Skip to content
$5

County radon report

Get it

Products

Airthings Wave Plus: battery radon and air quality monitor

By Radon411 Editorial TeamUpdated 3 min readHow we research

Short answer

The Wave Plus is Airthings' battery-powered, six-sensor monitor: radon, carbon dioxide, VOCs, temperature, humidity and air pressure, with a colored glow ring instead of a screen and Bluetooth to the Airthings app. C-NRPP's 2023 report listed it as passing its performance test; it was not part of the 2024/25 evaluation.

Disclosure: No link on this page earns Radon411 anything today. If we add affiliate links later, this line will say so above the first one. Coverage, order and wording never depend on them. How we handle affiliate links.

At a glance

Type
Continuous monitor, battery, Bluetooth, six sensors
How it measures
Alpha spectrometry, passive diffusion chamber
First reading
Not stated by the manufacturer
Reading updates
Not stated by the manufacturer
Display and app
No display, phone app, Bluetooth
Power
Battery: 2 AA batteries, included
Units
Glow ring on the device; thresholds published in pCi/L and Bq/m³
Price
Not shown. We print a price only from Amazon's live product data, with the time it was checked, and that feed is not connected yet.
Drawing of a battery-powered digital radon monitor with a small display
Our drawing of this type of device, not a photo of the Airthings Wave Plus.

What it is and how it works

Radon reaches the sensor through a passive diffusion chamber and is measured by alpha spectrometry, over a range of 0 to 500 pCi/L, or 0 to 20,000 Bq/m³. The 2024 comparison in the journal Sensors tested a Wave Plus beside a calibrated professional monitor, and lists photodiode alpha spectrometry as the detection principle of the Airthings View Plus it tested alongside.

The air-quality sensors sample every 5 minutes. Carbon dioxide comes from a non-dispersive infrared (NDIR) sensor over 400 to 5,000 ppm. Airthings gives the carbon dioxide and total VOC readings a settling time of about seven days, so the first week of those numbers is not the steady state.

There is no number display. A glow ring shows red, yellow or green, and the numbers, graphs and notifications are in the free app for iOS and Android, with a web dashboard as well. On its own the Wave Plus connects by Bluetooth; linked by SmartLink to an Airthings hub, such as a View monitor, it can be reached from anywhere.

For radon decisions, the long-term average matters more than any color. For any consumer monitor, the guidance is to run it at least three months, ideally through the heating season, and decide from the long-term average. The EPA's reference points are a fix at 4 pCi/L and considering a fix between 2 and 4 pCi/L.

Airthings sells the Wave Plus as a smart monitor with six sensors and a battery lifetime of about a year and a half, and pairs it with tips on improving what is in your air. For radon specifically it is the same sensing approach as the Wave Radon and the View monitors; what the Plus adds is carbon dioxide, VOCs and air pressure, not a different radon measurement.

Independent evidence

Independent evidence

C-NRPP 2024/25
Not included in C-NRPP's 2024/25 evaluation

The Canadian National Radon Proficiency Program's 2024/25 comparison of consumer monitors did not include Airthings Wave Plus. That is a fact about which devices took part, not a finding about this one: no result from that program exists for it either way.

Earlier round

C-NRPP's 2023 report listed “Airthings Wave Plus” as having passed its performance test.

Recalls
No Health Canada recall or advisory names this device.
Peer-reviewed studies
  • In a 54-day field comparison at Spain's Laboratory of Natural Radiation (1 July to 23 August 2023), against a calibrated AlphaGUARD reference monitor, the Wave Plus's average for the whole period was 11.0 percent above the reference's, and 6.1 percent of its expected readings were not recorded. In the study's response-time test, a sharp rise that the reference followed in about 8 hours, it reached only the 10 percent level of the rise, not the 50 or 90 percent levels.

C-NRPP is the Canadian National Radon Proficiency Program. Its 2024/25 results were published in May 2025.

How C-NRPP says to use any consumer monitor

  • Leave it in place for at least three months, ideally through the heating season, when indoor radon tends to be highest.
  • Put it in a room someone uses for at least four hours a day.
  • Decide about fixing your home from the long-term average, not a single day or week.
  • If you can only run a monitor for less than 91 days, follow up with a long-term test.

What the manufacturer says

  • Airthings states radon accuracy and precision at 5.4 pCi/L (200 Bq/m³) of about 10% after 7 days and about 5% after 2 months.
  • C-NRPP's 2023 report lists the stated accuracy for the Wave Plus as ±10% after 7 days at 200 Bq/m³, and ±5% after 2 months of monitoring.
  • Airthings states battery life of 16 months on Bluetooth and 18 months on SmartLink with a hub.
  • Airthings states carbon dioxide accuracy of ±30 ppm ±3% within 60 to 95°F and 0 to 80% relative humidity.

These are Airthings's own statements, attributed to it. They are not our findings, and we have not tested this product ourselves.

Who it fits

Good fit if

  • You want radon and carbon dioxide, VOCs and humidity from one battery device.
  • You want to mount it on a wall or a ceiling, with no cable.
  • You are happy to read numbers in an app rather than on the device.
  • You already have an Airthings View monitor or Hub to give it remote access.

Look elsewhere if

  • You want numbers on the device; it has a glow ring and no screen.
  • You want remote access without a second Airthings device; on its own it is Bluetooth only.
  • You want a monitor that took part in C-NRPP's 2024/25 evaluation.
  • You need a result for a home sale; check what your state accepts before relying on any consumer monitor.

Setup and placement

It runs on two AA batteries, mounts on a wall or ceiling with the screw in the box, and pairs with the Airthings app, which supports the three most recent versions of Android and iOS. The operating environment is 39 to 104°F.

For radon, the EPA's guidance for any home test applies: the lowest lived-in level, a room used regularly but not the kitchen or bathroom, at least 20 inches above the floor, and away from drafts, high heat, high humidity and exterior walls. C-NRPP adds a room used at least four hours a day.

Because it reports carbon dioxide and VOCs too, the room you choose shapes what you learn. Radon is usually highest on the lowest floor; carbon dioxide and VOCs matter most where people spend their time. A lower-floor bedroom or family room serves both, where you have one.

For where any radon test or monitor should sit in a home, see where to place a radon test.

What is in the box, and what it costs to run

The box holds the detector, two AA alkaline batteries, an instruction manual and a mounting screw. The monitor weighs 7.7 oz (219 g) with batteries and is 4.7 inches across and 1.4 inches deep. Airthings offers a free 5-year extended warranty on its air quality monitors if you register them.

No lab fee; the app and web dashboard are free. The ongoing cost is two AA batteries roughly every 16 to 18 months, by Airthings' estimate. Remote access needs an Airthings hub device, which is a second purchase rather than a subscription. Registering the monitor on Airthings' website adds a free 5-year extended warranty on top of the standard one, so the main long-term cost is batteries.

Compared with similar products

This product first, then its neighbors A to Z. Order is not a recommendation.

  • Airthings Wave Plus (this page)

    Type
    Continuous monitor
    How it measures
    Alpha spectrometry, passive diffusion chamber
    Power
    Battery
    C-NRPP 2024/25
    Not included
  • Airthings View Plus

    Type
    Continuous monitor
    How it measures
    Alpha spectrometry, passive diffusion chamber
    Power
    Battery
    C-NRPP 2024/25
    Approved

    The Wi-Fi sibling with a 2.9-inch e-paper screen and a particulate matter sensor, on six AA batteries or USB-C; it can act as the Wave Plus's hub.

  • Airthings Wave Radon

    Type
    Continuous monitor
    How it measures
    Alpha spectrometry, passive diffusion chamber
    Power
    Battery
    C-NRPP 2024/25
    Not included

    The same Wave shape and glow, measuring radon, temperature and humidity only; no longer sold on airthings.com.

Every continuous monitor we cover is listed on continuous monitors.

Questions people ask

Is the Wave Plus C-NRPP approved?

C-NRPP's 2023 report listed the Airthings Wave Plus as passing its performance test. It was not included in the 2024/25 evaluation, so there is no 2024/25 result for it either way.

What did the 2024 field study find for the Wave Plus?

In a 54-day field comparison in Spain in 2023, published in Sensors in 2024, the Wave Plus's average was 11.0 percent above a calibrated reference monitor's, and 6.1 percent of its expected readings were not recorded. In the study's test of a sharp rise, it reached only the 10 percent level of the change.

Does the Wave Plus have a display?

No. A glow ring shows red, yellow or green; readings and graphs are in the Airthings app and web dashboard.

How long until the carbon dioxide and VOC readings are reliable?

Airthings gives both a settling time of about seven days after setup. Expect the carbon dioxide and VOC graphs to drift during the first week; radon is a separate measurement, and for radon the useful figure is the long-term average built over months.

Can the Wave Plus go on the ceiling?

Airthings says it supports wall or ceiling mounting, with a mounting screw in the box. For a radon reading, though, the EPA's placement advice for any home test still applies: the lowest lived-in level, at least 20 inches above the floor and away from drafts and exterior walls, in a room people use.

How long do the batteries last?

Airthings estimates 16 months connected by Bluetooth and 18 months on SmartLink with a hub, on two AA batteries.

What to do next