Skip to content

Dcfairfan

Dcfairfan radon fan kit

Radon mitigation fan kit

  • Radon fan
  • Dcfairfan publishes no specification sheet, manual or website we could read; each field says so
  • No maker performance table we could read; the EPA's installation rules instead
Tests that check it works

About this item

In our words; no Dcfairfan document we could read states its figures

The Dcfairfan radon fan kit is sold under the DCFAIRFAN trademark, which the USPTO registered on December 24, 2024 to Shenzhen Yicheng Environmental Technology Co., Ltd., of Guangming, Shenzhen, China, for electric fans, ventilating exhaust fans, plumbing couplers and other goods. Dcfairfan publishes no specification sheet, manual or website we could read, and its retail listing copy is not used as a source here, so the kit's model number, pipe sizes, airflow and pressure figures, power rating, safety listing, package contents and warranty are each not stated by the maker on this page.

What you get

Dcfairfan publishes no package contents for this kit in any document we could read, and its retail listing copy is not used as a source here, so what comes in the box is not stated by the maker on this page. Its registration covers fans and plumbing couplers but describes no kit. Check the parts that arrive against what your installer expects: couplings that can be tightly secured to both the fan and the vent pipe, as the EPA's 1994 standards called for, and a warning device, which the EPA's consumer guide calls for on every active system.

In the box and running costs

How it works

What it does and how

The suction, the airflow and the housing, then who has checked it

How it works

In our words, from the public record and the EPA

The EPA calls radon the leading cause of lung cancer for non-smokers and the second leading cause of lung cancer for the general population. It describes active subslab suction as the most common and usually the most reliable radon reduction method: a radon vent fan connected to the suction pipes draws radon gas from below the home and releases it into the outdoor air, while creating a negative pressure, or vacuum, beneath the slab. The EPA says the fan must run continuously for the system to work correctly.

A fan kit bundles the fan with the parts that join it to the pipe and show that it is working. The EPA's 1994 Radon Mitigation Standards called for the fan to be installed using removable couplings or flexible connections that can be tightly secured to both the fan and the vent pipe, to make maintenance and replacement easier, and the EPA's consumer guide says every active system needs a warning device, usually a manometer, that alerts you if the system stops working properly.

Sizing is the other half. The EPA's construction guide says the fan's size and air movement capacity should keep the pressure beneath the slab lower than the pressure above it, and, as a general figure for new homes, that a fan moving 100 cubic feet of air per minute at one inch of water column should be sufficient for most applications and that most contractors have found 90-watt in-line fans adequate for most homes. Fan makers that publish airflow at each static pressure let a mitigator check a fan against a house; we found no such table from Dcfairfan.

DCFAIRFAN is a registered US trademark, Reg. No. 7,624,795, owned by Shenzhen Yicheng Environmental Technology Co., Ltd., a limited company organized in China, at an address in Xinzhuang Community on Matian Street, Guangming, Shenzhen. It covers electric fans, ventilating exhaust fans, ventilating fans for industrial purposes, plumbing fittings, namely, couplers, and air-conditioning and ventilation goods, with first use in commerce on March 10, 2024. The record does not mention radon. Dcfairfan has no website, manual, data sheet or rating label we could find, and Radon411 does not use retail listing copy as a source, so the kit's model number, motor, pipe sizes, maximum static pressure, airflow, power draw, supply voltage, speed control and outdoor rating are all not stated by the maker here. With no model name to go by, Radon411 calls it the Dcfairfan radon fan kit.

Two points from the EPA's 1994 standards show what a buyer would want the maker to state: radon vent fans were to be designed or otherwise sealed to reduce the potential for leakage of soil gas from the fan housing, and a fan mounted on the exterior of a building was to be rated for outdoor use or installed in a water tight protective housing. No Dcfairfan document we could read states either for this kit.

What the manufacturer says

Dcfairfan's own statements, attributed

  • Dcfairfan saysDcfairfan's owner lists electric fans and ventilating exhaust fans among the goods its registered US trademark covers.
  • Dcfairfan saysDcfairfan's owner also lists plumbing fittings, namely, couplers, among the goods the mark covers.
  • Dcfairfan saysDcfairfan's owner states a first use in commerce of March 10, 2024 for the goods its mark covers.

These are Dcfairfan's own statements, attributed to it. They are not our findings, and we have not tested this product ourselves.

Independent evidence

Who checks a device like this

C-NRPP's consumer evaluation covers electronic radon monitors, not mitigation fans, so it has no result for Dcfairfan radon fan kit. No document from its maker that we could read states a safety listing or performance certification, so none is shown here, and what shows whether any fan is working in your home is a radon test after it is installed.

Specifications

Specifications

No maker figures we could read; each field says so

Compare side by side

The maker's figures

Type
Mitigation fan
Motor
Not stated by the manufacturer
Pipe size
Not stated by the manufacturer
Max static pressure
Not stated by the manufacturer
Max airflow
Not stated by the manufacturer
Max power
Not stated by the manufacturer
Power supply
Not stated by the manufacturer
Speed control
Not stated by the manufacturer
Airflow at static pressure
Not stated by the manufacturer
Outdoor use
Not stated by the manufacturer
Warranty
Not stated by the manufacturer

What is in the box

Dcfairfan publishes no package contents for this kit in any document we could read, and its retail listing copy is not used as a source here, so what comes in the box is not stated by the maker on this page. Its registration covers fans and plumbing couplers but describes no kit. Check the parts that arrive against what your installer expects: couplings that can be tightly secured to both the fan and the vent pipe, as the EPA's 1994 standards called for, and a warning device, which the EPA's consumer guide calls for on every active system.

No warranty is stated in any Dcfairfan document we could read. The EPA notes that manufacturer warranties tend not to exceed five years, and it suggests asking for written operating and maintenance instructions and copies of any warranties when a system is installed.

What it costs to run

The cost of running the fan is electricity, all day and every day. The EPA says systems that use fans are more effective in reducing radon levels but will slightly increase your electric bill, and that the fan must run continuously. No Dcfairfan document we could read states the power draw, so the watts on the fan's rating label and your utility rate set the yearly figure.

The EPA compares a radon system to a furnace or chimney that needs occasional maintenance: look at the warning device on a regular basis, and expect that fans may last five years or more and may then need to be repaired or replaced. It suggests retesting your home at least every two years to be sure radon levels remain low.

Fit and setup

Who it fits, and installation

The fit, then how a system goes in

Who it fits

Good fit if, and look elsewhere if

Good fit if

  • Your mitigator has chosen this kit and has read the fan's pipe size and its airflow, pressure and electrical ratings from the fan itself or from the seller's documents.
  • You are replacing a Dcfairfan fan like for like and can match the old fan's rating label.
  • Your mitigator will judge the fan by the system's own suction reading and a radon test after installation, not by a published table.
  • You want the EPA's checklist for a fan installation set out beside the kit, from couplings and a warning device to wiring and labels.

Look elsewhere if

  • You need published airflow at pressure figures to size a fan before you buy; no Dcfairfan document we could read gives them.
  • You or your state want a UL or ETL listed fan; no Dcfairfan document we could read states a safety listing for this kit.
  • You want to know exactly what is in the box and what the warranty is before you buy; no Dcfairfan document we could read states either.
  • You are designing a first system yourself; the EPA recommends a qualified radon mitigation contractor, and some states require one for fan installation.

Installation

4 steps

  1. The EPA recommends that a qualified radon mitigation contractor fix a home, because lowering high radon levels requires specific technical knowledge and special skills, and many states require radon professionals to be licensed, certified or registered. The EPA's construction guide says some states require that in-line fans for radon reduction be installed by a certified radon mitigation contractor. Dcfairfan publishes no installation instructions for this kit that we could read.
  2. The EPA's construction guide says the fan and all positively pressurized portions of the vent pipe should be located outside habitable space, because placement in a non-conditioned space prevents the accidental pumping of radon directly into a home should a leak occur in the fan housing or at the vent-pipe joints. A fan cannot be inside the living space or in the crawlspace beneath the home, it goes in a vertical run of the vent pipe, and it needs a 30-inch vertical run of pipe and an unswitched electrical junction box. The EPA's consumer guide adds that the exhaust fan must not be located in or below a livable area, and that a fan installed outside must meet local building codes for exterior use.
  3. Electrical connections of all active radon reduction systems must be installed according to local electrical codes, the EPA says. Under its 1994 standards a fan on the exterior of a building was to be hard-wired into an electrical circuit, plugged fans were not to be used outdoors, and any plugged cord supplying a fan was to be no more than 6 feet long. No Dcfairfan document we could read states the kit's voltage, current or power, so they come from the fan's rating label.
  4. The EPA says a warning device must be installed to alert you if an active system stops working properly, placed where it can be seen or heard easily, and that radon reduction systems must be clearly labeled. Its examples of warning devices are a liquid gauge, a sound alarm, a light indicator and a dial gauge. A post-mitigation radon test should be done within 30 days of installation, but no sooner than 24 hours after the system is running with the fan on.

To find someone to design and install a system, see radon mitigation professionals, and for how a fan fits into one, how a radon fan works.

Compare

Compare with similar items

The same three rows for each, and the one difference that matters

Compare side by side

More radon fan models10

All radon fan models

Questions

Questions people ask

6 questions about the Dcfairfan radon fan kit, answered

Asked about the radon fan kit

Who makes the Dcfairfan radon fan kit?

The DCFAIRFAN trademark is registered to Shenzhen Yicheng Environmental Technology Co., Ltd., a limited company in Guangming, Shenzhen, China, under US Reg. No. 7,624,795 of December 24, 2024. The registration covers fans and couplers but does not mention radon, and we found no Dcfairfan website or other document, so it does not say whether the company builds the fan or has it built.

Is it the same fan as the MIDCVFRUN radon fan kit?

Nothing we read says so. The two trademark owners, Shenzhen Yicheng Environmental Technology and Shenzhen Dongcheng Environmental Technology, both list addresses on Matian Street in Guangming, Shenzhen, but neither publishes a model number or specification we could read that would let the two fans be compared.

What pipe size is it, and how much air does it move?

Not stated by the maker. No Dcfairfan document we could read gives a pipe size, maximum static pressure, airflow or table of airflow at pressure, and its retail listing copy is not used as a source here. The EPA's construction guide gives only a general figure for new homes, a fan moving 100 cubic feet of air per minute at one inch of water column; a mitigator sizes the fan for your house from what is under the slab.

Is it UL or ETL listed, and can it be mounted outside?

Neither is stated by the maker in any document we could read. The EPA's consumer guide says a fan installed outside must meet local building codes for exterior use, and its 1994 standards required an exterior fan to be rated for outdoor use or installed in a water tight protective housing. Look for a listing mark and an outdoor rating on the fan's label.

Can I install it myself?

The EPA recommends a qualified radon mitigation contractor, warns that without the right knowledge you could actually increase your radon level, and notes that some states require in-line radon fans to be installed by a certified radon mitigation contractor. Wiring must meet local electrical codes either way.

How do I know it is working after installation?

By the warning device, usually a manometer, which the EPA says to look at on a regular basis, and by testing: a post-mitigation test within 30 days of installation and a retest at least every two years.

Updated October 9, 2026