Skip to content

ProductsRadon test kits

Best radon test kits

The best radon test kits for a first test or a home sale: every short-term and long-term kit we cover, with test length, lab fee and how to use each.

Every radon test kit we cover, side by side, with each maker's stated test length, method, lab fee and how the result reaches you. A short-term kit gives a first answer in days; a long-term kit, left out for more than 90 days, is more likely to tell you your home's year-round average. Testing for a home sale? Start with the note below.

10 results

Radon monitors32

See all

Shop by type

Every figure in one tableEach figure is the maker's own, as its product page or manual states it.

Short-term test kits (8)

Compare side by side
Short-term test kits (8)
ProductHow it measuresTime in the homeLab fee in the priceResult
AccuStar PicoCanCharcoal canister; laboratory analysis by gamma ray spectroscopy48 to 96 hoursIncludedNot stated
Detekt Radon Short Term Test KitCharcoal adsorption; the detector is sealed and mailed to a laboratory for analysis2 to 7 daysIncludedpCi/L, in the laboratory report
empowerDX Standard Radon TestPassive radon sampler, laboratory analysis48 to 96 hoursIncludedNot stated
First Alert RD1Activated charcoal (activated carbon), laboratory analysis2 to 4 daysIncludedpCi/L, in the laboratory report
Kidde 442020Activated charcoal sampler, laboratory analysis3 daysIncludedNot stated
PRO-LAB RA100Liquid scintillation detectors with silica gel desiccant, laboratory analysis48 to 96 hoursSeparatepCi/L
PRO-LAB RA400Liquid scintillation, two detectors side by side, laboratory analysis48 to 96 hoursIncludedpCi/L
RadonAway Air Chek Short-TermDevice hung in the room that absorbs airborne radon; laboratory analysis72 to 168 hoursIncludedpCi/L, in the laboratory report

Long-term test kits (2)

Compare side by side
Long-term test kits (2)
ProductHow it measuresTime in the homeLab fee in the priceResult
PRO-LAB RL116Alpha track detector in a sealed bag; laboratory analysis90 days to 12 monthsSeparateNot stated
PRO-LAB RL416Alpha track detector in a sealed bag; laboratory analysis90 days to 12 monthsIncludedNot stated

Questions

What is the best radon test kit for a home sale?

No single kit is named for a sale. EPA's options are two short-term tests at the same time in the same location for at least 48 hours, two tests one after the other with an identical device, or a continuous monitor for at least 48 hours, and any real estate test should include steps to prevent or detect interference. That often means two kits of the same kind. In many cases buyers and sellers have the test done by a qualified radon tester, and many states require radon professionals to be licensed, certified or registered, so check your state's rules first.

Do I need a certified lab for real estate?

EPA's advice for any kit is to use a radon measurement device from a qualified laboratory, and your state may be able to give you a list of do-it-yourself test devices from qualified laboratories. For the sale itself, many states require radon professionals to be licensed, certified or registered. Check your state radon program before the test.

Short-term or long-term radon test kit: which should I use?

Start with a short-term kit. It stays in the home for 2 to 90 days depending on the device, never less than 48 hours, and most charcoal kits run 2 to 7 days. If the result is at or above 4 pCi/L, follow up with a long-term test for a better picture of your year-round average, or with a second short-term test if you need results quickly. A long-term kit stays in the home for more than 90 days.

Are First Alert radon kits accurate?

A kit's result is only as good as the laboratory that reads it and the care taken while it is out. First Alert's leaflet says the RD1's analysis is completed by an NRPP-certified radon testing lab, and names Alpha Energy Labs. Passive devices can give accurate measurements when the test follows its protocol; open windows during a short test, a poor spot or a late return to the lab can mean testing again.

How long do radon test kit results take?

You should receive the results within a few days or weeks; if you need them quickly, find out how long they will take and ask for expedited service. First Alert, for example, states 3 to 5 business days after the lab receives the RD1. Send the kit to the lab right away when the test ends.

Can I use a consumer monitor instead of a kit for a home sale?

Check your state's rules before you rely on one. The consumer monitors C-NRPP lists cannot be professionally calibrated and are not approved by C-NRPP for use by radon measurement professionals, and in many cases buyers and sellers have a sale test done by a qualified radon tester. Your state may require a certified tester.

What is closed-house protocol?

Closed-house conditions mean keeping all windows closed, keeping doors closed except for normal entry and exit, and not running fans or other machines that bring in air from outside; heating and air conditioning fans that recirculate air may run. For a short-term test lasting less than four days, close windows and outside doors at least 12 hours before it begins. During a long-term test, live in the home as you normally do.

Which radon test kits include the lab fee?

It depends on the kit. Each kit's card and the table under the list show whether its maker says the price covers the laboratory's analysis; check the package before you buy.

Where should I put a radon test kit?

In the lowest level of the home that could be used regularly, finished or not, in a room such as a living room or bedroom, at least 20 inches above the floor and away from drafts, high heat, high humidity and exterior walls. Not in a kitchen, bathroom, closet, stairway, hallway or crawl space.

What radon level should I act on?

EPA recommends fixing a home at or above 4 pCi/L and considering a fix between 2 and 4 pCi/L. If a first short-term result is high, confirm it with a long-term or a second short-term test before deciding.