests; First floor: average 3.9 pCi/L, 1,023 tests |
| 17603 | Basement: average 6.1 pCi/L, 8,203 tests; First floor: average 3.7 pCi/L, 1,023 tests |
| 17606 | Basement: figures not shown; First floor: figures not shown |
| 19310 | Basement: average 10.8 pCi/L, 447 tests; First floor: average 5.1 pCi/L, 57 tests |
| 19344 | Basement: average 5.6 pCi/L, 1,706 tests; First floor: average 2.8 pCi/L, 188 tests |
| 19362 | Basement: average 8.0 pCi/L, 592 tests; First floor: average 3.5 pCi/L, 63 tests |
| 19363 | Basement: average 4.9 pCi/L, 2,485 tests; First floor: average 2.8 pCi/L, 237 tests |
| 19501 | Basement: average 3.2 pCi/L, 62 tests; First floor: figures not shown |
| 19540 | Basement: average 7.5 pCi/L, 1,625 tests; First floor: average 5.2 pCi/L, 165 tests |
| 19543 | Basement: average 6.8 pCi/L, 1,298 tests; First floor: average 4.9 pCi/L, 70 tests |
| 19551 | Basement: average 19.1 pCi/L, 954 tests; First floor: average 10.1 pCi/L, 82 tests |
Measured: Pennsylvania DEP data, Period not stated by DEP.
Radon Action Brief
National Radon Action MonthPre-sale
Save 64%Sale price: $8.99Price after the sale: $25Ends Jan 31Then $25Sale ends January 31, then $25
Local help
Lancaster County, Local resources
Who tests and fixes radon in Lancaster County: listed businesses, Pennsylvania's radon program and test kits.
Listed radon businesses with an address in Lancaster County:
Through an EPA-funded program, hospitals give parents of newborn children a packet of information which includes a coupon for a free radon test kit from the DEP.
Listed radon professionals by town: Lancaster, Akron
The Radon Certification Act requires DEP to establish by regulation, a certification program for persons conducting radon gas and radon progeny testing, laboratory analysis and mitigation...
What it means
Lancaster County, Questions
No listed mitigator names Lancaster County as a service area yet; the Pennsylvania directory lists 153 companies. EPA recommends having a qualified contractor fix a home with a radon problem, because lowering high radon levels takes technical knowledge and special skills, and some states require the work to be done by a licensed or certified professional. Your state radon program is the place to check whether Pennsylvania requires one.
Radon mitigation: how it worksRadon mitigation costRadon mitigation systemsMitigators in Pennsylvania
In 2020, 43.3% of the radon tests reported to CDC for Lancaster County, Pennsylvania were at or above 4 pCi/L, and the median reported pre-mitigation result was 3.0 pCi/L. That is a share of reported tests, not of homes. EPA places Lancaster County in Zone 1, highest predicted potential, a predicted average indoor screening level greater than 4 pCi/L. Homes with elevated levels occur in all three zones, so the figures describe the area, not your house. Testing is the only way to know the radon level in a specific building.
Radon levels: what a result meansWhat is radon?Radon levels in Pennsylvania
EPA says you can test your home yourself or hire a qualified radon test company, and that either approach takes only a small amount of time and effort. No radon testing business listed on Radon411 has an address in Lancaster County or names it as a service area yet. The Pennsylvania radon program is the place to ask about certified testers and any test kit offer it runs.
Radon testing: how to test a homeRadon test kits comparedFree and low-cost kits by stateRadon Action Month checklistPennsylvania radon program
EPA places Lancaster County, Pennsylvania in Zone 1, which EPA describes as highest predicted potential for the area. A zone is a prediction for the whole county and never determines whether a particular home should be tested. EPA recommends testing every home regardless of zone.
Yes. Testing is the only way to know the radon level in a specific building. EPA recommends fixing a home when the radon level is 4 pCi/L or higher. EPA recommends considering a fix when the level is between 2 and 4 pCi/L. How to test a home.
EPA says short-term tests stay in the home from 2 to 90 days and that all radon tests should run a minimum of 48 hours; long-term tests stay more than 90 days. EPA's guides do not name a best season: they say radon levels tend to vary from day to day and season to season, so a long-term test is more likely than a short-term test to tell you the year-round average.
EPA's Citizen's Guide calls testing easy and inexpensive, and EPA's Home Buyer's and Seller's Guide says passive short-term and long-term devices are generally inexpensive, while active devices may cost more. No national average price is published for this, so Radon411 does not give one. What testing costs.
Lancaster County borders 7 counties, derived from Census county geometry. Radon potential follows geology rather than county lines, so a bordering county's report can be relevant.
The reported-test figures on this page describe Lancaster County, Pennsylvania in 2020. They describe tests other people carried out in other buildings, and none of them measures yours.
What the published data says about Lancaster County, in words. A zone and a share of tests describe an area, never the level in any one home.
EPA places Lancaster County in Zone 1, highest predicted potential, as it does 48 other counties of Pennsylvania's 67.
Of the 7 bordering counties, EPA places Berks County, Chester County, Dauphin County, Harford County, MD, Lebanon County and York County in Zone 1 and Cecil County, MD in Zone 2.
CDC has annual figures for Lancaster County for 7 years, 2014 to 2020. In 2020, 43.3% of 4,398 reported tests were at or above 4 pCi/L.
Across those years the share ranged from 42.7% (2019) to 49.9% (2015). Few tests in a year can move it a long way.
Pennsylvania's radon program is the Radon Division, run by Department of Environmental Protection; its contacts are under Local resources.
The county's largest incorporated places are Lancaster, Ephrata and Elizabethtown; the figures here cover them as part of the county.
Products
Lancaster County, Products
Whatever the figures for Lancaster County show, only a test tells you about one home.
Test kits and monitors: 1 of 42
As an Amazon Associate, Radon411 earns from qualifying purchases.
Lancaster County is in EPA Zone 1, the highest predicted radon potential. Best radon monitors for Zone 1 counties like Lancaster County
Testing: 1 of 5
Mitigation: 1 of 3
Explore
Lancaster County, Bordering counties
counties bordering Lancaster County: 1 of 7
7 counties share a boundary with Lancaster County, computed from Census county geometry. Radon potential follows geology rather than county lines, so a bordering county’s report can be worth reading alongside this one.
Lancaster County, Cities and towns
The radon figures on this page are for Lancaster County as a whole. They do not differ by city or town.
19 incorporated places, as listed in the U.S. Census Bureau’s 2020 place reference files. “(part)” marks a place that extends into another county.
Lancaster County, Next steps
What to do next: 1 of 4
Informational. Follow EPA guidance. EPA says all radon tests should be taken for a minimum of 48 hours, with windows and doors closed from 12 hours before a short-term test.