RadonAway
RadonAway GP501c
Inline radon mitigation fan
- Radon fan
- 3 in. fan duct diameter
- 146 W
Photos: RadonAway
As an Amazon Associate, Radon411 earns from qualifying purchases.
Amazon and the Amazon logo are trademarks of Amazon.com, Inc. or its affiliates.
See ratings and reviews on Amazon (opens in a new tab)- Pipe size3 in. fan duct diameter (performance table); 3.5 in. OD inlet and outlet (IN096) and 3.5 in. duct diameter (catalog dimensions); recommended duct 3 or 4 in. Schedule 20/40 PVC
- Power draw146 W
- Every figure checked against the specifications RadonAway publishes
- The maker's own performance table, point by point, unranked
About this item
As RadonAway states it
- Motor: AC
- Pipe size: 3 in. fan duct diameter (performance table); 3.5 in. OD inlet and outlet (IN096) and 3.5 in. duct diameter (catalog dimensions); recommended duct 3 or 4 in. Schedule 20/40 PVC
- Max power: 146 W
- Power supply: Standard 120 V, 60 Hz AC, 1.5 A maximum; 68 to 146 W; recommended maximum operating pressure 3.8 in. WC at sea level
- Airflow at static pressure: 66 CFM at 2.00 in w.c.; 58 at 2.50; 50 at 3.00; 27 at 3.50
- Outdoor use: Rated for outdoor installation
- Warranty: 12 months from purchase or 18 months from manufacture, whichever is sooner; extended to 60 months from purchase or 66 months from manufacture when installed by a professional radon mitigation contractor (C Series instructions page and IN096 Rev F; RadonAway's 2023/2024 catalog states other terms)
The GP501c is the higher-suction of the two 3 inch fans on RadonAway's Contractor Series (C Series) performance page. RadonAway lists it at 68 to 146 W, with a recommended maximum operating pressure of 3.8 inches of water column, and gives its airflow only from 2.0 inches upward, from 66 CFM at 2.0 inches to 27 CFM at 3.5 inches. RadonAway says the C Series fan can be mounted indoors or outdoors.
What you get
RadonAway publishes no packing list for the GP501c; the only item its IN096 instructions call provided is the wire nuts for the electrical connection. IN096 gives the GP501c as 13 inches high and 12.5 inches in diameter, 12 lbs, with a 3.5 inch OD inlet and outlet; the 2023/2024 catalog gives a 3.5 inch duct diameter, 12.5 inches deep and 13 inches high; the performance table gives a 3 inch fan duct diameter. The instructions say there are no user serviceable parts inside and the housing should not be opened, and ask that the fan be checked for shipping damage within 15 days of receipt.
In the box and running costsHow it works
What it does and how
The suction, the airflow and the housing, then who has checked it
How it works
In our words, from the maker's documents
A radon fan is the part of an active soil depressurization system that runs all the time. The EPA's guide describes the vent fan drawing radon gas from below the home through the suction pipes and releasing it to the outdoor air, while creating a negative pressure or vacuum under the slab. The fan has to keep running for the system to work.
Two numbers describe what a fan can do. Static pressure, in inches of water column, is how hard it pulls against the resistance of the soil and the pipe; airflow, in cubic feet per minute, is how much air it moves. Airflow falls as pressure rises, which is why RadonAway publishes typical airflow at a row of pressures rather than one figure. RadonAway's IN096 instructions add that the tighter the material under the slab, the smaller the area each suction point covers, and that choosing the fan suited to that material can improve the coverage.
RadonAway's Contractor Series performance page lists the GP501c under part number 28468 with a 3 inch fan duct diameter, 68 to 146 W and a recommended maximum operating pressure of 3.8 inches. Its typical airflow is 66 CFM at 2.0 inches, 58 at 2.5, 50 at 3.0 and 27 at 3.5 inches of water column, with a dash at 4.0 inches. The 2023/2024 catalog prints the same row and lists the fan under part number 23005-1. Neither gives an airflow below 2.0 inches, so the fan's free-air airflow is not stated by the maker, and neither is a maximum static pressure: 3.8 inches is what RadonAway calls the recommended maximum operating pressure.
RadonAway's installation instructions for the C Series fans (IN096 Rev F, dated 08/23) match those figures and add a fifth point, 4 CFM at 4.0 inches. They rate the GPc fans at 120 V AC, 60 Hz, 1.5 A maximum, give the 3.8 inch figure for sea level operation, and say to reduce it by 10% for high temperature operation and by 4% per 1000 feet of altitude. The same table describes the fans as continuous duty, 3000 RPM and thermally protected, with a 120 °C (248 °F) thermal cutout and Class B insulation, for residential and commercial use.
The other 3 inch fan on the same performance page, the GP301c, is listed at 56 to 100 W with a recommended maximum of 2.3 inches and airflow listed from 1.0 inch. Earlier, RadonAway's 2012 GP Series sheet (P/N 02002, dated 9/12) listed four GP models, with the GP501 under the same part number 23005-1 at 70 to 140 W, a maximum pressure of 4.2 inches, and 95 CFM at 1.0 inch down to 10 CFM at 4.0 inches. Those are the 2012 sheet's figures, not the GP501c's current ones.
RadonAway's 2023/2024 catalog says its Contractor Series fans have sealed seams and thermally protected motors it describes as running ultra-quiet, rated for commercial and residential use, ETL Listed and HVI certified. Its IN096 instructions say the GPc fans are factory sealed, so no extra caulk is needed to inhibit air leakage, have an integrated mounting bracket, and are rated for use with electronic speed controls, which are generally not recommended. They describe no built-in speed control.
What the manufacturer says
RadonAway's own statements, attributed
- RadonAway saysRadonAway states the Contractor Series ("C" Series) radon fan can be mounted indoors or outdoors.
- RadonAway saysRadonAway lists the GP501c, P/N 28468, at a 3 inch fan duct diameter, 68 to 146 W, a 3.8 in. WC recommended maximum operating pressure and 66 CFM at 2.0 in. WC.
- RadonAway saysRadonAway states its Contractor Series fans are ETL Listed and HVI certified and rated for commercial and residential use.
- RadonAway saysRadonAway states its GPc fans are factory sealed and have an integrated mounting bracket.
- RadonAway saysRadonAway's catalog states its Contractor Series fans are made in the USA with U.S. and imported parts.
- RadonAway saysRadonAway states it extends the C Series fan warranty to five years when the fan is installed by a professional radon mitigation contractor.
These are RadonAway's own statements, attributed to it. They are not our findings, and we have not tested this product ourselves.
Independent evidence
Who checks a device like this
C-NRPP's consumer evaluation covers electronic radon monitors, not mitigation fans, so it has no result for RadonAway GP501c. The safety listing and performance certification the maker states are under “What the manufacturer says”, and what shows whether any fan is working in your home is a radon test after it is installed.
Specifications
Specifications
Every figure as the maker states it
The maker's figures
- Type
- Mitigation fan, inline
- Motor
- AC
- Pipe size
- 3 in. fan duct diameter (performance table); 3.5 in. OD inlet and outlet (IN096) and 3.5 in. duct diameter (catalog dimensions); recommended duct 3 or 4 in. Schedule 20/40 PVC
- Max static pressure
- Not stated by the manufacturer
- Max airflow
- Not stated by the manufacturer
- Max power
- 146 W
- Power supply
- Standard 120 V, 60 Hz AC, 1.5 A maximum; 68 to 146 W; recommended maximum operating pressure 3.8 in. WC at sea level
- Speed control
- Not stated by the manufacturer
- Airflow at static pressure
- 66 CFM at 2.00 in w.c.; 58 at 2.50; 50 at 3.00; 27 at 3.50
- Outdoor use
- Rated for outdoor installation
- Warranty
- 12 months from purchase or 18 months from manufacture, whichever is sooner; extended to 60 months from purchase or 66 months from manufacture when installed by a professional radon mitigation contractor (C Series instructions page and IN096 Rev F; RadonAway's 2023/2024 catalog states other terms)
What is in the box
RadonAway publishes no packing list for the GP501c; the only item its IN096 instructions call provided is the wire nuts for the electrical connection. IN096 gives the GP501c as 13 inches high and 12.5 inches in diameter, 12 lbs, with a 3.5 inch OD inlet and outlet; the 2023/2024 catalog gives a 3.5 inch duct diameter, 12.5 inches deep and 13 inches high; the performance table gives a 3 inch fan duct diameter. The instructions say there are no user serviceable parts inside and the housing should not be opened, and ask that the fan be checked for shipping damage within 15 days of receipt.
RadonAway's documents state the warranty two ways. Its C Series instructions page, read on October 8, 2026, and its IN096 Rev F instructions give 12 months from purchase or 18 months from manufacture, whichever is sooner, extended to 60 months from purchase or 66 months from manufacture when a professional radon mitigation contractor installs the fan, with no extension outside the continental United States and Canada. Its 2023/2024 catalog, with prices effective May 1, 2023, gives a 5-year warranty when a radon professional installs the fan and a 1-year limited warranty for non-radon professionals.
For a claim, RadonAway's instructions say to contact it for a Return Material Authorization number, that the fan goes back to its factory at the owner's cost, and that proof of purchase, and for the longer term proof of professional installation, may be required.
What it costs to run
The running cost is electricity: the fan runs around the clock, and RadonAway lists the GP501c at 68 to 146 W, more than its 4 inch RP fans. Your utility rate sets what that costs. RadonAway's documents name no filter or other consumable for the fan.
Plan on the fan wearing out eventually. The EPA's guide says fans may last five years or more and that manufacturer warranties tend not to exceed five years. RadonAway's own five-year term applies only with professional installation. IN096 also warns not to leave the fan on the system piping without power for more than 48 hours, and says water drawn up the pipe by a high water table can make the fan cycle on its thermal cutoff.
Airflow at each pressure
RadonAway's performance table, point by point
| Static pressure | Airflow |
|---|---|
| 2.00 in w.c. | 66 CFM |
| 2.50 in w.c. | 58 CFM |
| 3.00 in w.c. | 50 CFM |
| 3.50 in w.c. | 27 CFM |
Airflow falls as the suction the system needs rises. A mitigator matches the fan to pressure measured under the slab.
Fit and setup
Who it fits, and installation
The fit, then how a system goes in
Who it fits
Good fit if, and look elsewhere if
Good fit if
- You or your mitigator are replacing a GP501c like for like, under either part number RadonAway uses for it (28468 or 23005-1).
- Your system's measured suction is high, within the 2.0 to 3.8 inch range for which RadonAway publishes the GP501c's figures.
- Your system is built from 3 or 4 inch Schedule 20/40 PVC, the duct RadonAway recommends for its GPc fans.
- The fan will go outdoors, which RadonAway's C Series instructions allow with a UL Listed watertight conduit for the wiring.
Look elsewhere if
- Your system runs below 2.0 inches of suction; RadonAway gives no GP501c airflow there, while its RP fans' figures start at 0 inches.
- You want a lower power draw; RadonAway lists the GP501c at up to 146 W, against 17 to 21 W for its RP140c.
- You want to dial the fan up or down; RadonAway puts a built-in speed control on its EC6, not on the GP501c.
- You are designing a first system yourself; the EPA recommends a qualified mitigation contractor, and RadonAway's five-year term needs professional installation.
Installation
6 steps
- The EPA recommends that a qualified radon mitigation contractor fix a home, and notes that many states require radon professionals to be licensed, certified or registered. RadonAway's retail page says non-professional installation of a radon mitigation fan or system is not intended to take the place of installation by a qualified radon professional, and its IN096 instructions say the C Series fans are intended for use by trained, professional, certified or licensed radon mitigators.
- RadonAway's C Series instructions say to mount the fan vertically with the outlet up, plumb and level, so condensation drains through the fan, and to keep it from touching any building surface to avoid vibration noise. The system has to let water drain back to a slab hole. Flexible couplings complete the piping run as a disconnect for servicing and for vibration isolation, and the fan is not suitable for underground burial. RadonAway asks that it be installed in line with EPA and ANSI/AARST standard practices and state and local codes. For the GPc fans, IN096 says the fan may be mounted on the duct pipe or with its integral flanges.
- The fan runs on standard 120 V, 60 Hz AC. RadonAway's instructions say all wiring must be done by a qualified and licensed electrician to the National Electrical Code and local codes, that outdoor installations need a UL Listed watertight conduit, and that exterior electrical boxes should be outdoor rated and sealed, with a weep hole recommended to drain the box. Power should not be connected until the fan is completely installed.
- IN096 asks the installer to check the system vacuum with a manometer and make sure it stays within the normal operating range and below the maximum recommended operating pressure; if it is exceeded, RadonAway says to increase the number of suction points. It also says a system monitor, such as a manometer or an audible alarm, is required to warn the occupants of a fan malfunction.
- Where the fan goes matters as much as which one. The EPA's construction guide says the fan and every positively pressurized part of the vent pipe belong outside habitable space, so a leak at the housing or a joint cannot push radon into the home, and that the fan should go in a vertical run of the vent pipe.
- The EPA's guide says an active system needs a warning device, usually a manometer, placed where it can be seen or heard, and that the fan should never be turned off. It says a post-mitigation radon test should be done within 30 days of installation, but no sooner than 24 hours after the system is running with the fan on, and suggests retesting at least every two years.
To find someone to design and install a system, see radon mitigation professionals, and for how a fan fits into one, how a radon fan works.
Compare
Compare with similar items
The same three rows for each, and the one difference that matters
Compared with similar products: 1 of 4
More radon fan models10
All radon fan modelsMore radon fan models: 1 of 10
Questions
Questions people ask
6 questions about the RadonAway GP501c, answered
Asked about the GP501c
How much air does the GP501c move?
Only at high suction. RadonAway's figures run from 66 CFM at 2.0 inches of water column down to 27 CFM at 3.5 inches, and IN096 adds 4 CFM at 4.0 inches, where the performance page shows a dash. Airflow below 2.0 inches, including free air, is not stated by the maker.
What is the GP501c's maximum static pressure?
Not stated by the maker in its current documents. RadonAway's performance page, its 2023/2024 catalog and IN096 give a recommended maximum operating pressure of 3.8 inches, which IN096 says to lower at altitude and in high temperatures. RadonAway's 2012 GP Series sheet listed a maximum pressure of 4.2 inches for the GP501, P/N 23005-1, at 70 to 140 W; that is the 2012 sheet's figure for the earlier listing, and the current figures differ.
Is the part number 23005-1 or 28468?
RadonAway uses both. Its current Contractor Series performance page lists the GP501c as P/N 28468, while the pricing table in its 2023/2024 catalog lists the GP501c as 23005-1, the number its 2012 GP Series sheet gave the GP501. The figures on this page are the current GP501c's, so check the label on the fan you are replacing.
Does it fit 3 inch or 4 inch pipe?
RadonAway's performance table gives a 3 inch fan duct diameter, IN096 a 3.5 inch OD inlet and outlet, and the catalog a 3.5 inch duct diameter. IN096 recommends 3 or 4 inch Schedule 20/40 PVC duct for the GPc fans, and the instructions join the fan to the pipe with flexible couplings.
What warranty does the GP501c have?
It depends on the document and on who installs it. RadonAway's C Series instructions page and IN096 give 12 months from purchase or 18 from manufacture, and five years when a professional radon mitigation contractor installs it. Its 2023/2024 catalog says five years with a radon professional and one year otherwise.
Do I need a professional to install it?
The EPA recommends a qualified radon mitigation contractor, and many states require radon professionals to be licensed, certified or registered. RadonAway says non-professional installation is not intended to take the place of a qualified radon professional, wants the wiring done by a licensed electrician, and ties its longer warranty to professional installation.
What to do next
- See every radon fan we coverEach maker's published pressure, airflow and power, side by side.
- Find a mitigation professionalMost systems are designed and installed by one; some states require a license.
- Understand the fanWhat the fan does in a system, and when one needs replacing.
- Test after it runsA short-term test after installation shows whether the system works.
Updated October 8, 2026







