Skip to content

ProductsCompare

Best Airthings radon monitors: every model compared

By Radon411 Editorial TeamUpdated 10 min readHow we research

Short answer

Every Airthings radon monitor uses the same passive diffusion, alpha spectrometry sensor; they differ in how you read them, how they are powered and what else they measure. C-NRPP's 2024/25 evaluation approved the Corentium Home and a device listed as the Airthings View, while the Corentium Home 2 and both Wave models were not included.

Key takeaways

  • Every Airthings monitor here measures radon the same way: a passive diffusion chamber read by alpha spectrometry.
  • They differ in how you read them: a number screen (Corentium Home and Corentium Home 2), an e-paper display (View Radon, View Plus), or a color glow with the numbers in the app (Wave Radon, Wave Plus).
  • They differ in power and connection: AAA batteries and no connection at all for the Corentium Home; AA batteries and Bluetooth for the Corentium Home 2 and the Wave models; batteries or a cable, plus Wi-Fi, for the View models.
  • C-NRPP's 2024/25 evaluation approved the Corentium Home (A in all four rounds) and a device it lists as the Airthings View (B, C, B and B); the Corentium Home 2 and both Wave models were not included that year.
  • Airthings' US store sells the original Corentium Home beside the Corentium Home 2, and says the Wave Radon is no longer sold on airthings.com but can still be found at other retailers.

Airthings' radon monitors in short

Airthings sells several quite different radon monitors under one sensor design. This page puts every Airthings radon monitor we cover side by side, in Airthings' own figures, with the independent results each one has. It picks none: which one fits depends on where you want to read the number, what else you want measured, and whether you want Wi-Fi.

Airthings radon monitors at a glance, as Airthings states them
MonitorHow you read itPowerConnectionAlso measuresC-NRPP 2024/25
Corentium HomeLCD screen with short-term and long-term averages3 AAA batteriesNoneRadon onlyApproved: A, A, A, A
Corentium Home 2LCD screen with radon averages2 AA batteriesBluetooth; SmartLink to a hubTemperature, humidityNot included
View Plus2.9-inch e-paper display and a glow indicator6 AA batteries or USB-CWi-Fi, SmartLink, BluetoothPM2.5, CO2, VOCs, temperature, humidity, air pressureListed as "Airthings View", model not stated
View Radon2.9-inch e-paper display and a glow indicator6 AA batteries or USB cableWi-Fi, SmartLink, BluetoothTemperature, humidityApproved as "Airthings View": B, C, B, B
Wave PlusColor glow ring; numbers in the app2 AA batteriesBluetooth or SmartLinkCO2, VOCs, temperature, humidity, air pressureNot included
Wave RadonColor glow when you wave a hand; numbers in the app2 AA batteriesBluetoothTemperature, humidityNot included
Show all 6 rows

The monitors in this section6

As an Amazon Associate, Radon411 earns from qualifying purchases.

One radon sensor design across the range

Airthings describes the radon sampling in every one of these monitors as a passive diffusion chamber, and the detection method as alpha spectrometry. Air drifts into the chamber on its own, with no fan or pump, and the sensor counts the alpha particles given off as radon decays. On the View and Wave pages Airthings states the same radon range, 0 to 500 , and the same accuracy figures: about 10% after 7 days and about 5% after 2 months. For the Corentium Home 2 it states a range of 0 to 250 pCi/L and accuracy within 10% after 7 days at 5.4 pCi/L, and for the original Corentium Home 0 to 500 pCi/L, with the same 10% and 5% figures.

So the choice between them is rarely about the radon measurement itself. It is about the screen, the extra measurements, the power and the connection. A 2024 field study that ran the View Plus, View Radon and Wave Plus beside a reference instrument found that all three followed a sudden rise in radon more slowly than some other monitors, which matters if you watch hour-by-hour changes and matters little for a long-term average.

The radon figures Airthings states for each monitor
MonitorRadon rangeMaker's accuracy figure
Corentium Home0 to 500 pCi/LAbout 10% after 7 days; about 5% after 2 months, at 5.4 pCi/L
Corentium Home 20 to 250 pCi/LWithin 10% after 7 days at 5.4 pCi/L, and after 4 days at 10 pCi/L
View Plus0 to 500 pCi/LAbout 10% after 7 days; about 5% after 2 months
View Radon0 to 500 pCi/LAbout 10% after 7 days; about 5% after 2 months
Wave Plus0 to 500 pCi/LAbout 10% after 7 days; about 5% after 2 months
Wave Radon0 to 500 pCi/LUnder 10% at 5 pCi/L after 7 days; under 5% after 2 months
Show all 6 rows

How to read an Airthings radon monitor

Each family shows its reading differently, and that is the most practical difference between them. The Corentium Home 2 has an LCD screen built around averages: after 30 days it offers 24-hour, 7-day, 30-day and long-term radon averages, plus temperature and humidity, and it returns to the long-term average after 5 minutes. A touch button below the screen steps through the views.

The View Radon and View Plus have a 2.9-inch e-paper display that you can set to show the readings you check most, plus a red, yellow or green glow. The Wave Radon and Wave Plus have no screen at all: a motion sensor lights a green, yellow or red glow when you wave a hand over the Wave Radon, and the Wave Plus has a glow ring; the numbers, graphs and alerts are in the Airthings app. Airthings' color thresholds for radon are the same across both families: green below 2.7 pCi/L, yellow from 2.7 to under 4 pCi/L, and red at 4 pCi/L and above.

Where each Airthings monitor shows its radon reading
MonitorOn the deviceIn the app
Corentium HomeLCD numbers: short-term and long-term averagesNone; no app or wireless connection
Corentium Home 2LCD numbers: 24-hour, 7-day, 30-day and long-term averagesInteractive graphs over Bluetooth
View PlusE-paper display you set, and a glow indicatorReadings and history; access from anywhere over Wi-Fi
View RadonE-paper display you set, and a glow indicatorReal-time data from anywhere over Wi-Fi
Wave PlusGlow ring onlyReadings over Bluetooth; web dashboard
Wave RadonGlow when you wave a hand over itLive readings and trend graphs over Bluetooth; in-app and email notifications
Show all 6 rows

Power, connection and the hub

The Corentium Home 2 and both Wave monitors run on two AA batteries and connect over Bluetooth, so you see the app's history when your phone is nearby. Airthings rates the Corentium Home 2 for up to 3 years unconnected and up to 2 years with Bluetooth, the Wave Plus for 16 months on Bluetooth and 18 months with SmartLink, and the Wave Radon for about a year and a half.

The View Radon and View Plus take six AA batteries or a cable, and connect over 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi as well as Bluetooth, so you can see your readings from anywhere. When one is on Wi-Fi and plugged in by its cable, it can act as an internet hub for your other Airthings monitors through SmartLink, bringing always-on access to a Wave or a Corentium Home 2 in another room.

Power and connection for each Airthings monitor
MonitorBatteries, as statedCableWireless
Corentium Home3 AAA: about 2 yearsNoneNone
Corentium Home 22 AA: up to 3 years unconnected, up to 2 years on BluetoothNoneBluetooth; SmartLink to a hub for Wi-Fi access
View Plus6 AA: up to 2 years, depending on settings and routerUSB-C, optionalWi-Fi (2.4 GHz), SmartLink, Bluetooth; hub when on Wi-Fi and cable
View Radon6 AA: up to 2 years on batteriesUSB, optionalWi-Fi (2.4 GHz), SmartLink, Bluetooth; hub when on Wi-Fi and cable
Wave Plus2 AA: 16 months on Bluetooth, 18 months on SmartLinkNoneBluetooth or SmartLink
Wave Radon2 AA: about 1.5 yearsNoneBluetooth; remote access through a View monitor as hub
Show all 6 rows
SmartLink
Airthings' name for linking a monitor to a Wi-Fi connected Airthings hub, such as a View series monitor or the Airthings Hub, so a Bluetooth-only monitor's readings can be seen from anywhere.

Independent results for each

C-NRPP's 2024/25 consumer monitor evaluation approved a device it lists as the Airthings View, linking Airthings' View Radon page, with grades of B, C, B and B across its four rounds; C-NRPP recommends devices that average B or better. The listing does not say which View model was tested, and C-NRPP's 2023 report listed the View Plus and the Wave Plus as passing. The Corentium Home 2, the Wave Radon and the Wave Plus were not included in the 2024/25 evaluation. Not being included is a fact about which devices took part, not a failed test.

The original Corentium Home, which Airthings' US store still sells, was approved in the 2024/25 evaluation with an A in all four rounds. In a 2024 field study at a natural radiation laboratory in Salamanca, Spain, the averages of one View Plus, one View Radon and one Wave Plus differed from a reference instrument by 7.7%, 10.0% and 11.0% over the summer of 2023. One unit of each in one place is a result for that unit, not a ranking.

Independent results for Airthings monitors
MonitorC-NRPP 2024/252024 field study, difference from reference
Corentium HomeApproved: A, A, A, ANot in the study
Corentium Home 2Not includedNot in the study
View Plus"Airthings View" listing; model not stated (passed in 2023)7.7%
View RadonApproved as "Airthings View": B, C, B, B10.0%
Wave PlusNot included (passed in 2023)11.0%
Wave RadonNot includedNot in the study
Show all 6 rows

Every grade is explained, monitor by monitor, on accuracy results explained.

Which fits which home

None comes out ahead. Each row below matches a situation to the monitors whose stated features fit it.

Situations and the Airthings monitors that fit them
If you wantMonitors that fit
Numbers on the device with no phone at allCorentium Home; Corentium Home 2; View Radon; View Plus
Readings from away from home without extra hardwareView Radon; View Plus
Radon only, with nothing to pair or connectCorentium Home
Radon, plus temperature and humidityCorentium Home 2; View Radon; Wave Radon
Carbon dioxide, VOCs and pressure as well as radonView Plus (adds PM2.5); Wave Plus
Two AA batteries and nothing to plug inCorentium Home 2; Wave Radon; Wave Plus
A model tied to a 2024/25 C-NRPP approvalCorentium Home; View Radon (the Airthings View listing links its page)
Show all 7 rows

Three pairs are compared in more depth: View Plus vs Wave Plus, Corentium Home vs Corentium Home 2 and View Plus vs Corentium Home. The Corentium Home is also set beside other makers' monitors, on Corentium Home vs RadonEye RD200 and Aranet Radon Plus vs Corentium Home. Monitors from every maker are on radon detectors and monitors.

Placing any Airthings monitor

  1. Step 1 of 5:

    Pick the floor

    The lowest lived-in level of the home; Airthings markets these monitors for basements and ground floors, where radon is usually highest.

  2. Step 2 of 5:

    Pick a room people use

    A room used regularly, such as a living room, playroom, den or bedroom, not a kitchen or bathroom, and occupied at least 4 hours a day.

  3. Step 3 of 5:

    Set the height

    At least 20 inches above the floor, away from drafts, high heat, high humidity and exterior walls.

  4. Step 4 of 5:

    Mind the humidity

    Airthings warns against placing these monitors where humidity is over 85%, which can damage the radon sensor, so a damp corner is worth checking first.

  5. Step 5 of 5:

    Give it time

    At least 3 months, preferably in the heating season, and decide on the long-term average.

More on placement is at where to place a radon test, and on reading any monitor at continuous radon monitors.

Questions about Airthings radon monitors

How do I read an Airthings radon detector?

It depends on the model. The Corentium Home 2 shows radon averages on its screen; the View Radon and View Plus show readings on an e-paper display; the Wave Radon and Wave Plus glow green, yellow or red and keep the numbers in the Airthings app. On all of them, the long-term average is the figure to act on.

What do the green, yellow and red colors mean?

Airthings sets radon at green below 2.7 pCi/L, yellow from 2.7 to under 4 pCi/L, and red at 4 pCi/L and above. The EPA's guidance is to fix a home at 4 pCi/L and to consider fixing between 2 and 4 pCi/L.

Which Airthings radon monitor was approved by C-NRPP?

In 2024/25, C-NRPP approved the Corentium Home with four A grades, and a device it lists as the Airthings View, linking the View Radon page, graded B, C, B and B. The Corentium Home 2 and both Wave models were not included.

Is the Airthings Wave Radon discontinued?

Airthings says the Wave Radon is no longer available on airthings.com but can be found on Amazon and in selected retailers, and suggests the View Radon instead.

Which Airthings monitors need Wi-Fi?

None strictly needs it, and the Corentium Home has no wireless connection at all. The View Radon and View Plus connect to 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi so you can check them from anywhere; the Corentium Home 2 and Wave monitors use Bluetooth and can reach Wi-Fi only through SmartLink to a hub such as a View monitor.

Which ones run on batteries?

All of them can. The Corentium Home takes three AAA batteries; the Corentium Home 2 and both Wave models take two AA batteries; the View models take six AA batteries or run on a cable.

Do the Airthings monitors measure radon differently?

No. Airthings describes a passive diffusion chamber with alpha spectrometry for every one. The differences are in the screen, the extra measurements, the power and the connection.

What does the Plus in View Plus and Wave Plus add?

Other air quality sensors: the Wave Plus adds carbon dioxide, VOCs and air pressure, and the View Plus adds those and particulate matter (PM2.5). The radon measurement is the same.

Can I use an Airthings monitor for a home sale?

Consumer monitors cannot be professionally calibrated and are not approved by C-NRPP for use by radon measurement professionals. Check what the contract and your state accept.

How long should I run one before deciding?

At least 3 months, preferably in the heating season, and decide on the long-term average rather than a short-term figure.